We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy.”
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights at the beginning of March- not a place for young people. Outwardly, the hotel looked very nice until you noticed the boarded up window and the rubbish leading from the car park to the entrance. Bar and lounge area looked very modern and nice but was marred by the noise from the building work (which we were not warned about at any point). Standard double room was very dated, horrible colour scheme and carpet, small window. No information book about the hotel or area provided. Walls paper thin with a noisy neighbour. Bed hard as nails. Room was clean and breakfast was very nice in the morning. Close to the main town.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Charlidc,

The majority of guests staying over the weekend are young couples, thus I am surprised to hear you don’t find the Orchid suitable for young couples.

The refurbishment is ongoing and we do have this advertised on online sites to prevent a surprise for guests when they turn up.
Every room has a hotel information brochure and we have dozens of local area brochures available.

I do appreciate your feedback, however as I mentioned in other responses we cannot assist you if you do not let us know at the time of stay. I feel your opinion of the hotel would have greatly improved had you contacted a member of staff or management at the time.

Kind regards,
The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I only stayed one night as we were in Bournemouth for a concert (though we wish we could have stayed longer!)
We absolutely loved it!
The bar, lounge and reception areas were beautifully decorated. And the dining room was stunning!!
-There was a little bit of building work going on by the bar but that didn't matter one bit!-
We had a double room and it was lovely. Very clean and very welcoming. Staff were lovely, didn't mind us coming back late and the breakfast was delicious!!!
We will definitely return when we are in Bournemouth again! Thank you!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hebe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear HRJGregory,

I appreciate your positive feedback and it's great to hear you had a lovely time at the Orchid hotel.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is in serious need of some TLC and general renovations. The staff are very attentive and on check in we were told about a party that was happening that night but they had put us in a room that we would not hear it........ and they did. The room was old and dated but comfortable enough for our needs.... although we were told there was free Wi Fi it seems the router was not strong enough to reach all the rooms so no free Wi Fi. There was very little in the way of hot water in our room. The shower was tepid did not need to used the cold tap in the shower! The staff at breakfast could not have been more helpful and during our stay were very helpful...they were a credit to a hotel that needs some much needed TLC.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Portsmouthple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Portsmouthple,

Thank you very much for your feedback. The much needed TLC will be sorted with the current refurbishment, also the WIFI issues we are experiencing are being looked into.

It's always good to hear positive comments regarding the staff, thank you for that.

Kind Regards,

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend came to The Orchid at the beginning of the month for a couple of nights away and we cannot fault a thing. The staff were extremely helpful on both check in and check out and they were happy to answer any questions during our stay. Unfortunately we couldn't pick the weather but this did not ruin our stay. We stayed in Superior room 116 which was beautiful, it had a lovely big bed, and even a TV in the head board!!
The breakfast in the mornings had a lot to choose from, including both continental and full English. All in all the whole stay was well worth the money.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading from the double room to the superior room as there is not much price dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Rosie W,

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay with us last month and we hope to see you again, perhaps with better weather next time.

Kind regards,

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We booked here for a family weekend. The hotel is situated about a 10mins walk into town. Very disappointed to be in a room directly above the function room, which has a birthday party happening. We were not aware that there was going to be a party, which apparently is due to finish at midnight ( let's hope). I think that the hotel should not have a function room, where the noise affects people who may want to sleep. After all, that's what hotels are for. Very tempted to check out & drive home. I'm not a party pooper in any way, but feel that any function should not affect other residents who have paid for a nights sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Julie S,

I'm sorry to hear you were not aware of the function taking place. It is standard procedure at the hotel to notify guests staying near our function room in advance to prevent a bad stay, in your case this must not have happened.

Most of the time it does not cause an issue as the majority of our guests on the weekend plan to go out for the evening.

We will definitely look into improving this going forward to ensure guests are not disturbed by the functions.

Kind regards,

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel at short notice and arrived at 6pm, cost a staggering £100 for one night stay would never pay this price again. Although clean and tidy it very outdated and we had two single beds pushed together. We didn't get much sleep from all the noise and disco going on downstairs. Service and staff limited. Not very friendly would never recommend or stay again. Very unsatisfying.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Melanie W,

I'm disappointed to read your negative feedback. As you booked on the day you were made aware of the function taking place at the hotel.

I find it unfair to blame the staff for your disappointing stay with us as they have zero control over the issues mentioned.

Kind Regards,

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Me and my partner had an amazimg stay. Staff were very polite and helpful, the hotel was very clean and well worth the money. Dont be put off by the negative reviews!! Will definitely be going there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear emm01,

Thank you for your positive feedback and it's great to hear you had an amazing stay over Valentines weekend.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £77 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. Our New Restaurant, No 34 opened its doors just a few months ago, offering informal elegant dining emphasizing on simplicity using locally sourced ingredients. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing