We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Good Hotel”
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A very Nice and peaceful hotel with Great staff and great Breakfast also. Location is also good as it is near the City Centre. A bus station is near the hotel so travelling is quite easy. Room was good and bathroom was good too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear stkurt,

Tha nk you very much for your review, it is always great to hear such positive feedback regarding our staff.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is very good , we enjoyed our stay,breakfast is very good,great selection to choose from.. Great location very close to the beach and central area and the staff are very helpful and friendly.we checked out early for our flight and we were offered early breakfast.Clean towels and toiletries provided.

Room Tip: Room 201 was ok altough was a bit difficult to enter room with baby pushchair as room door and fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graziella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Graziella F,

Thank you for your positive feedback and were glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked this hotel for my Birthday treat with husband,son and girlfriend.Lovely 2 double rooms on 1st floor Ours was shower only but with great hot water,and they had a shower over the bath.Great comfy nights sleep,although the workmen came at 7 am and were making noises near our sons room. Breakfast was a full english or other hot food choices with toast, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit and pastries.plenty of juices coffee and tea.Great start to the day.Very friendly helpful staff, disabled lift available 24 hr bar. great choice for our 2 night break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Rhona11,

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

The Orchid hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I booked this hotel for my wife's birthday weekend in Bournemouth. We got to our room which was room 206 and basically in the attic. The walls were dirty with marks all over them. The valance sheet on the bed didn't look as though it had been changed for months if longer as it had dirty marks all the way round it. Plaster coming off walls and electric wires showing in the Bathroom. Not worth £160 for two nights. I will not be going back there at all but staff were very friendly and breakfast good. It should be for that price. Front of house very nice but owners need to spend a bit of money on the basics ie. Rooms and décor.

Room Tip: Don't get room 206 or you will be very disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear david s,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Orchid Hotel.

Dont get the room in the attic? I understand you did not like it however it is clearly a preference. There have been several tripadvisor responses which showed room 206 (and 306) are perhaps not suited for everyone. Some guests love it and some don't.

Overall our cleanliness shows to be good, both by feedback directly at the hotel, from tripadvisor comments and from feedback from our online partners.

As mentioned before, best is to let us know when you are here as posting it on tripadvisor afterwards still might spoil your weekend and does not give us a chance to sort things. If we were shown there was an issue with the cleanliness this would have been sorted right away as it is not acceptable. You also requested a quiet room as i just read on your booking notes, rooms 206 and 306 are normally quiet rooms and therefore it had been allocated to you.

I will pass on your comments regarding breakfast and friendliness to staff.

Again thank you very much fro your feedback, and please give us another chance in a different room.

Kind regards,

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Whilst looking for a weekend away we used booking.com and we stumbled across the orchid. The price of £88 for two nights with breakfast made us not even give it a second thought. We looked at reviews and there is being work done it is all hidden away and does not interfere with you at all. We arrived and all we thought was BARGAIN!! Nice relaxing surroundings, good bar and a newly refurbished room with a powerful shower. The only thing was the massive hill getting to the sea front- however it made us work up an appetite!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WarwickEdge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear WarwickEdge1,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us at the Orchid Hotel.

As you mention we are refurbishing the hotel and aim to not let this affect your stay with us as much as possible and i appreciate your feedback on this.

Kind Regards,

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

The Orchid is one of the nicer looking hotels in the area. The reception and bar area are nicely furnished. The theme sort of continues to the rooms which was nice. Greeted by friendly staff. We were told there would be a wedding during our stay but that our room was away from it. We had room 300 - a quiet room at the back of the hotel - nice and spacious - large bed (although 2 single beds put together) comfy enough but the join in the middle was a pain. We weren't disturbed at all by the wedding (quiet wedding or quiet room we weren't sure!)
Good selection at breakfast - although the cooked breakfasts were a bit cold.
Staff very helpful - booked us taxis and arranged a light bulb to be changed while we were out.
For us the hotel provided a good base point as we were out most of the day and evenings. Pleasant enough and we would stay again if in the area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kcookie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear kcookie1991,

Thank you very much for your review and i'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will look into your point mentioned regarding cold breakfast, as that is of course not standard practice.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the 28th April for my husbands birthday. We wasn't expecting much for what we paid but we didn't mind too much as it was just a bed for the night. When we arrived we was both pleasantly surprised. The service was great, the staff would do anything to help accommodate you. The room and bathroom was lovely and clean and the decor lived up to its name of the orchid. We would def recommend this hotel and are already looking at staying here in the summer.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Kelly2111,

Thank you for your kind words. That's really nice to hear and i will pass this on to the staff as well.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
939 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £66 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. Our New Restaurant, No 34 opened its doors just a few months ago, offering informal elegant dining emphasizing on simplicity using locally sourced ingredients. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing