We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel, Great Location, always use when visiting Bournemouth”
Review of Manchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manchester Hotel
Ranked #65 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Hi

1st review on here because I think sometimes "basic" hotels get very bad reviews on here for no reason.

Overview : -

This hotel is basic, the rooms are big enough/beds ok, and plenty of hot water, and great location, not modern but not fussed about that.

In 10 years (yes 10 years I've stayed here from the age of 25 to 35 ) I've visited here at least 3 times a year as like bournemouth alot and like to stay somewhere that I know and trust - and usually get a room at a reasonable cost.

Reason I stay here regularly is because the price is competitive, manager/staff great, i know what to expect (cheap no frills), manage to get my car parked, and can go shopping with the wife, walk to beach, or go and get drunk all within a 5/10 minute walk without any fuss, I can phone anytime and get a straight yes or no answer in under a minute as to whether a room is available without messing about (tend to go away lastminute) and book safely knowing that everything is fine.

Not the place for a romantic getaway as other's have said, but great as a base to see bournemouth etc and with a reasonable check out time - stag and hen do's no problem.

If you want 5* go elsewhere, if you want a basic friendly hotel to stay stay here.

Message to management - keep up the good work !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Manchester Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

After staying at the hotel as part of a hen weekend i can say the experience was average. The rooms are in need of a good refurbishment but the cleanliness was ok. When sat in the lounge / bar area checking my emails a constant beeping could be heard from behind the reception desk from what looked like a fire panel. I could see yellow lights lit up on it when checking in which concerned me as it seemed to have issues with it that staff ignored. On our departure i could still hear the beep which was still being ignored by staff. I have since spoke to a friend who also stayed at the same hotel as part of a group more recently and they also experienced this very annoying continuous beep. Apart from this the stay was what we expected and required, i hope if we return to bournemouth the hotel is still standing and not burnt down due to a faulty fire alarm ;)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel is located in a pretty quite place with easy access. Room was okay, well equipped, not very large but not smaller than what we expected. The staff was very welcoming and really friendly and none of our request was a trouble for them. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had an ok stay at the Manchester hotel we found the staff friendly and helpful the rooms were in desperate need of modernising but the cleanliness was acceptable. When sat around the public lounge and bar area checking emails etc a loud beeping could be heard which turned out to be very annoying and quite worrying that for some reason staff ignored it. For the whole length of our stay the noise was heard and after speaking to friends who have recently stayed there they also witnessed this.A good budget hotel with easy access into town apart from the very annoying beeping a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahjen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Hotel is quite well located however the service and rooms were not very good by anyone standards on the ground floor. The reception fire alarm panel was beeping with high pitched tone and this was every 20 seconds I could not figure what the annoying noise was. We asked and were told this had been going on a while the keys were in the panel I dont know if it was working or not. We asked to be moved to another room which was noisy and the double bed did have a double fitted sheet which was so tight it didnt fit it was like sleeping on an elastic band.. The breakfast was awful the dining room smelled of damp. The whole experience was a nightmare

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluesbruv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHOTELBMTH, Owner at Manchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Sir,

The beeping was due to some guests (Rm14/Rm22) having removed smoke detectors, which the panel identified. We are a non-smoking hotel and some guests try to smoke by covering smoke detectors or removing them. The problem is always caused by the guests in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Booked in to the hotel last minute. Nice friendly staff always ready to help. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. There were stag parties there but they were no problem. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHOTELBMTH, Manager at Manchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel is in a good place at the top of the long hill next to the beach. Really good location which made the trip so very easy. Everything was in walking distance. The hotel was good, the staff were happy, dedicated and always ready to help with any queries. We can't thank you enough for your tremendous welcome and excellent service!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 67 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 67 in Bournemouth
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#40 of 67 in Bournemouth
281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
#50 of 67 in Bournemouth
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Hotel

Address: 56 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £50 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manchester Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing