We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Panini & choccie!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrocoa - CLOSED

Barrocoa
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Panini & choccie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Love Barrocoa! This really is a fab coffee house with eclectic decor & style. Huge panini's and delicious latte's make me choose this over coffee chains any day of the week. I can't resist a choccie or two either, hand made on the premises. Check it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dandelion71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“We had an amazing time here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

A friend and I did an amazing chocolate making workshop which was so much fun. We learned loads and got loads of gorgeous chocolates to take home. I can't recommend this highly enough. It would be an amazing hen do experience. The lunch was delicious and lovely funky decor! Go there you won't regret it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Archiegeorgebarney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go to South Coast Roast instead”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

The service was poor from start to finish: waitress hovered next to our table without a word or a smile waiting for our order and then served two tiny, bitter coffees without the milk, so we had to get up and ask explicitly for it. Finally, £1.75 for a lukewarm, concentratre OJ served in a small wine glass. The paninins were filling, but that's about it. Around £16 for that.

Someone else mentioned here (I think) that the chap behind the counter told them to 'go to Starbucks' if they wanted an Americano with milk... I prefer independents to chains but at least I'd feel more valued at a Starbucks than Barrocoa. Anyway, South Coast Roast has just opened up across the road, I'll be going there in future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“And the excellence continues...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Even though I first submitted a review for Bournemouth Town Centre's newest delight before it had even opened it's doors officially, it remains as true to it's standards, and to it's customers, as it did back then.
If you just take the location alone, just 10 steps from the main centre (up Richmond Hill - towards the big Nationwide Building, and opposite 'Zizzi's' and 'The Slug and Lettuce') it would be worth going in there for a mid-shop break. Add to that the absolutely wonderful cups of coffee that are on offer (I like mine strong enough to stand a spoon in, and this place delivers, without the aftermath of stomach-ache that usually follows in other places I've tried!), and you would have an even more valid excuse for a quick pit-stop of energy replenishment; but it doesn't stop there! The 19th Century setting, the quality of service, the value-for-money, the beautifully apt background music, the quality light lunches,and the cakes/treats/desserts, just make the whole 'Barrocoa' experience unforgettable, and will make you a regular, even stopping for a tea, coffee and treat, when there was no original plan to!
I have done absolutely no justice to including the desserts in the same sentence as all the other benefits this wonderful little niche in Bournemouth offers, because the desserts, which are mainly made on premises, are a standalone entity in themselves, the look and quality of which are a sight to behold! And the taste...oh the taste...exquisite!
One minor little detail which I will finish this review with, is that of the 'Barrocoa' Chocolate: THEY MAKE THEIR OWN CHOCOLATE!!!! And what's more, they have workshops to teach you to make your own!!!! The workshops are offered for all occasions, whether you're looking for something to do with your entire family, with your girlfriends, as part of a Hen Night, or as a self-indulgent gift to yourself (and why not?!), it is guaranteed to be time well spent, and one of those memorable occasions which will remain etched in your life's timeline.
So for a lovely, very well-priced, often well-deserved treat, stop in and experience this wonderful and quaint establishment, and see for yourself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bournemouth's little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Looking for somewhere to stop for lunch this place is a gem in a rather colourless landscape. It's curiously individual baroque styling makes it stand out from the coffeeshop crowd, and the fact that i is also a chocolate factory (workshop?) adds to its individuality. Run by maverick restaurateur Andy Cunningham gives the whole place a satisfying edge. I have to say the paninis were excellent and as you would expect the coffee and chocolates were completely delicious.
We (and especially Bournemouth) need places like this oozing with individuality and yummy treats.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ghyuohgfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barrocoa also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing