We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #57 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hatfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from wonderful weekend at Chalfield Manor hotel. Dexter and Otilia were very kind, welcoming and extremely hospitable in every way. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and although busy still made time for a chat. The bedroom was beautiful and had absolutely every facility we required, including perfect bedding, towels, and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious - from fresh fruit salad to hot cooked - all perfect. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever. Can't wait to go back for another quiet and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here over the weekend for 2 nights and were welcomed by Dexter and Ottilia who were so friendly. The building itself is beautiful with plentiful parking. The communal areas are decorated with great taste and the bedrooms were large, bright, spotlessly clean and the bathroom is what you would expect in a boutique hotel with a large walk in shower. The breakfast was excellent and although we didn't order hot food, everyone else who did seemed to enjoy it. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the beach and conveniently located for Bournemouth and Christchurch. Highly recommended...pricey when compared to other hotels in the area but then you pay for quality and this hotel certainly has plenty of that. It is in a league of its own when compared to all the other rather run-down hotels in the area. Will be coming back.

Room Tip: Room 5 overlooked the gardens and car park and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This B & B is one of the best I've stayed in and it passes my hotel quality towel and bedding test, it's a very clean and quiet B & B and is ideal for adults wanting a weekend away. It's a great location just a short walk from Boscombe pier and is in the quiet part of Boscombe. The Chalfield serves a very good breakfast with ample for all tastes.

Otilia and Dexter were friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. A very enjoyable visit and I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leisurelypace2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keston park farnborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A beautifully restored manor house. Luxury rooms a great location lots of lovely touches by Otillia and Dexter the Manors owners and Hosts. Great location will defiantly be back.. Breakfast was a locally sourced treat all freshly cooked too.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely large windows that open fully as far as we could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deegeraghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, Herts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We decided to have a last minute Easter break in Bournemouth as the weather promised to be lovely, however, it seemed that the whole of the UK had de-camped to Bournemouth as there were no rooms available in any of the usual hotels we tried. We did a search on Trip Advisor and located Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel. What a find! Our initial contact with the lovely Dexter reassured us that this was no ordinary boutique hotel. I hasten to add that we have had previous experience of "boutique hotels" and we were not looking forward to the prospect of staying at another one! However, with no rooms available anywhere in Bournemouth, and this being the last room available at Chalfield Manor, we decided to go for it. I have to say, that we will not stay anywhere else now!!! Confirmation emails were exchanged and because we were due down the next day, Dexter advised that we could pay for the room on arrival instead of beforehand. We were beginning to feel like this was something we had not experienced before and was a "proper" hotel. On arrival, we were greeted at the door by both Dexter and Otilia who were are both charming and hospitable. We were shown to our room, which was a lovely bright room (Room 1 on the ground floor). As we were talking to Otilia, we asked if we could see any of the other rooms if they were unoccupied. She duly took us to see rooms 2 and 4 - both beautiful in their own rights and decorated with great care and compassion. The rooms are all equally delightful! The day was unseasonably warm and, after unpacking, went to the lounge/bar, which has a door to the patio and Dexter brought out some chairs for us to sit on and enjoy the late afternoon sunshine. Arriving back at Chalfield Manor after dinner, we found a number of guests in the lounge/bar and decided to stay and have a late night tipple! The next morning, (the shower in the bathroom was tremendous and had superb water pressure and the towels were huge!), we went to the breakfast room. Cereals, juice, pastries and fresh fruit was laid out to help ourselves to and breakfast – lovely Dorset breakfast, using local produce was cooked to order and served hot! The next morning’s breakfast was equally delicious and although we could have chosen eggs with smoked salmon or porridge, we decided to go for the Dorset breakfast again. I forgot to tell the waiter that I did not like butter and would prefer my breakfast cooked without it. However, again, this was not a problem and without any hassle or grunts, a new breakfast (without said butter) was duly brought!
Chalfield Manor, together with Dexter and Otilia is charming and we cannot praise it highly enough. We have stayed at other hotels with a higher star rating that has not been anywhere as good or comfortable as Chalfield Manor. If you want to stay in Bournemouth, then this is the place! Yes, it doesn’t have a sea view, but it is literally 1 minute from the sea front at Boscombe and I would gladly give up the sea view for staying at Chalfield Manor.
Well done Dexter and Otilia – serious time, care and money has been put into Chalfield Manor! We look forward to our next stay with you !

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecfc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I booked the hotel for a weekend away to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday and I was looking for something extra special. There are so many hotels and B&Bs in the area but Chalfield Manor stood out from them all.

From the moment we stepped through the doors we knew that it was something special. The hosts were very welcoming and made us feel like we were at home. You could tell that the hosts had put alot of thought into the designing and decorating Chalfield Manor including the bar, lounge and dining area.

The room we stayed in was spotless... absolutely perfect in every way, not a speck of dust anywhere, beautiful bathroom and shower, chocolates, drinks, massive fluffy towels, comfortable warm bed and situated on a very quiet leafy back road close to the seafront. We had a perfect nights sleep.

Breakfast was delicious, they cater for all tastes as my partner prefers a vegetarian breakfast (an option which was on the menu). It was all freshly cooked, tasty and filling.
To summarise Chalfield Manor is a hidden gem, what we experienced exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be returning soon.
Thank you to Dexter, Otilia and Cheryl for a fantastic stay!

Ben & Sarah

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I want to start this review with a simple thank you to our wonderful hosts; the owners of this beautiful, faultless place, Dexter and Otilia. We are about to check out after a memorable weekend stay. I am not sure when the last time was that we experienced such personal and expert service. The hotel itself is chic, immaculate and so relaxed... Breakfast was beautiful! This is a perfectly polished hidden gem; if you are in the area stay here; we can say no more!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rik4805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westby Guest House
The Westby Guest House
#49 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#7 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#3 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyvern Hotel
Wyvern Hotel
#48 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel

Property: Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Wollstonecraft Road, Bournemouth BH5 1JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalfield Manor is an Edwardian villa built 1909 with original Arts & Crafts features. Fully restored and renovated in 2012, Chalfield Manor offers 2 Superior Suites and 8 Luxury Double Rooms with contemporary furnishings. The public areas comprise Bar Lounge, Dining Room, Library, Bar Patio and Gardens. Free Car Parking on site and free Wi-Fi are provided for all Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Chalfield Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing