We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in Bournemouth area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #59 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A jewel in Bournemouth area”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very well thought out and comfortable hotel. A real jewel. Very friendly owners. The rooms are well laid out and the showers great! Compared to other hotels of the same price this is much better. Because of the small number of bedrooms it feels like a cross between a hotel and a B&B but with all the amenities of a very good hotel. Highly recommended

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dzclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just come back from a couple of nights staying here and felt compelled to write about it.

The Chalfied Manor is in a residential area of Boscombe. From the moment we pulled into the drive, we were impressed. The gardens are lovely and there's plenty of parking for guests. We were greeted at the door by the owners who checked us in very quickly. Our room was room 4 and really lovely. The bathroom was especially nice as we're shower people and there was a large shower with rainfall shower head or a handheld. Plenty of toiletries to use.

There was a large tv on the wall and once laid down before sleeping, was at the perfect height to relax and watch a bit a whatever's on.

The house itself has been very well renovated and is full of character. We were shown the breakfast / dining room, the relaxing room full of books and also the bar area. We only used the dining room for breakfast and the tables were well set out and not too close to the next person.

We never heard a peep out of any of the other guests while there either.

Breakfast was especially good. Served from 8.30am which was nice.
A table was laid out full of fruit, cereals, pastries etc and then we were given a menu to chose from hot dishes. We both had the full dorset breakfast which was an egg, bacon, sausage, mushrooms and tomatoes, and a basket of toast. Very good quality and very filling but a must!

The owners were always on hand to recommend places to go and help out with any questions we had. Their service was exemplorary.

I would absolutely go again and recommend it to anyone.

It's a great base for exploring Bournemouth, Poole, Christchurch and other local areas.

GO!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was at the back of the hotel overlooking gardens so possibly quieter than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We'd booked this weekend away several weeks ago, prefering to miss the busy Bank Holiday weekend, little realising that it was the Air Show! This was an added bonus because Chalfield Manor is a hidden gem!
With only 7 bedrooms (Otilia's doing apparently) the hotel is small enough to offer the most amazing personal service. Dexter is very hands on, running reception, the bar, watering the garden, offering advice, whereas Otilia takes her responsibility on the housekeeping side very seriously. The small but perfectly formed staff were attentive without being intrusive, polite and the highlight of my stay was hearing the laughter as they worked.
Bedroom 6 was plenty big enough for us, with a wonderful rainfall shower, very comfortable bed and kept in immaculate order by Cheryl and her team.
Breakfast was topped up regularly and I can highly recommend the coffee, served in an individual cafetiere.
I took advantage of the massage service and can highly recommend that too!
Drinks in the bar are very reasonably priced and Dexter could charm the birds from the trees! It was really interesting to hear how the hotel developed from a derelict building in the the gorgeous Arts and Crafts building it is now.
All in all, a wonderful break and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent stay as a family of 4 in this very elegant hotel. The hotel has been tastefully renovated to a vey high standard. We stayed in the huge family room. The rooms are luxurious and the owners have put a lot of attention to detail.

Breakfast was excellent and catered to your requirements.

The hotel location is great. Is 5 mins from beach.

If after a relaxing quiet stay in luxury surroundings this is for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liferunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked Chalfield Manor as a last minute booking. The hotel itself is a wonderfully restored manor house with just 7 bedrooms. Once we arrived we were greeted by Dexter and Otilia who checked us in and showed us to our room. The house itself has been finished to a very high standard. Our double room had everything that you could want, a large overhead shower, very comfortable king size bed, complimentary tea, coffee and water. The towels in the bathroom were so thick and soft, I have never felt such wonderful ones. There was plenty of hanging space, place for your suitcase and drawers. Breakfast was a choice of hot meals (full English and other hot dishes), the cold buffet (cereals, fruit, yogurt, cakes) , toast and juices. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day. Our hosts were on hand to chat to at the end of our evening and also to serve us drinks in the bar area. There is also a library with games and a treatment room for facials etc . Will recommending this hotel and hope you have the chance to taste what this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on July 19th for 3 nights. It really is a lovely boutique hotel, run by a lovely couple, Dexter & Otilia. From the moment we arrived in the car park ( Dexter came out to greet us), we felt as if we were family & had known them for ages! This continued throughout our entire stay & was one of the many things that made our stay so special.

The hotel has recently undergone a major renovation and is beautifully decorated in a contemporary style whilst still retaining lots of original architecture & beautiful features from its Vitorian era.

The bedroom we stayed in was lovely, comfortable bed with lovely crisp white bedding. The bathroom was full of gorgeous white large fluffy towels, with an especially generous bath towel! The fabulous walk in shower completed the feeling of luxury.

We were treated to a lovely home cooked breakfast every morning which set us up for the day.

When we returned each afternoon we had a drink in the bar & spent time chatting to Dexter & Otilia.

A really fabulous hotel which to me really reflects the warmth of the two lovely people that run it & reflects it back to create a very special hotel.

We will return!

Thank you for a great few days!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our stay at the Chalfield Manor was part of our annivesary present and what a present it was. The hotel is stunning renovated to the highest standards, the attention to detail is second to none. The moment we arrived Dexter and Otilia greeted us as if we were life long friends. They were so helpful advising on resturants and places of interest. The rooms are luxurious with no expense spared with the linen and bath towels all of the highest quailty. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful. We have stayed in many hotels this year and this was by far the best.If you are looking to visit the Bournemouth area look no further than the Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are of the highest standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
434 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wyvern Hotel
Wyvern Hotel
#50 of 132 in Bournemouth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsley Hotel
Kingsley Hotel
#26 of 132 in Bournemouth
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Denewood Hotel
Denewood Hotel
#37 of 132 in Bournemouth
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#6 of 132 in Bournemouth
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel

Property: Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Wollstonecraft Road, Bournemouth BH5 1JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalfield Manor is an Edwardian villa built 1909 with original Arts & Crafts features. Fully restored and renovated in 2012, Chalfield Manor offers 2 Superior Suites and 8 Luxury Double Rooms with contemporary furnishings. The public areas comprise Bar Lounge, Dining Room, Library, Bar Patio and Gardens. Free Car Parking on site and free Wi-Fi are provided for all Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing