We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little hotel with great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Nice reception/entrance and bar area, with great location, 5-10 minute walk into the centre of town. The room itself was a bit basic, not much decor, but the bathroom was a nice modern looking suite, which was slightly more impressive. Certainly couldn't fault it on value for money, we paid £42 for a twin room for a night, including breakfast in the morning, we chose the fry up which was a good choice, but there was a variety breakfast options to chose from. Perfect for a one night or weekend stay, basic room with kettle, tea, coffee, mini fridge, flat screen TV, iron and ironing board. Not sure if all of those are standard items for all rooms but imagine most items where. We certainly had no issues or complaints with the hotel or staff. So I would definitely recommend The Orchid Hotel, mainly for short stays as if you were staying a longer the basic room would probably not be comforting enough after a few days, but I will add there were building/extending, so I think they were upgrading/renovating the place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dubsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    175
    93
    69
    46
See reviews for
112
368
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a nice little surprise! Easy check in, friendly staff, basic room with everything that you needed for comfort, good value for money. The only downfall was the shower door as the shower seemed to flood floor but did not stop it being a nice shower. Nice breakfast, good location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_Rich99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had booked months in advance so were disappointed to find when we arrived that a 30th birthday party was happening the same evening and we had not been advised. However our room was a good size, as was the bathroom, and very clean though the whole place was tired looking and in need of refreshing. Upon returning from our night out the party was in full swing and we stood waiting in reception for 15 minutes to get our room key. As no-one appeared we eventually went behind the reception to retrieve our key. Obviously extremely worrying from a security point of view!! The guests from the party were very loud in leaving and the noise carried on until 1am. Finally it became quiet and we settled down to sleep only to be disturbed frequently by drunken, shouting groups returning to adjacent hotels which continued till 4am. Having had virtually no sleep we were not happy having based our choice of hotel on the "Zen" style with which it is marketed. In reality this hotel is the absolute antithesis of a calm, relaxing place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biancajuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had three nights here oct 2013. Found the hotel more than adequate for a short stay, good size room with all facilities. Staff very friendly and always at reception to help.Good breakfast , english and continental. Parking and very close to bournemouth town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lovely restaurant - most of tables are set apart from each other which I prefer. Tables nicely set out with nice white tablecloths and in all nice relaxing ambience.
We were offered drinks which came up alongside jug of iced water which I didn't have to ask for!
Choice of starters were bit different we both chose salmon samosa's with honey.
Mains were Steak with sauce and saute' potatoes and cherry tomatoes roasted on vine (Supp £2)
I had( like a Steak of lamb) infused with garlic and parmentier potatoes and cauliflower and broccoli
Puddings I thought nice selection of and chose Chocolate Rice Krispie Vanilla Cheesecake with red berries.
Hubby Lemon Tart with Honeycomb & Clotted Cream
I noticed that they also cater for Gluton Free customers
2 nice generous cups of coffee but noticed wide choice of speciality teas or just hot milk !
All in all a really nice evening and excellent service

Room Tip: Restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shipwrecked56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed on a saturday night, in a 'family room' which was at the back of the hotel and cost £99. Going to bed early was our only option since we had in infant with us. Sadly the adjacent hotel was holding a very loud and raucous disco and reception, which the single glazed (and in need of replacement) windows did nothing to shield us from.

The facility was 'OK' with no blanket for the cot, and a poorly done bathroom. there were no curtains, only blinds, which did little against the noise, or 'comfort' of the room.

Credit to the night manager, who reduced our room charge by half. but I'd rather have had a quiet night in comfort than have to deal with complaining.

In short, its not what it looks like and needs an overhaul. Don't book on a saturday night, unless you get a room at the front, or are planning to be out until at least midnight.

Room Tip: weekends, get a front facing room. the adjacent hotel functions are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My partner and I booked to stay at the Orchid through Laterooms in July this year. We travelled from our home in Somerset to spend time in Bournemouth with family. When we arrived having already paid in full, we were told that as we had to leave early in the morning, we couldn't have breakfast (we were leaving at 8.00am) but possibly could have toast and coffee if someone was there to do it! We showered and got ready for the evening but the room was unbearably hot and the window didn't open. We told the receptionist who then gave us a desk fan. This made virtually no difference. When we returned, we realised that there was no way we would be able to sleep in the stifling heat so we left and drove back to Somerset at 11.30 pm.
I e-mailed laterooms and they passed the complaint to the hotel. They in turn asked if we would e-mail them directly so that they could pass this to the hotel manager. We have heard nothing back since I sent the e-mail to them in July.
So in truth we paid £80 for a room to get changed in!
I am furious that they didn't even have the courtesy to reply to my e-mail.
D. Willis

Room Tip: Stay at this hotel in the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Property: The Orchid Hotel
Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has almost completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. 90% of the refurbishment has now been completed with the last phase being our new restaurant which we aim to have open by this Summer, offering informal elegant dining emphasising on simplicity with great food and service. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing