We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectations”
Review of Royal Exeter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Exeter Hotel
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Below expectations”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Had read and heard really good things about this so was excited to be staying here. However small things let it down. Our room was tiny on the third floor, bathroom smelt, black stuff coming out of bath.

They didn't have any rooms when I asked to swap but we're helpful.

If u want a central hotel with good nightlife under where u sleep it's great!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jodylj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    261
    77
    26
    10
See reviews for
79
390
47
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I must say the Royal Exeter was top notch, I stayed the night before my wedding and they couldn't of been more helpful, even the breakfast was great. we checked out late which was agreed by the deputy manager a few weeks before our stay, but the only down side was when leaving our room which by the looks of things the chamber maid wanted to re do our room barged straight past me in the door way not even a thank you for letting her through, room was very hot but us Brits don't have a normal 30 degrees heat, and our room was a smoking but didn't seem that bad. Thanks again royal Exeter hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank russ6077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a tired old building with creaky floor boards and no air conditioning or double glazing. Room 118 is small and very basic. The bed is hard even for someone who prefers a firm mattress. This south facing room gets unbearably hot even with small amount of light. Had to keep window open and curtains drawn during the day to try cool it down. Open window at night invariably lets all external noise through which keeps you awake. Bathroom has a small shower enclosure with two sliding doors. Basin doesn't have a mixer tap. To get water at a comfortable temperature you have to resort to using unhygienic process of filling the wash basin.

My request for a room change next morning was rebuffed with a brisk "We're fully booked". To me this sounded like a well rehearsed frequently used response. No effort was made to find out why I was unhappy with the room let alone offer of any resolution.

Overall I rate the quality of sleep at this establishment as poor and will not stay here again.
If you must stay here, I suggest you try it for one night before committing yourself.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at rear of hotel which are forward (south) facing towards the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middx
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Rooms a bit hot but omg entertainment fab,,staff best ever and food top notch,...staff could not do enough for us through out our stay and we have booked again for next month...the nightlife is a few mins from the hotel as are the amazing shops

Room Tip: If u hate live nights and are old and boring so not visit as the hotel has live bands...I'm 48 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is located almost opposite the Bournemouth International Conference Centre. Although a little dated in decor and furnishings, it is comfortable, very clean and quiet. The Breakfast was good, and the staff seemed obligingly helpful. Good base if you're involved in a conference opposite and aren't looking for swimming pools, jacuzzis, etc.

Room Tip: I had Room 115 which was very quiet - view out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiAmigoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great location for a night out as it's so close to bars and clubs (Bar So is attached) and the breakfast was good (and ran till a suitably late 10.30 on Sunday, so if you're out late you don't have to get up at the crack of dawn) but there is obviously a fair bit of noise in the morning about as it's a famous hen do/stag do location.
He issue with the hotel is the lack of air con and windows which don't stay open- we had to shove a chair in ours to keep it open just to get some air. Thankfully when we asked reception they gave us a fan but obviously having a fan on all night is noisy. This is the one draw back to an otherwise lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. It is an old hotel so does not have air con in bedroom (it was hot weather then) but the room was a reasonable size. Very conveniently situated almost opposite Bournemouth International Centre and close to beach, shops, restaurants etc. We enjoyed the breakfasts. The staff were helpful and friendly

Room Tip: We had room 207 - no air con but not too noisy (we didn't stay Friday or Saturday though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksHoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Exeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Exeter Hotel

Property: Royal Exeter Hotel
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Exeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Exeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Exeter Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing