We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day tip around Dorset Coast”

Discover Dorset Tours
Ranked #2 of 13 Tours in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our tours provide access to beautiful and historic places plus fast and efficient services to some of the most fascinating cities in Southern England.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Eskisehir, Turkey
1 review
“Great day tip around Dorset Coast”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great day out!
The guide, Paul, was very knowledgeable on the subject and was always ready to answer questions. The trip ran on time and our guide was always clear and prompt about departure times. The trip did exactly what it said on the tin! Very pleased!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ADPinEski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    50
    14
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lulworth Cove & Durdle Door; Beautiful place, but very less time to explore”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The place is very beautiful and picturesque but the given 3 hours to explore was not enough to enjoy the beauty of Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove..

We enjoyed Durdle Door a lot but fall short of time to explore Lulworth Cove and to eat something..

The time provided should be a few hours more as one has to walk along a hilly terrain to cover both the places..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank uniyal_akash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Heart of Dorset Tour”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

An excellent day out, visiting Bulbarrow Hill, Milton Abbey, Milton Abbas, Tolpuddle and Moreton. Richard, the driver, was an excellent guide, explaining the different building materials used in Dorset cottages. Would highly recommend this tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lulworth Cove & Durdle Door Tour... Very disappointed”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This tour promises you three hours to enjoy the site, which should be OK to visit both Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door... But what happens when the bus arrives late to the pick up place and then there's a heavy traffic during the way, resulting on an arrival to Durdle Door more than 1:30 later than the expected time?... Well, if that happens then you can find out that they don't care about you and the will want to reduce your visit 1:30 to depart at the scheduled time, which I find totally unfair!

A company that supposedly is specialized in this tour would know about the traffic density on a Saturday of July, so I can't believe that was an exceptional situation. Even so, normally they should care first on their customers and ensure they have the promised service by delaying the departure to compensate the late arrival.
In our case, I had to argue with the driver and (after he got authorization from the boss) they only delayed the departure 30 minutes, so instead of 3 hours on site there we ended having 2, and we still had to be grateful because of those extra 30 minutes. Two hours means that you must merely "see" the two places, not at all "enjoy" them... And that's not what I expected.

The driver was professional and I appreciate his understanding and effort to find a solution, but I must say that the way this company values their customers is very, very, disappointing.

My recommendation... forget about doing this tour on July or August weekends... Unless you enjoy being stuck in a coach at a traffic jam and not having time to enjoy the wonderful Jurassic Coast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoverDorsetLtd, Owner at Discover Dorset Tours, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Pedro,

Thankyou for your feedback and I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your tour with us.

I have spoken to the guide and understand that there was very heavy traffic on the day. Additionally the guide who took you had only just completed his training and made an error with the timing resulting in you having less time at Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door than you expected.

We do care very much about our customers and have taken tens of thousands of visitors to Lulworth Cove and Durdle door over the last 12 summers.

Please get in touch with your booking reference number and I will arrange a refund and also provide you with a free seat n any of our other day tours.

Apologies again for this and hope you can enjoy a better experience with us in the future, as so many of our passengers do.

Regards

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“stonehenge”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had the unfortunate experience of travelling with this company to visit Stonehenge, the mini bus was later arriving due to lots of students who never arrived at their pick up point on time, the driver Mike was very apologetic and professional and we eventually headed off to Stonehenge, the bus was full and the heat unbearable, no air con and everyone including the driver dripping with sweat, Mike the driver and tour guide had to yell over the noise of the engine and road traffic noise to tell us anything en route which a lot of us couldn't actually hear, arrive Stonehenge to find we have just over an hour to do all we want to do, ridiculous and dreadfully over priced tour, we arrived back at the pick up point feeling disgruntled and boarding the sweatbox oops sorry minibus after 10 minutes we had to get back off as the heat was unbearable and decided to wait for the late comers outside, nearly 30 minutes later they arrived , no sorries no nothing just treated us all with contempt as we moaned about the delay, Mike remained cheery and apologetic about our abysmal experience, nearly £30 each to ride a smelly sweatbox and have an hour at Stonehenge, no time for the village or anything, very very disappointing, only highlight was the driver who at least made us laugh

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank barnacle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoverDorsetLtd, Owner at Discover Dorset Tours, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Barnacle123,

Thanks for taking the time to provide the feedback on the tour and I am disappointed that you did not have a great experience with us.

Mike has given me full feedback on the tour and I appreciate that you did have a shorter amount of time at Stonehenge than you were expecting. This was primarily down to other passengers being late for the tour and our guide, whilst making best efforts to get everyone who was booked on, actually out and on the tour, delayed the departure longer than he should have done. He has been advised and retrained on this aspect.

The same group were then late back again at Stonehenge I understand, something which whilst we have no control over, we have changed our approach to how we handle these situations, particularly with a student group.

With regard to the heat, you traveled on one of the hottest days of the year, nearing 30 degrees, this is very unusual for this country and whilst the bus was I am sure hot, with the windows open, it should not have been smelly or a sweatbox. Please can you give me some idea of what the smell was? Was this the bus or other passengers who were sweating?

In respect to value for money, the trip is £17 which we think is actually pretty good value for a direct service and is about the same as using public transport, the extra which takes it to £30 is the entrance fee to Stonehenge. There is much conjecture over whether or not this is good value, having doubled in price from last year. In defence of English Heritage, the money it raises at Stonehenge is used to support the work it does at many other sites where it makes no charge for entrance, and the new facilities at Stonehenge are very good.

All in all you did not have a great time and whilst we cannot roll back the clock, I can only sincerely apologies and if you get in touch with your booking reference number we will refund the cost of the tour and also provide you with a free place on one of our other day trips for you to use in the future.

Thanks again for the feedback

Regards


Tim
Discover Dorset Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discover Dorset Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Dorset Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing