We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barber and Mrs. Chester -le-Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whitehall Hotel
Ranked #17 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed B&B and had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday despite the weather.Our room overlooked the beautiful gardens and it was clean, well-equipped and comfortable.The breakfast was good. The hotel is well run by competent and friendly staff in all areas, but especially Dawn in reception. Also Sean the Duty manager and Dermot the Night manager, who made sure we didn't get bored in the bar in the evenings.Two great lads who made our stay all the more enjoyable. We will return! Yes, the floors creaked and the lift is 'quaint'-surprise- it's an EDWARDIAN BUILDING!! But it's a GOOD friendly hotel with character rather than a MODERN IMPERSONAL hotel. Can't wait to return to The Whitehall!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

Arriving in Bournemouth in sunshine, makes a wonderful start for our mini break. My wife and I received a very warm welcome, and a drink at the bar before dinner was a must. There was a good selection of starters, main courses and sweets. The hotel was nearly full and the atmostphere was very friendly in the dining room and the bar. After a full English breakfast next morning, the reception was more than helpful in guiding our plans to visit Brownsea Island.
We had stayed in the Whitehall Hotel before, and we noticed the owners had obviously invested in upgrading the bedrooms and bathrooms. Our room was very clean comfortable and fresh. We will certainly visit again. During our stay we visited the town, Poole and Corfe Castle, by the Sandbanks ferry. The Whitehall was a good base to tour from. As this is a two star hotel it is excellent value fopr money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worthingdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Nice hotel, but very dated rooms with old worn furniture. Despite this, it's very clean and the staff are all helpful. The breakfast though really lets this hotel down and in such an unnecessary way in my opinion. The staff at breakfast are the achilles heel of the hotel as is the start time of 8.30am. We were off to a conference starting at 9am so it was unsuitable for us. The sausages ( you get one tiny one barely bigger than cocktail size ) is the cheapest value brand you can get. This comes with a thin slice of bacon, teaspoon full of beans ( that for some reason you have to request) half a tomato , small egg and half slice of value fried bread. For the relatively cheap cost of upgrading to better products it feels like breakfast is treating guests with contempt! Cheap non brand tea & coffee all add to this which is a shame as it badly taints an otherwise nice hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rilleytherag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thanks for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay but so disappointed that you felt that our breakfast let us down. I can only put this down to a lack of communication on our part. We offer early breakfast for conference delegates and we offer a continental breakfast all through the night - we do ask guests to arrange this with us the day before. There were around 12 delegates for the Unison conference last week and we offered early breakfast and I thought everyone had confirmed that they were happy with our usual times as we are just across the road from the BIC. I am sorry if we missed you and this caused an inconvenience to you.

Regarding the breakfast itself our sausages are local and fresh (supplied by Little Angus butcher in Dorchester) and our eggs are local and fresh and supplied by Oakdene eggs in Verwood - we consider these are high quality products. We offer a varied menu which includes fruit juices, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, prunes as well as freshly made porridge, all the components of a full English breakfast as well as smoked haddock, kippers, toast and tea and coffee. We offer a suggestion for a full English breakfast but if a guest wants a heartier breakfast or a combination of any of the items that we serve then that's fine by us. We hope that with all that we offer there should be something for everyone. We serve the hot food from the kitchen with the waiter taking the guest's order as there is no space in our dining room for a hot buffet. Following your comments I have reviewed our menu and we will change the wording to make it clearer that guests can order whatever they like from the menu so if you want more bacon and more beans and no fried bread that's fine by us. Sorry for the misunderstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Staff were all very friendly, had a bit of trouble finding the hotel due to my own sense of direction being a bit off, but a quick phone call and the woman on the desk was able to guide me straight to the front door, i arrived by motorcycle with my partner and we were allowed to park it right by the front door so we could keep a close eye on it, all the staff were friendly and would go out of their way to help us, the back door leads straight onto the gardens and is about 3 minutes walk from the pier and beachfront, a kettle and tea/coffee is provided in the room aswell as fresh towels and soaps e.t.c, we were allowed to keep the bike and all of our leathers and gear at the hotel for several hours after checkout with no problem whatsoever

The decor is a little dated, but it sort of adds a little bit of charm to the building, and i cant imagine that parking a car would be very easy

Room Tip: a room overlooking the gardens is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Last weekend was our 5th visit to The Whitehall Hotel in Bournemouth, that says it all really. With so many hotels to choose from there's still no contest. Very comfortable, one the few hotels that have retained the old fashioned lounge concept. Somewhere to relax in peace and quite with a book or just natter to friends. Rooms delightful, clean, comfortable and you couldn't wish for a better view and location.
Dawn and the staff always helpful and friendly. And not forgetting our hosts Sarah and Bernard. Proof that the personal touch really is essential.
Well done everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I just love this centrally placed, family run hotel. There is no need to drive, as Bournemouth's attractions are on the doorstep. The hotel is warm and welcoming and richly deserves another star! I have stayed in many different rooms and there is an ongoing upgrade of bathrooms and bedrooms. The food is fresh and tastes like great home-cooked meals should. Sarah, Dawn and Kirsty are attentive at all times and always have a smile for everyone. People have been coming back to this hotel for years and it is no surprise. If you want spa facilities, snooker tables, swimming pool etc then this hotel is not for you. If you want a friendly and clean hotel in the middle of bournemouth, that serves good food, then do try this hotel.

Room Tip: Large double rooms, with views over the gardens are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IsleofWightDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Ideal hotel for attending conferance at BICC at reasonable cost.
Staff couldn't be more helpful,food good,bedrooms clean and comfortable,although single rooms a bit cramped.
Car Par wsa a trial but staff agin very competant.
Qiute noisy until late in rooms overlooking the park.
A Reasonable hotel with reasonable orices,would use again.

Room Tip: At front and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 67 in Bournemouth
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#2 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 67 in Bournemouth
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#11 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitehall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitehall Hotel

Address: Exeter Park Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £32 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Whitehall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehall Hotel is in the very centre of Bournemouth, overlooking the beautiful Lower Gardens. The hotel offers direct access through the gardens to the pier, the beach, the BIC, the theatre, restaurants and shops, making it ideal for exploring Bournemouth! A great base for a short break, business trip or holiday this hotel offers a perfect location,good food and a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing