We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful of the noise.”
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed on a saturday night, in a 'family room' which was at the back of the hotel and cost £99. Going to bed early was our only option since we had in infant with us. Sadly the adjacent hotel was holding a very loud and raucous disco and reception, which the single glazed (and in need of replacement) windows did nothing to shield us from.

The facility was 'OK' with no blanket for the cot, and a poorly done bathroom. there were no curtains, only blinds, which did little against the noise, or 'comfort' of the room.

Credit to the night manager, who reduced our room charge by half. but I'd rather have had a quiet night in comfort than have to deal with complaining.

In short, its not what it looks like and needs an overhaul. Don't book on a saturday night, unless you get a room at the front, or are planning to be out until at least midnight.

Room Tip: weekends, get a front facing room. the adjacent hotel functions are noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastalbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for The Orchid Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

My partner and I booked to stay at the Orchid through Laterooms in July this year. We travelled from our home in Somerset to spend time in Bournemouth with family. When we arrived having already paid in full, we were told that as we had to leave early in the morning, we couldn't have breakfast (we were leaving at 8.00am) but possibly could have toast and coffee if someone was there to do it! We showered and got ready for the evening but the room was unbearably hot and the window didn't open. We told the receptionist who then gave us a desk fan. This made virtually no difference. When we returned, we realised that there was no way we would be able to sleep in the stifling heat so we left and drove back to Somerset at 11.30 pm.
I e-mailed laterooms and they passed the complaint to the hotel. They in turn asked if we would e-mail them directly so that they could pass this to the hotel manager. We have heard nothing back since I sent the e-mail to them in July.
So in truth we paid £80 for a room to get changed in!
I am furious that they didn't even have the courtesy to reply to my e-mail.
D. Willis

Room Tip: Stay at this hotel in the winter!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

What a great little hotel. Really good location, just a few minutes walk from Bournemouth town centre, less than 5 minutes to the beach. The staff are really friendly, helpful and polite. Although the room was small, it was clean and tidy and just what we needed. Breakfast was really good - although a bit early (I am not a morning person :)). Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room not overlooking the courtyard, as this can be a bit noisy, especially if the w...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMDuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights to visit local attractions for my birthday. I was intially a bit woriied after seeing some of the reviews. However I had booked here after seeing it on channel 4s programe 'Four in a bed'. I needed not have worried. While the bathroom did seem to be over siliconed it was clean and we had a good shower. The room was over all clean and the bed very comfortable. The staff were very considerate as there was a wedding while we were staying and we had been placed as far away from the main reception hall to minimise noise as possible.

Breakfast was excellent with a good range of continental, cereal. Toast and coffee\tea came to order very quickly. Waiting staff were polite and efficient.

This is in a great place to walk to the sea front without being on the main road. Convenient for restaurants and bars.

This is 4star for the rates you are paying but may dissapoint if you expect a Boutique style for £79 !!!!!!!!. We would definately not hesitate to use again as we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riabea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel was not as it was described on the tin !
Our room was extremely disappointing and shabby. Very small. Bed was uncomfortable . Was very upset as needed a nice break and had looked forward to it. Breakfast was ok and the staff in the breakfast room very pleasant. Our room wasn't cleaned and we had to request extra towels and toiletries that didn't arrive.

Room Tip: Not sure if there were any good rooms. We saw others but they looked equally as shabby with worn ou...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We only stayed here overnight last weekend but we were hugely impressed with the value for money offered by the Orchid. The building itself is a little tired in places, but the staff were absolutely lovely - they couldn't have been more friendly or more accommodating. The food - afternoon tea and breakfast - was as good in quality as it was in quantity. The beds were big and very comfortable and we had good wifi access everywhere.

The hotel is perfectly placed for the beach and the town itself and had plenty of easily accessible parking.

We will certainly go back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discerningnotpicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Ok, so there are the usual reviews where people are obviously expecting 6-star quality for peanuts but I can honestly say if you go with an open mind and aren't ridiculously fussy then this hotel is superb!

Location is perfect. A few minutes walk from Eastcliff zig-zag path so in next to no time you can be walking along the beach. Parking is free for guests which given the cost of parking in Bournemouth public car-parks will save you a considerable amount of money over your stay. Bear in mind a lot of hotels nearby charge extra for this as well.

The main reception area is lovely and all staff we met during our stay were very polite and helpful. We had a ground floor room for our stay and it was clean, tidy and had a few nice touches, one of these being a little fridge which you could use to keep food and drink chilled. The bed was huge, at least a king-size, and very comfortable. The bathroom had all the essentials and served its purpose. Yes, it could probably have done with a bit of a refurb but honestly it wasn't anywhere near as bad as some of these reviews make out. We had a problem with the shower leaking on the first night but mentioned it to reception the following morning and it had been fixed by the time we got in later that day - perfect!

We had breakfast each morning and there was a huge selection of cereals, museli, fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries, fruit juices and, of course, full English. All of it was buffet style so you could literally eat as much as you want. Endless pots of tea or coffee, plus as much toast as wanted. You would seriously struggle to find a better value breakfast in the area given the quantity of food! One minor point was that the bain-maries where the cooked food was kept only had one lid between the four of them and a single burner under each to try and keep the food warm. Trouble was with no lids on the heat underneath just wasn't enough and the mushrooms and tomatoes one morning were a bit on the cool side. Perhaps either invest in some sliding lid-type trays or add a few more burners underneath each one?

Overall we loved this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to rebook again in the future. It ticked all the boxes for us and with the location being so close to the beach it just made it even better.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms, in general, overlook the car-park. No problems with noise but if you want a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 67 in Bournemouth
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 67 in Bournemouth
917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Manor
Derby Manor
#1 of 67 in Bournemouth
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £77 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. Our New Restaurant, No 34 opened its doors just a few months ago, offering informal elegant dining emphasizing on simplicity using locally sourced ingredients. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing