We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hygiene not value for money”

White Topps Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Topps Guesthouse
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad hygiene not value for money”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Hotel stunk carpets soaked in dog urine. No lock on room door. Bathroom dirty and on another floor. No shower -bath looked so old and didn't look used . Bedding smelt and dirty. Noises at night worst nights sleep ever and extortionate cost at £43 each person ! Don't recommend at all

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flossieburger, Owner at White Topps Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
I cannot tell from the name who this guest was and therefore when they stayed. Every guest room has a working lock and a key. In all advertising and personal contact we state we do not have any en-suite rooms and facilities are on the first floor. The bathroom is clean and serviceable. All bedding is clean and certainly does not smell. We did during July have dogs staying who had mobility and continence problems, but have an excellent carpet washer which is used frequently - but cannot guarantee there was not a slight odour left. We never discriminate against disabled dogs (or guests). I wold be interested to know what sort of noise at night is being referred to as this is an extremely quiet area. Again no complait of any kind was made, either at the time or later, or we would of course have done our best to remedy the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I had booked 3 rooms for my family and our 2 dogs to stay at this hotel for 4 nights starting last Sunday 28th July. We pulled up outside on the Sunday evening and to our dismay found it to be a very shabby house. The worst was yet to come. Inside the owner (an elderly lady) met us at the door. Once inside the whole house stank of urine! The downstairs room my daughter was shown too had 2 beds of different heights pushed together. The wardrobe was full of old clothes and there were no bathroom facilities on that floor. Upstairs our room was in bad need of decoration, had filthy carpets and very old blankets on the bed. The bathroom was shared between all the rooms in the guest house with no shower and the oldest bath I had ever seen.
The filth and the smell was so overwhelming we had to walk back out again loosing our £150 deposit. I am appalled that Bournemouth council allow such a place to trade as a B&B!
Luckily for us we found a lovely pub on Southbourne sea front the Spy Glass and Kettle that could accommodate my family and our 2 dogs in their pristinely clean rooms.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
16 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flossieburger, Owner at White Topps Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
This family arrived, were shown the rooms and, we thought, had taken their dogs out for a walk. No complaint of any kind was made and they did not have the courtesy to inform us either then or later that they would not be returning. Had a complaint been made at the time we would of course have returned their deposit. The two beds in the daughters room are exactly the same height, only one was made up as the room was let as a single and the two single beds pushed together to give more space. I do not recall any clothing being left in the wadrobe. It is made clear in our advertising, and when speaking personally to guests before booking, that we do not have en-suite rooms and facilities are on the first floor. The bath is contemporary with the age of the property and in good working order. I would also refute the comments regarding a shabby property, old bedding and am astounded that being greeted by an elderly lady is considered a bad thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
0.7 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cherry Tree House
Cherry Tree House
#1 of 1 in Southbourne
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#10 of 131 in Bournemouth
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,995 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,481 reviews
4.0 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Topps Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Topps Guesthouse

Property: White Topps Guesthouse
Address: 45 Church Road | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 4BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Bournemouth
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing