We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great experience”
Front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view
Entrance Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Front view
Entrance
Garden
Garden access
Cinema room view
Cinema room kitchen
Games room
Sitting room
Garden access
Dinning room
Main kitchen
Second kitchen
Jacuzzi
Balcony
Access
Grill zone in garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
12 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 30
Bournemouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
baliko101
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a long weekend with friends and family. 24 in total.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is in a nice quiet location 5 min to the beach
The house is huge and was very well equip t for large parties, it has 3 dishwasher, wifi, washing machine, massive kitchen , complete game room ,entertainment room on the top floor and self contained , 2 different sitting room with tv on the other . Everything you need so to speak. Yes it is a bit tired and some furnitures a bit dated but thats what made it so special. Definitely the bathroom are all modern and new and the jacuzzi which the kids enjoyed so much. The kids also loved the movie room /entertainment room! Coz they could be left to themselves ..of course. We all loved it's shabbiness because it meant we could all relax (even with 7 kids !) and enjoy our fantastic holiday! We can't wait to go back. We didn't realize there was someone living on the single flat next to the house but it was then explained that it was the caretaker for the garden living on it . It would have been helpful to make us aware initially but that didn't matter in the end because we had too much fun and they were not on the way at all . Thank you to Nadia who has been very helpful as well as the caretakers.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie5516...
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for large family holiday”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

On arrival at the house we were met and given a tour of the house, were shown the contact number should we need to report anything. The house itself is quite spectacular, plenty of bedrooms, modern bathrooms, and the dining room seated the whole of our party in one sitting. Plenty of recreation/relaxation space, abundance of kitchen equipment and two large cooking ranges. Our party only consisted of 16 ranging in age from 19 months to 55 years, the games room seemed a real hit and 3 out of our 4 evenings were spent in there.
The location of the manor house is lovely and just a short walk down to the promenade where you are met by the fantastic beach - must be superb in the summer months.
`We didn't get to use the bbq or the beach hut, but had it been summer we would definitely have used both.
After booking our stay i read reviews for this property which made me quite worried and yes some things at the manor house could do with improving/replacing, i.e. mattresses on some of the beds need replacing, cookers could do with an overhaul as we were unable to read the dials as markings had worn off, in the games room we were unable to locate the controls for the games tv, the crockery in one of the kitchen cupboards could have been a little cleaner (actually they could do with smaller plates that would actually fit into the dishwasher properly). Twice we had to call the caretaker for small problems and both times they were sorted promptly. We never experienced any problems with hot water, the house was very warm with the exception of the ground floor bedroom. As with many holiday rentals there are areas that could do with upgrading but i can honestly say that there was absolutely nothing that prevented our party from having a good time - and we do intend to rebook in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thank You for stay at Bournemouth Beach Manor,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Middle Chine Manor is not just tired....”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
21
people found this review helpful

....it's exhausted.

The photos online are quite simply not representative of reality. They genuinely must have been taken 10 years and 500 family gatherings ago, when ivy adorned the brick-work and the 'games room' was actually a games room, not a burial ground for broken 1990s sports equipment.

The place is absolutely vast. I am fortunate enough to come from an immeasurably fertile family where the 17 of us were very easily accommodated. This place in no way lacks space, inside or outside; There are a huge numbers of bedrooms, two (or maybe even 3?) kitchens, an assortment of reception rooms, a giant garden and enough baths and showers to clean even the dirtiest of residents.

Talking of dirty, the place is in desperate need of a proper clean. The semi-deflated 'Happy 80th birthday Grandad!' helium balloon in the corner of the living room was a reminder of two painful truths; 1. That my respective grandfathers haven't been lucky enough to celebrate a birthday in quite some time and 2. That this place is simply not cleaned properly. There was enough food between the sofa cushions and under every inanimate object to feed half of our party for the entire stay.

Fancy playing pool? You can't – there are two sets of pool balls stuck inside the broken table (only reachable by an adult arm), neither of which have a cue ball. Fancy getting some fresh air in your bedroom on a hot summers day? You can't – the windows barely open. Fancy heading off to the beach to go in the house's own hut? That you can do – as long as you're prepared to clean up after whoever was there previously – people who appear to have a penchant for oreos, and a mild disinterest in disposing of their dirty tissues.

Don't get me wrong, we had a great time. If I was rating my family holiday, I'd give it 5 stars, but that really isn't the point. The house itself isn't worth the (very significant amount of) money they're asking for it. The booking agent acted in a very decent way after we complained, and gave us 25% of our money back.

Middle Chine Manor needs to get some sleep. It's owner needs to spend some money. And the cleaner needs to get some training.

Consider yourself warned....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size
Liked least: Cleanliness and quality of facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobStamfo...
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Slightly run down large house - but fun”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
6
people found this review helpful

This is a nice location near the beach and the town. Has its own beach hut. It is very spacious, multiple kitchens lots of kitchen equipment, nice garden barbecue area, lots of bedrooms. Sadly just a bit run down - don't expect smart. We had fun with friends and their family but don't expect luxury or sophistication. The house is a bit sad needs a lot spending on it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesygir...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good for families with young children - we'll be going back!”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Middle Chine Manor (also known as Bournemouth Beach Manor) as a group of 29 including 15 young children. The accommodation worked really well. There are 7 bedrooms on the first floor and although the online description says that 2 are accessed from the back stairs they are actually all off the same landing so makes it easier with young children.

The decor is ecletic and interesting and generally very good although some of the bedrooms are looking tired and could do with a refresh. The bathrooms are all modern and in good condition.

The kitchen facilities are good - plenty of fridge space, etc.

The garden is a great space and we were lucky enough to have good weather and make good use of it. We even managed a BBQ for all 29 of us which worked really well.

The beach is excellent and only a 5 minute, safe walk from the property. The beach hut is an added bonus - particularly good for storing all your beach things in while you head into Bournemouth for a wander.

In terms of booking, we had a few challenges trying to get information (particularly a floorplan) from the agent - Kate and Tom's - but we got there in the end and the holiday all ran smoothly.

So in summary, we can definitely recommend the property and we're already planning when we can go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0peful75
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed here with 8 families with young children. It worked perfectly for us. It has got a little faded glory, which with young children is fine, as you are not worried about damaging anything.
The kids loved the size of the place, it's massive! Lots of bedrooms, and new bathrooms, 3 kitchens, lots of parking and a large dining room. There was plenty of cups, glasses, pots and pans, cutlery etc and the beach hut was an added bonus. The space worked well, we didn't feel on top of each other, even though there were 32 of us!
The games room was great fun for both the kids and the adults once the kids had gone to bed.
The location is great too.
So yes a little tired, but we had a great time, and it had everything we needed.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABeaumont
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A shame...”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
13
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay because it was a special occasion to have a lot of our family together in one place. But I have to say that we were disappointed with the quality of the accommodation and the service we received. We booked this property through another agent, and it is worth noting that that this property seems to be know as Middle Chine Manor almost everywhere else but here.
Based on the cost of the accommodation and the price paid for it we expected much more than we got.
On arrival no one met us. There was just a note saying that the keys were inside. There were no other instructions, often rental places have a folder of helpful information - there was nothing like that. Only a phone number to call if there was a problem (note that there was very limited mobile phone reception and no house phone).
We quickly found out that whilst the house has been renovated at some point in the past, it has not been properly maintained since. There was a huge list of things which didn't work properly or were missing. Some examples: not enough balls for the pool table, wifi which was very unreliable in letting devices connect and had no reception in the front half of the house (these two had been noted in the visitors book at Easter and obviously nothing had been done), showers that you could switch on but not control the temperature, sinks had plugs that didn't work, and if more than one of the eight bathrooms was being used at once then no hot water came through to the others (annoying when you all get back to the beach together), I counted 37 lightbulbs that needed replacing, holes in the carpets on the stairs showing the gripper rods which caught your feet as you walked down them, there was no crockery, cutlery or utensils in the top floor kitchen (let alone the toaster and microwave in the promotional pictures), missing remote control for the dvd player, all the other remote controls had the backs missing, limited crockery and cutlery in the downstairs kitchen (if you had 30 people staying you would really struggle unless you wanted anything other than a pint glass), curtains were worn with holes in and the drawcords didn't work, there were many (I counted at least 4) windows with holes in, all the sofa headrests in the games room were broken off, there was a large hole in the arm of one of the sofas in the lounge, and the property could really do with a deep clean - there were lots of cobwebs around the windows in the sitting and dining rooms, and one of the beds had dirty sheets on it when we arrived.
It was lovely to have a beach hut, but it was filthy when we arrived, and the very heavy top shutter was only holding on with one and a half of it's three hinges (this could be very dangerous if it fell off), and a new piece of roof felt had been nailed on such that all the sharp nails poked through the ceiling on the other side.
In fairness, on the second day of our holiday Ramos (the person who had written us the note) came round to show us where the fuse box was, we pointed out to him that the fridge freezer in the kitchen wasn't working, he promised to replace it the next day, it arrived two days later, we then showed him many of the other things on the list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Disappointing facilities and service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing