We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but dated rooms and extremely noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Exeter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Exeter Hotel
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, but dated rooms and extremely noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just got back from a two night stay at the Royal Exeter Hotel in Bournemouth and stayed in room 201 at the front of the hotel.
The hotel is in an excellent location for BIC, Winter Garden, Pier and Pavillion Theatre.
I will list the good points first and then go into the negatives. Good location for amenities, free parking, free wifi in room, friendly staff, great breakfast choice and quality.
And now the negatives, the hotel is located literally on a small roundabout, the bar / nightclub stays open very late and is very noisy, rooms are not air conditioned or cooled in any way. Rooms are spacious but very dated, pillows are hard. Some of these points to some people will sound very picky and unnecessary but added together they put the whole experience into perspective. The ceiling above the bed was patched to a very poor standard after what must have been a damaged roof. Room 201 that we stayed in is directly above the front reception of the hotel and bar SO which as stated stays open until very late with thumping bass music and groups of intoxicated people shouting and swearing into the early hours. This noise coupled with the road noise and passing vehicles sounding their horns from the busy junction made our stay unbearable. When we mentioned all these points to the two young female receptionists, they apologised but stated that because we booked on the internet we wouldn't have know it was noisy there!

Room Tip: Insist on high rooms at the back of the hotel which may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    235
    72
    26
    10
See reviews for
70
349
44
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

.... not ideal in the hot summer weather we had recently as there is no air con in the rooms and they were absolutely baking!

A nice Central hotel close to the shops, beach, gardens and the Town Hall which is ideal for me when working with the council as I could just park the car in the car park and walk to work, but the room was just too hot to spend any time in aside for sleeping in and it was pretty much too warm to even do that!

Please invest in some air con even if you have to put the price of the hotel up a bit!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheltster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff are all very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. You do not have to ask them they offer help and advise. I was going into the the gym when one of the housekeeping team came over and offered to set the TV for me, turn on the air con etc. the breakfasts are great all the food is cooked fresh and again the staff are really great. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at and I paid a lot more elsewhere and got a lot less

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Had read and heard really good things about this so was excited to be staying here. However small things let it down. Our room was tiny on the third floor, bathroom smelt, black stuff coming out of bath.

They didn't have any rooms when I asked to swap but we're helpful.

If u want a central hotel with good nightlife under where u sleep it's great!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jodylj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I must say the Royal Exeter was top notch, I stayed the night before my wedding and they couldn't of been more helpful, even the breakfast was great. we checked out late which was agreed by the deputy manager a few weeks before our stay, but the only down side was when leaving our room which by the looks of things the chamber maid wanted to re do our room barged straight past me in the door way not even a thank you for letting her through, room was very hot but us Brits don't have a normal 30 degrees heat, and our room was a smoking but didn't seem that bad. Thanks again royal Exeter hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank russ6077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a tired old building with creaky floor boards and no air conditioning or double glazing. Room 118 is small and very basic. The bed is hard even for someone who prefers a firm mattress. This south facing room gets unbearably hot even with small amount of light. Had to keep window open and curtains drawn during the day to try cool it down. Open window at night invariably lets all external noise through which keeps you awake. Bathroom has a small shower enclosure with two sliding doors. Basin doesn't have a mixer tap. To get water at a comfortable temperature you have to resort to using unhygienic process of filling the wash basin.

My request for a room change next morning was rebuffed with a brisk "We're fully booked". To me this sounded like a well rehearsed frequently used response. No effort was made to find out why I was unhappy with the room let alone offer of any resolution.

Overall I rate the quality of sleep at this establishment as poor and will not stay here again.
If you must stay here, I suggest you try it for one night before committing yourself.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at rear of hotel which are forward (south) facing towards the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middx
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Rooms a bit hot but omg entertainment fab,,staff best ever and food top notch,...staff could not do enough for us through out our stay and we have booked again for next month...the nightlife is a few mins from the hotel as are the amazing shops

Room Tip: If u hate live nights and are old and boring so not visit as the hotel has live bands...I'm 48 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Exeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Exeter Hotel

Property: Royal Exeter Hotel
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Exeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Exeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Exeter Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing