We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and good value for money”
Review of San Simeon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Simeon
Ranked #101 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here on Saturday 25th May during a visit to Bournemouth for a friends' birthday party.
Steve was very efficient on our arrival and explained room number and location, the breakfast times and also gave us a key to let ourselves back in after the celebrations. The room was spacious and clean although in need of a bit of an upgrade - it is a B&B establishment - not a five star hotel! Cooked breakfast was HUGE - we would have struggled to eat it if we had consumed the cereal first!! Ideal short stay location with a bus stop virtually outside to travel into Poole or Bournemouth centres. We would happily stay here again and found it very good value for money

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concordefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

we stayed at the hotel when visiting our son at Bournemouth uni, it was clean ,comfortable inexpensive and the breakfast was wonderful, cereal , juice and a choice of cooked breakfast, which there was plenty to eat, tea or coffee was freely offered. Sarah was very accomodating with our needs although Steve we found needs to brush up on his customer skills as appeared to be a little unfriendly.Very closely situated to all ameneties, we will definalely stay there again and would recomend it to other people.

Room Tip: stay in room number 11 has own en-suite , very quiet and lovely sunny bright room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed 8/9/2012
My wife and I chanced upon the San Simeon after being let down elsewhere, we were lucky to get their last available twin room on the top floor. Steve was welcoming, polite and efficient. The room was spacious enough, clean and well appointed with tea/coffee making facilty, hair drier and even a trouser press, the en-suite was perfectly adequate.
Our cooked breakfast was excellently prepared and all other breakfast options available in the pleasant dining room.
Overall this is a good, value for money b&b and we shall certainly use it again when next we need one in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UltraSnorkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at the San Simeon last night. The room was reasonable for a short stay and the location of the hotel was adequate for visiting Bournemouth town centre.
However, on arrival the male mangement was extremely unwelcoming and had no customer service skills. He refused to show us to our room and walked away mid conversation. In the bedroom, the television did not work, no hand towel, no body wash and the carpet was dirty. When we checked out of the room I felt as though these issues showed be raised to them but again he showed no willingness to communicate with us. He refused to say goodbye and did not make us feel like we wanted to come back. My partner and I have stayed in many hotels before and we feel as though this is the worst place we have stayed in before! Definitely would not recommend this place to anyone, I would suggest that if you were planning on staying here I would reconsider!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessHMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodman709, Owner at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

We in common with most establishments like ours do not escort our visitors the short distance to their room, unless they require assistance with luggage. Other issues like being unable to switch TV from the defunct analogue channels to Digital we could and would have resolved if asked.
Complaining at the time of departure is not the best way act.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed at the San Simeon during bowls week in Bournemouth. Hotel was close to greens and numerous places to eat in the evening. Town was within walking distance. Thank you so much for your hospitality. The room was clean, fresh and roomy. The breakfast was fantastic, no need to eat until evening meal. Would highly recommend and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Very nice room, comfortable bed and a substantial breakfast and friendly proprietors. What more can i say!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorcesterMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chiedete una camera sul retro, sono silenziosissime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chiara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,042 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon

Address: 52 Wimborne Road, Bournemouth BH3 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing