We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing family stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #66 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here for the airshow week this year and had a lovely relaxing stay, The owners are very welcoming and friendly and are very helpful and the breafasts were lovely and the hotel nice and clean. This is without doubt the best hotel i have stayed in around bournemouth.
The only downside of staying here is the long walk back into bournemouth but i wouldnt hesitate to stay here again in future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markw258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Our first experience when arriving at this wonderfull Hotel ,was to admire the Italian style garden along side the spacious car park. Ther were comfortable seats and tables on the lawn.
The entrance hall, the stairway and lounge bar were classicly decorated and furnished. As an elderly couple we were delighted to have a ground floor room. It was comfortably furnished and very well equipped to a high standard. The bath room was sylish well stocked with toiletries.Every where was spotless.
The welcome we received from Dexter, his wife and staff ,was unsurpassed in our experience.
This was such an enjoyable holiday . Dexter and Otilia could not have been more helpfull and friendly ,they even found time in their busy days to sit and chat and even to play boule in the garden.

Room Tip: A a disabled persons room is available, also on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dustyAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very well thought out and comfortable hotel. A real jewel. Very friendly owners. The rooms are well laid out and the showers great! Compared to other hotels of the same price this is much better. Because of the small number of bedrooms it feels like a cross between a hotel and a B&B but with all the amenities of a very good hotel. Highly recommended

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank dzclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just come back from a couple of nights staying here and felt compelled to write about it.

The Chalfied Manor is in a residential area of Boscombe. From the moment we pulled into the drive, we were impressed. The gardens are lovely and there's plenty of parking for guests. We were greeted at the door by the owners who checked us in very quickly. Our room was room 4 and really lovely. The bathroom was especially nice as we're shower people and there was a large shower with rainfall shower head or a handheld. Plenty of toiletries to use.

There was a large tv on the wall and once laid down before sleeping, was at the perfect height to relax and watch a bit a whatever's on.

The house itself has been very well renovated and is full of character. We were shown the breakfast / dining room, the relaxing room full of books and also the bar area. We only used the dining room for breakfast and the tables were well set out and not too close to the next person.

We never heard a peep out of any of the other guests while there either.

Breakfast was especially good. Served from 8.30am which was nice.
A table was laid out full of fruit, cereals, pastries etc and then we were given a menu to chose from hot dishes. We both had the full dorset breakfast which was an egg, bacon, sausage, mushrooms and tomatoes, and a basket of toast. Very good quality and very filling but a must!

The owners were always on hand to recommend places to go and help out with any questions we had. Their service was exemplorary.

I would absolutely go again and recommend it to anyone.

It's a great base for exploring Bournemouth, Poole, Christchurch and other local areas.

GO!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was at the back of the hotel overlooking gardens so possibly quieter than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We'd booked this weekend away several weeks ago, prefering to miss the busy Bank Holiday weekend, little realising that it was the Air Show! This was an added bonus because Chalfield Manor is a hidden gem!
With only 7 bedrooms (Otilia's doing apparently) the hotel is small enough to offer the most amazing personal service. Dexter is very hands on, running reception, the bar, watering the garden, offering advice, whereas Otilia takes her responsibility on the housekeeping side very seriously. The small but perfectly formed staff were attentive without being intrusive, polite and the highlight of my stay was hearing the laughter as they worked.
Bedroom 6 was plenty big enough for us, with a wonderful rainfall shower, very comfortable bed and kept in immaculate order by Cheryl and her team.
Breakfast was topped up regularly and I can highly recommend the coffee, served in an individual cafetiere.
I took advantage of the massage service and can highly recommend that too!
Drinks in the bar are very reasonably priced and Dexter could charm the birds from the trees! It was really interesting to hear how the hotel developed from a derelict building in the the gorgeous Arts and Crafts building it is now.
All in all, a wonderful break and we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jools1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent stay as a family of 4 in this very elegant hotel. The hotel has been tastefully renovated to a vey high standard. We stayed in the huge family room. The rooms are luxurious and the owners have put a lot of attention to detail.

Breakfast was excellent and catered to your requirements.

The hotel location is great. Is 5 mins from beach.

If after a relaxing quiet stay in luxury surroundings this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liferunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked Chalfield Manor as a last minute booking. The hotel itself is a wonderfully restored manor house with just 7 bedrooms. Once we arrived we were greeted by Dexter and Otilia who checked us in and showed us to our room. The house itself has been finished to a very high standard. Our double room had everything that you could want, a large overhead shower, very comfortable king size bed, complimentary tea, coffee and water. The towels in the bathroom were so thick and soft, I have never felt such wonderful ones. There was plenty of hanging space, place for your suitcase and drawers. Breakfast was a choice of hot meals (full English and other hot dishes), the cold buffet (cereals, fruit, yogurt, cakes) , toast and juices. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day. Our hosts were on hand to chat to at the end of our evening and also to serve us drinks in the bar area. There is also a library with games and a treatment room for facials etc . Will recommending this hotel and hope you have the chance to taste what this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiltsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,689 reviews
1.9 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,141 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 2 Wollstonecraft Road, Bournemouth BH5 1JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalfield Manor is an Edwardian villa built 1909 with original Arts & Crafts features. Fully restored and renovated in 2012, Chalfield Manor offers 2 Superior Suites and 8 Luxury Double Rooms with contemporary furnishings. The public areas comprise Bar Lounge, Dining Room, Library, Bar Patio and Gardens. Free Car Parking on site and free Wi-Fi are provided for all Guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing