We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen do weekend!!”
Review of Manchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manchester Hotel
Ranked #65 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 8 August 2013

firstly, stag/hens be prepared to pay a £300 deposit!!

ROOM
we had a party of 16 ladies staying in the hotel. we had 4 rooms of 3 and two of 2. the room I stayed in was very big had a double and two single beds. my bed was horrendous, the springs had gone completely and when i laid on it it fell to the side, very uncomfortable. the other two beds where fine. there was enough plugs and a full length mirror. the bathroom was big however the shower was a dribble and was not enough to wash in at all!!. the room had tea in and an old style TV but the remote is an extra ten pound deposit.

LOCATION
The hotel is in a good place at the top of the long hill next to the beach. close the windows at night though the street noise from people coming home to surrounding hotels is loud!!

REST OF HOTEL
this hotel is deffo a party hotel and i would not have stayed there otherwise but for what we wanted it was ok, i wouldnt stay there again. The whole of the hotel was like a maze so hard to find the way around, we would go up one flight and come down another!! the lift was broken and enough room for two people squished together it opened once at a brick wall and once at a wooden door before returning to the ground :/. it is a very old hotel a little updating would go a long long way and make this hotel good.

BREAKFAST
it said buffet breakfast on our itinerary but it was not buffet it was one plate with one egg one sausage one slice of bacon and one french toast. the juice was unlimited as was cereal. the food was however ok.

PARKING
based on first come first serve and cars are crammed and parked behind each other, however we where able to find spaces at all times.

DURING THE STAY
there was a stag do whilst we where there and other hen dos but it seemed mainly these types of groups. Whilst we were there someone did a pooh on the stairs.. it was tidied quickly but it was not nice!!

STAFF
apart from one rude women the men were polite and helpful at all times.

this hotel could be good with a re-vamp!! i also heard that some people paid 80 a night -NOOOO WAY!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebbecca_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHOTELBMTH, Owner at Manchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

This guest appears to be a reporter and detailed surveyor. This is an old building and one cannot make it look like a newly built Premier Inn.
We do table service for breakfast, I think the writer is confused about the buffet because she has been writing reviews for so many hotels.
Parking is Free, if there is not enough parking customers should park in the street or a pay and display car park, we charge for bed and breakfast and parking is not included.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel was quite big and spacious.The staff was very friendly and helpful.The hotel room,bathroom and dining room was very clean.The hotel is near the seaside and has a lively environment.The breakfast was very yummy!!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunflower s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHOTELBMTH, Manager at Manchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back soon for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was really worried about staying here after reading reviews but was very pleasantly surprised!! OK it is in need of modernising, but for a Hen/Stag weekend it is perfect!!

Staff were LOVELY! Breakfast was standard and the staff worked hard to deliver breakfast quickly and deal with requests.

Rooms were clean (the only problem I noticed was the shower glass needed a better clean) but otherwise fresh sheets and room was fine.

I had no trouble with noise in the room I stayed in but another member of my party stayed in a room to near the reception and felt it was a bit noisy- but this was expected so wasn't too fussed.

Don't go here expecting five star rooms but defo 5 star service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHOTELBMTH, Manager at Manchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your kind review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hubby went to Bournemouth for my sons Stag Weekend staying there for 2 nights !! the place was a dump, dirty, smelly, the food was disgusting and the 2 bed single room they had was so small a box room would have been bigger. The shower/toilet room!!!! was that small you could sit on the toilet and wash your hair in the shower at the same time it was a cupboard conversion with a 24" entrance door. The whole experience was a torment he would never wish to repeat ever again.

Room Tip: Select another hotel it could not be any worse trust me..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHOTELBMTH, Owner at Manchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

This writer did not stay in the hotel. It is an account from a third party. Most of the stag and hen parties are well behaved. A minority of them bring bottles of spirits and possibly mix drugs with alcohol. They vomit in the corridor as well as relieve themselves on the floor and kick the doors, they make the rooms smelly.
Our Staff look after them, we try to be professional, but sometimes we have to call the police to kick them out.
It is an old building going through refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Staff were very friendly!! Down stairs very dated but ok. Rooms awful!!! Asked for a bath, given a room with out a bath, it was tiny. Kindly changed the room to a family room, nice and large, but dirty, I don't think the bathroom got clean and the finish on the bathroom suite was terrible. The floor of the bathroom did not look clean. Sheet and towels clean. The place looked tired and in desperate need of a make over.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneStar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHOTELBMTH, Owner at Manchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Your partner booked and did not request a room with a bath. Further to your request you were offered a large family room, you paid £30.00 per person for R/Only for 1 night.
We were surprised to read your review, it does not reflect the past reviews. It would have been helpful if you informed us of any issues whilst you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed at the Manchester Hotel, for 3 nights.
The staff is excelent and very friendly. A family athmosphere.
good breakfast, lovely dinners follow with entertainment
The bar has very reasonable prices
The room was big and clean. The shower was nice and hot

Room Tip: Higher floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 591carmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is big, old and dated. Creaky uneven floorboards lie beneath the even more dated carpet. The rooms are basic but generally a good size. The beds are comfy, the showers are hot. The staff and inviting, friendly and amenable and there are tea and coffee making facilities.

I didn't, but a number of my party stayed in the bar after a night out until nearly 0530, the staff waited on them hand and foot, even whilst they had many more body parts on show than were strictly necessary for that time in the morning (some may argue otherwise!!).

Although the finer points of the hotel (behind the beds, mainly) could have done with a bit more of a thorough clean, this hotel is perfect for anyone who is just looking for somewhere to get a few hours kip after many more hours partying.

I don't need to mention that this isn't a "romantic getaway" location, it's been said many times before (...oh, I just did...), but then again I'm not in a position to say that what isn't romantic to one, isn't romantic to another, so I'll let you be your own judge.

One last point, make sure who ever is the head of the party has got their pocket's lined, if for only one night only, they will take a returnable deposit for the room as well as the fee - we had about 8 rooms altogether and the deposit was £300, so just make sure you have enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono88C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 67 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#57 of 67 in Bournemouth
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ullswater Hotel
Ullswater Hotel
#46 of 67 in Bournemouth
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#40 of 67 in Bournemouth
884 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Hotel

Address: 56 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £49 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manchester Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing