We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly staff, would recommend!”
Review of Royal Exeter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Exeter Hotel
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My boyfriend and I recently had a stay here on a very good deal which included a meal in the bistro restaurant. The food was delicious and there is a lovely bar which does great cocktails; the barman kindly offered to make us our own signature cocktail. The breakfast was also excellent with everything you could want on offer. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and really made our stay enjoyable. The location is excellent, just a short walk to the beach and central pier. The hotel also has a lovely jacuzzi and sauna which we enjoyed using. Overall an excellent hotel offering great value for money with comfortable, well maintained, clean rooms, lovely food and excellent facilities. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CateandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Royal Exeter Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

For a satureday night b&b in Bournemouth the Royal Exeter ticked all the boxes. very close to the BIC, reasonable price for a double, smart and clean, good 3rd floor room. Excellent breakfast.
If you are light sleeper, watch out for 1812 night club underneath, closes at 2am!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hottubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We needed a hotel close to BIC and this was ideal - it's just across the road ! The reception staff were extremely helpful, we had arrived two hours later than anticipated due to road congestion, and needed a bite to eat before the show, so we were accomodated early in the superb attached 1812 restaurant ........... as with the reception staff, the restaurant staff were extremely attentive and friendly.

It was noisy outside the hotel, but the double glazing and heavy curtains muted the sound. As noted in other reviews the cooked breakfasts are worth the stay !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asid67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Booked the hotel for a 4 day break,the hotel is clean and its location is ideal for everywhere in town and the beach,our room was good (211),the staff are brilliant,the breakfast has to be the best in town,try the restaurant 1812 in the evening the food & service are outstanding,both the normal menu and the 3 courses for £12 are great value in nice surroundings. Rooms over bar SO can be a little noisy,so request a room at the rear of the hotel, would recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel,and away from Bar SO,as the noise can go on till the early h...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andlyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

Big room nicely refurbished. Great bistros attached and fab breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindbender66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Booked this hotel as it was offered as a meal and accommodation deal £89 for two, three course dinner and cocktail.
The hotel is lovely,helpful staff and good food.
Though the leisure facilities were not as good as they could be. Two separate rooms for a hot tub and sauna, and a corridor to change in and leave your clothes with showers through another door. You have to go out of the changing/hot tub area out into the walk way of hotel into sauna. We didn't get to much use of the facilities as two blokes were in the hot tub and there really isn't much room for anyone else without getting to cosy!!!
It is a very popular hotel for nightlife with bands and loud music played into the night. So not a place for those seeking an early night.
Over all a good place to stay as it's right by everything, near the beach, near town and opposite the BIC.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1MCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Was recommended this hotel by a work colleague. I paid £115 for dinner, bed and breakfast and was unsure what sort of quality we would be getting for such a good fully inclusive price! Hotel was very close to the seafront, a matter of minutes by foot. The staff were amazingly friendly; at reception, dinner, the bar and at breakfast. Hotel was beautiful, particularly the chandeliers by the majestic staircase. Room was very spacious and clean. Bathroom was a good size also. Decor was slightly dated and could have done with a little refurb but generally the style was in keeping with the hotel. Food at dinner and breakfast was beautiful and had a great evening being made yummy cocktails by the bar staff! Apart from the room not being air conditioned, I really cannot complain at all about the hotel - would recommend their bar, restaurant and rooms.

Room Tip: Our superior room had a double bed and a single. Our room at the side was directly over the bar - no...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pineapples22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Exeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Exeter Hotel

Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £72 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Exeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Exeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Exeter Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing