We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude receptionists- very dusty- cleaning neglected”
Review of Burley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burley Court Hotel
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude receptionists- very dusty- cleaning neglected”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Poor customer service from all the females who done Duty on reception.
One was on her mobile phone
and the others had bad attitude.
There was dust everywhere in the hotel.
The room my sister stayed in- only half the room was hoovered.
The other half was left with hair all on the floor.
There was no towels.
So I had to run up to her room and take her one, as she only noticed after she came out of the show.

The rooms are very dated and most definitely needs updating.
Maybe a little bit of paint and clean tiles along with a new toilet roll holder which was broken and kept falling on the floor.
The bathroom absolutely stunk of urine.

I sent an email with my concerns but only got as a response was an apology and stating that action will be taken against the receptionists, but no offer of any type of compensation for a stay at a reduced rate or a refund for what we spent on two rooms.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ug0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    69
    51
    30
    57
See reviews for
63
110
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nothing good to say about this place but nothing too bad either. The location was good but the room was tired. The service was ok but the wifi was hopeless. All in all I'd rather stay somewhere else but the price was right (a last minute deal) and the room was clean and secure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reb2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel has a somewhat faded look, but the price is reasonable, the location is good and the staff friendly. It's an easy walk from the station, and to the town and the sea front. My room was clean and reasonably spacious, and had accessible power sockets, something not always guaranteed in much more expensive establishments. It also had the most feeble shower I have ever encountered, but despite that I still felt I was getting value for money.

Room Tip: It's on a busy road - if traffic noise bothers you ask from a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Man-in-black-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templecombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

my wife and I stayed here 10/06/14,although the decor is very dated, the rooms are clean and the staff very friendly and efficient. The room we stayed in (room 2) was very large, clean and comfortable. It overlooked the terrace and pool. The hotel is very well situated with only a ten minute walk into the town and also a ten minute walk to the pier and beaches. It is also only a five minute walk to the east cliff lift. We will be returning to this hotel within the next few weeks and think that it provides great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poforex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Positives:
Loved the location of the hotel to the beach and town.
We were allowed to check in 40 mins prior to our allocated time.
Great price

Negatives:
Very outdated in terms of decor.
Staff not very friendly.
Swimming pool was not open

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

stayed here overnight so we could get an early ferry from southampton.

rooms were very dated and not up to much.

got up at 6am to get ferry and when turned the shower on found the water was stone cold.
we did not have time to do anything about it but mentioned it when we left.

i sent a complaint email to the manager and got the response that (I am very sorry. If you had just explained this when you checked in yesterday the problem would have been resolved. Our hot water is on a timer and it comes on at 6am. If the reception had known you were leaving at such an early hour then we could have adjusted the hot water to come on half an hour earlier. Most of our guests if they know they are going to check-out before the receptionist comes on duty at 7.45am will notify reception. In your case you said nothing, even when you came back in after your meal last night you said nothing about leaving early.If you had rang down to the nightporter when you found out there was no hot water he could have put it on for you.
If you feel that threatening us with reviews on tripadvisor is the course of action you want to take,then that is your perogative, but please remember to tell the complete story.)


DONT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Me and my wife stayed here from 25/04/14 until 28/04/14 along with friends.The food in this hotel is excellent and the service we received from all the staff was greatly appreciated. Yes we would return to this Hotel again and I'm well traveled and this hotel ticks the boxes the only thing that does let it down is that it does not have lager on draft instead it's in can's but it's very pricey for them as well in all fairness. But Luke the manager I think he is said that when they have coach parties and when in the busy periods they do put draft beers on.We stayed in room 2 on the ground floor it was very big and clean. The bed was comfy for me and my wife also found the bed also ok. It's in a brilliant location right by the Town Centre as Well and a 10 minute walk to the Beach. Ignore the bad reviews as now I've had the experience of visiting this place you have nothing to worry about. The reason I have only gave it 4 on my overall stay is because of the lack of drinks on offer when we did stay other than that it was great. We had breakfast and evening meals here as well. I'll give the food 10/10 for quality. You go and enjoy it folks. We did.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a large room with a double bed and also a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burley Court Hotel

Property: Burley Court Hotel
Address: 29 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Burley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Burley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burley Court Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing