We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for one night. Service was very good from the warm welcome at reception to the breakfast service. There is building work going on at present but this did not cause any problems. Room was of ample size with a comfy bed. All areas of the room were clean and well presented. Large kettle with sufficient tea/coffee supplies. Breakfast was in a lovely light and airy room with a good choice of food.
The location is excellent for the beach and university and we shall definitely use the hotel again when dropping our daughter off at uni. We paid £29 in total for two of us including breakfast.
We would like to thank all at hotel for such a lovely stay and we hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menorcabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Regret I cannot comment on the residential aspects of this lovely hotel as like the previous reviewer (The_Fishers73) we were using a Groupon evening dinner voucher but unlike this reviewer we had an entirely different experience.

My Wife and I really enjoyed our dinner in all respects.....the food was perfectly cooked and presented and the service was absolutely immaculate, our waitress (who spoke perfect English with just a trace of a European accent) was friendly, helpful, and efficient. I am a retired restaurateur and can normally find fault anywhere (including The Savoy on London's Strand and The Dorchester on Park Lane) but the service we received at The Orchid was faultless!
Note to the boss: However much you are paying the young lady on duty Tuesday 10th. December she deserves a pay increase.....she is a fantastic asset to your business.

The Orchid is a fifty mile (80km for our continental readers) round trip from our home in Dorchester and would say "it was worth every inch (or cm)". Give it a try, I feel sure that YOU WILL ENJOY!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Finally had the opportunity to use our £25 Groupon voucher which we recieved as a gift. Arrived and all was pleasant enough, usual shortage of english staff but one has come to expect this in the UK Hotel sector.

Menu was ok, sadly one of the main attractions was off so we ordered Terrine and Salmon samosa's whilst the Chicken Terrine was passable the Salmon samosa's were poor, dry & flavourless.

For main we had Lamb Shoulder which was nice and cam with lots of potatoes (which is good as i'm a potato man) Lamb was cooked just right and had plenty of flavour. The Cod wrapped in bacon however was disappointing, again no flavour.

Desserts.....Lemon Pudding was nice but the Sticky Toffee pudding sadly was made of rubber and was very disappointing.

All in all disappointing, if there was anyone around who could speak English properly we would have aired our disappointment on the night but given the challenges we had ordering and building an understanding of whether there was any cider behind the bar we left without saying anything. However, if we had paid for the voucher then we would have definately looked for some compensation, the true value of these meals is over £50- definately would not be money well spent

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Fishers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights midweek and it was fairly quiet. Our room at the front of the building did suffer from excess light from the spot lights shining from the garden, and the blinds were not effective enough to make it dark in the room at night. The breakfast was substantial, but avoid the boiled mushrooms and deep fried sausage, they are not pleasant. Had to ask for an extra blanket as the duvet was so thin and the heater in the room made a buzzing noise. OK for the cost!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear annex to avoid the spotlights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here for one night on the 7th Dec 2013 - never again! Bed was not comfortable at all, double room was very small and basic. There was loud noise throughout the night until 5 am, we did not get any sleep. Partner had to knock on nearby room at 3 am as they were being so noisy and disruptive ( banging on our bedroom walls) . There was no one on reception which is why we did not report the problem. At £75 I expected much more from this hotel ! Based on how much we paid and our awful experience this was one of the worst hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurvinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Orchid Hotel on Sunday night the 8th December 2013 it is great value for money we paid just £29 for a twin room including breakfast the hotel is a little noisy but what do you expect for the money we paid the hotel is clean & tidy our room was spotless with a recently refurbished bathroom the breakfast was ok with a full English if you were hungry

Room Tip: Book on line a week before you travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The bed was hard with springs that could be felt through the duvet, we had to sleep on the top of the duvet to get any comfort, There was loud noise throughout the early hours 1.30- 4.am with bedroom doors slamming ,people shouting and calling fiends, even checking in with suitcases at 2-3 am. There were no bedside tables or shelves and the carpets though out the part of the hotel we were in smelt fusty.The shower screen was fixed into place with sealant which meant taps could not be accessed unless you got into the bath or cleaned on the bottom edge of the screen.On the upside the staff were pleasant and the breakfast good.Overall we could not recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Not able to recommend as not seen any other areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
939 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £66 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. Our New Restaurant, No 34 opened its doors just a few months ago, offering informal elegant dining emphasizing on simplicity using locally sourced ingredients. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing