We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Orchid Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Celebrity(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mayfair Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burley Court Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Piccadilly(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grosvenor Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
The Green House(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Queens Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (950)
Filter reviews
950 results
Traveller rating
487
235
105
75
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
235
105
75
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon tealovely hotelfresh milkfull englishgroupon dealstayed for nightstown centresconesa lovely staycooked breakfastone night stayshort breakcomfy bedfollowing morningbreakfast was excellentvisiting bournemouthsea front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 950 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel was lovely clean and tidy through out breakfast was to a high standard rooms are in process of been updated but still was happy with the room staff were helpful and very pleasant lobby and bar area has just been updated and is very welcoming overall would recommend this hotel to anyone and we have booked again for next year

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordangibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear jordangibbo,

Thank you for your positive review. I will pass on the compliments to the staff.

See you again next year,

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I booked this hotel for my husband 50th birthday,on the second day while sitting in the badly maintained garden my husband was attacked by two very vicious and protective sea gales, who chicks were also in the garden, while protecting himself from them injuryed his back and meant he had to have bed rest and was unable to celebrate with our friends that had also came down for his occasion.
If the garden was properly maintained and had health and safety checks this never had to happen. A letter should had been put on the door to pre warn us that chicks are nesting in the garden. What would of happened if this was a child?
After complaining to the reception we were told that we couldn't speak to the manager for several hours.When we did final speak to him he offered no form of apology but took our number and told us he would get onto head office and call us back that was over a week ago and he still has not been in contact. I would advise anyone staying there to reconsider the manager has no customer service at all.
I normally stay in the celebrity which is opposite this hotel and I would highly recommend staying there instead, the stay and management are fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank claudette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear claudette K,

I am sorry you have been attacked by a bird in our courtyard. Staff had actually explained you about the seagull in the courtyard you decided to go in anyway. And there was only one.

This has absolutely nothing to do with the maintenance of the garden. Birds are around the hotel the largest part of the year. This is part of being a hotel in a seaside town.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel is so dated, mold in bathroom, hot water takes half hour to come through into the mixer shower, very noisy at night, doors slamming, windows falling apart. The bar.... Cold drinks not cold. Full English breakfast swimming in fat, tinned mushrooms, cold toast.... Worse hotel ever stayed in... Avoid like the plague

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Steven L,

I am sorry to hear your stay with us has been so dissapointing to you. Please get in touch with us to let us know which room you stayed in.

We don't serve tinned mushrooms, or anything else tinned.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Beautiful hotel friendly helpful staff breakfast excellent room Lovely clean and comfortable. We had a mini fridge in our room which was brilliant and an iron and ironing board which came in handy. Walking distance to beach and town. We would definately stay here again :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Traci M,

Thank you very much for your feedback

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of months back.The staff it's so helpful,our room was nice and fresh,the food was excellent aswell.Quite close to the beach and the city centre. All for 40 quid with breakfast included ,so that's a really good price...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatalinaCapraru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear CatalinaCapraru,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews