We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Whilst looking for a weekend away we used booking.com and we stumbled across the orchid. The price of £88 for two nights with breakfast made us not even give it a second thought. We looked at reviews and there is being work done it is all hidden away and does not interfere with you at all. We arrived and all we thought was BARGAIN!! Nice relaxing surroundings, good bar and a newly refurbished room with a powerful shower. The only thing was the massive hill getting to the sea front- however it made us work up an appetite!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WarwickEdge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear WarwickEdge1,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us at the Orchid Hotel.

As you mention we are refurbishing the hotel and aim to not let this affect your stay with us as much as possible and i appreciate your feedback on this.

Kind Regards,

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

The Orchid is one of the nicer looking hotels in the area. The reception and bar area are nicely furnished. The theme sort of continues to the rooms which was nice. Greeted by friendly staff. We were told there would be a wedding during our stay but that our room was away from it. We had room 300 - a quiet room at the back of the hotel - nice and spacious - large bed (although 2 single beds put together) comfy enough but the join in the middle was a pain. We weren't disturbed at all by the wedding (quiet wedding or quiet room we weren't sure!)
Good selection at breakfast - although the cooked breakfasts were a bit cold.
Staff very helpful - booked us taxis and arranged a light bulb to be changed while we were out.
For us the hotel provided a good base point as we were out most of the day and evenings. Pleasant enough and we would stay again if in the area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kcookie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear kcookie1991,

Thank you very much for your review and i'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will look into your point mentioned regarding cold breakfast, as that is of course not standard practice.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the 28th April for my husbands birthday. We wasn't expecting much for what we paid but we didn't mind too much as it was just a bed for the night. When we arrived we was both pleasantly surprised. The service was great, the staff would do anything to help accommodate you. The room and bathroom was lovely and clean and the decor lived up to its name of the orchid. We would def recommend this hotel and are already looking at staying here in the summer.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Kelly2111,

Thank you for your kind words. That's really nice to hear and i will pass this on to the staff as well.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed fri & sat for show at Bic, friendly staff , great breakfast , some loud guests at 2am playing chase me!! But that's not hotels fault , only one problem very very squeaky floorboards in 115 , would I stay again YES.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harewarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Harewarren,

Thank you for your review of the Orchid Hotel. Yes room 115 has a squeaky floorboard issue, this is also planned to be resolved in our refurbishment.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I were coming down to Bournemouth to visit some old friends which would involve an overnight stay. We looked at various B&B's and hotels for a budget priced overnight stay and the Orchid came up. I looked here on TA and there were one or two adverse comments but the reviews were, in general reasonably good. So we took the plunge!

Knowing that there were renovations under way, we were prepared for some disruption, noise and dust but no. On arrival we were greeted kindly and shown to our room. The reception and bar area are very pleasant. Our room, 112 at the front was large, clean and pleasantly decorated. The bathroom too was very large and clean with thick fluffy towels. The bed was king size - it turned out to be two singles zipped together but was of no consequence - it was comfortable enough.

The hotel is, as they rightly point out, just a few minutes walk from the seafront and town centre but as it was raining, we chose to drive in to find somewhere to eat (the Orchid only serves breakfasts).

After a pleasant sleep, it was down to breakfast. As others have pointed out, the breakfasts are very good with a choice of cereals, fruit juices and a Continental or full English if you want it. We chose not quite a full English and after a short delay (cooked to order - not on one of the usual hotel hot presses all dried out!) it arrived beautifully presented and very tasty.

If I was to do the full 'Alex the Hotel Inspector' I'd give this hotel quite a good report with few bad things to say. Being very picky: On the way up to our room, several of the fire doors could do with a repaint and one or two of the carpets are getting thin. I noticed that the (comfortable) chairs in the breakfast room had stained covers. I'm sure all of these will be fixed when the renovations are completed. Apart from that, we enjoyed our stay in the Orchid and would heartily recommend it as a well placed, budget hotel. We know where to come next time we come to visit our friends...

Room Tip: Rooms at the front suffer from the exterior floodlights but the blinds to quite a good job at keepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear The_Bogieman,

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Orchid Hotel.

We are aware of the points mentioned (fire doors, carpets etc) and like you said these will be fixed with the ongoing refurbishment.

Again thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here on Saturday for two nights, as I was visiting my Son who lives in Bournemouth.
Yes it is a bit dated, but it is being renovated as this was advised when we booked.
Other than an initial wait with the check in, everything was great.
Very impressed with the staff they were very attentive at all times.
We stayed in room 204 which had a zip bed ( downside) and the bathroom did have mould around the shower screen,
The breakfast was very good and fantastic quick service.
Overall we had a lovely stay and would come here again, when I visit my son

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Meg S,

Thank you for your feedback and positive review.

I will forward your feedback to the relevant departments to ensure this will be sorted as soon as possible.

Looking forward to seeing you again. And if you prefer a Double bed (instead of ZIP link) please inform my reception team on your next booking.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight at this hotel. Had no fault at all. Hotel is located close to all amenities. Staff very friendly. Rooms were clean. Small problem as shower door was sealed, found it difficult to adjust water temperature. Breakfast variety was good. We had full English which was excellent. Look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Natstevens,

Thank you for your review and I am happy to read you had a good stay with us.

We are looking into our options regarding the shower screen with the ongoing refurbishment project.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
923 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £70 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. Our New Restaurant, No 34 opened its doors just a few months ago, offering informal elegant dining emphasizing on simplicity using locally sourced ingredients. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing