We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable stay”
Review of Royal Exeter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Exeter Hotel
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Royal Exeter Hotel our 1st day was good but think this was better.
We had a nice room, very clean with everything you needed.
Check in was very good and staff very friendly and helpful.
We was told it could be a little loud late at night, but we had our window open all night and didn't hear anything.
Only down side we found the room a little warm even with the window open during the night.
Breakfast was good and plenty of it if you wanted.
Free parking as well.
We had a great weekend and would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    244
    74
    27
    10
See reviews for
73
361
46
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We too stayed 16 March on the Travelzoo deal £69 for bed breakfast and 3 course evening meal. The hotel was old but majestic. Our room was above the bar terrace and were not bothered by any noise. Every one of staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal was delicious and the ambiance in the restaurant was lovely. Breakfast was hearty with plenty of choice. We could not fault our stay and would definitely return even without the fantastic deal!

Room Tip: We had a corner room with double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerne147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Having read previous reviews we did ask about bar noise as our room was above the bar and told No there was no music that night. The music actually went on till five to one so obviously the reception did not know about the bar area during the evening. The windows were single glazed so a lot of road noise plus the central heating was very noisey.The food was good and staff very friendly. If you do stay ask for a room away from the bar area although that will not help with road noise.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We also stayed at the Royal Exeter Hotel on the Travelzoo deal. What unbelievable value! Eva on reception was extremely helpful when we booked by phone and even remembered speaking to my partner on the phone when we booked in. The meal in 1812 was fantastic especially the belly pork and my honey and rosemary parfait dessert. Also in the cocktail bar I had a fantastically mixed Mojito which, it has to be said, would be hard pushed to beat the ones that I've sampled in Cuba. The breakfast was also very good with plenty of choices. Al staff that we encountered were very friendly, helpful and courteous. You couldn't wish for a better location with also the added bonus of parking being included. We will definitely be returning to the Royal Exeter!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spuddy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at this Hotel last Sunday night. It was a special offer for £69:00 for bed and breakfast and evening meal. The hotel is situated just off the sea front by the pier. Although an old styled hotel it was well cared for and had a lovely atmosphere. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. The room was large and tastefully equipped with trouser press, hair dryer and ironing board. A very large bathroom with bath and shower. Bed very comfortable and had an excellent nights sleep. The room was rather warm on check in but after we turned the three radiators off soon cooled down. The food was really exceptional from the three course evening meal to the really cooked English breakfast. The waitress and waiters could not do enough for you.

An excellent satay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent two nights at the Royal Exeter the beginning of March. It was a great deal through Travelzoo, £69 per night for 3-course evening meal and full breakfast.
Great location, you can walk down to the sea-front and into town very easily and there was plenty of parking on site.
Firstly, breakfast was first-class and even included kippers and smoked haddock, which a lot of hotels don't include. Full English and buffet was very good.
We had booked evening meals both nights. The restaurant is obviously popular with non-residents so has a lively ambience. The food was good, although we did object to paying extra for vegetables and potatoes. I think these are things that should be included in the room rate and not as extras. We did pay for the extras as the meals wouldn't be complete without them.
Unfortunately, the first night room 103 was over the outside area and we were woken up with loud talking and laughing around midnight. We did phone down to Reception and I believe they did come out and ask the guests to be quiet. To avoid this happening again, the following day we asked to be moved and Reception was very obliging and we were moved to the 2nd floor away from the noise, which was very helpful.
All in all, an enjoyable stay for 2 nights in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Don't have a room over patio and smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
117 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Managed to get this hotel with dinner and breakfast through Travelzoo for 69 pounds a night. The hotel is in an excellent location right opposite the BIC. The service from all the staff that we met was very good. The room however was outdated and needed re-furbishing. The downstairs restaurant area and bar were done up to a high standard. The hotel just needs to re-furbish the rooms. Cleanliness of the room and hotel was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty17r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Exeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Exeter Hotel

Property: Royal Exeter Hotel
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Exeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Exeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Exeter Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing