We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic little budget hotel”
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic little budget hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Paid £53 for 4 people to stay in family room for a night away, breakfast included. A lovely little hotel located a stones throw away from the beach. Room was stifling as others have mentioned but we asked reception for a fan and withing half hour one was located for us. Floor in room was crazy squeaky but room and bathroom was clean and up together. Wifi signal was fantastic had the choice of 2, our room was at the front of the hotel second floor overlooking the carpark. A full english breakfast although mushrooms were rubbery, also full continental (croissants are amazing) as well as orange, apple, grapefruit and cranberry juice. There was also a lovely little quaint garden which we didnt find until leaving unfortunatly. For a hotel this cheap you cant complain and expect a 5 star experience. And for those wondering they have ample parking as there are nice cool spots around the back to park your car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden or front carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sybiriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    190
    94
    70
    46
See reviews for
123
401
27
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from a three night break staying in this hotel,boutique hotel I don't thing so!!!! Our room was big but needs updating like the rest of the hotel!!!there must have been wedding there on Saturday& the decoration are still all up!!!! The tables in court yard have not been wipe while we where there!!! as for Wi Fi that was only in reception don't expect it in your room.Having said all that the staff are very pleasant,breakfast was good as well. Will not be returning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

all Bournemouth hotels suffer from complacency and standards have slipped in the last 10 years. Do not stay here on a hot night the rooms are stifling and without air con. No disabled rail in bathroom . Good sized bed and adequate if dated room. good position,decent breakfast and plenty of parking in a nice area. Staff have no real local knowledge. it's ok for a quick budget break.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary. The hotel looked drab from the outside however the lobby, reception and bar areas were all clean and modern, the room was average but clean and comfy. The shower on the last morning was cold. Having said that the staff were all pleasant and cheerful. Breakfast was hot and quiet patio area to sit in the evening, although could do with a clean up, perhaps a sweep and someone to just go out and tidy up in general would not go a miss. If viewing the hotels web site think the photos were taken a few years back !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel for two nights as we were attending a wedding (and all the rooms in the wedding hotel had sold out!). We booked The Orchid as it was described as a 'boutique' hotel. Let me tell you, it was quite an experience. The check-in experience was great; lovely staff and easy, quick hand over of keys. However, we were a little concerned by her casual comment, 'we are having a function tomorrow night, we hope it won't be too noisy'. Now, after reading a few reviews for this hotel, I have seen many complaints about noise and the management replying by saying 'we do give you warning!'. Yes, we were given warning. But that was AS WE WERE CHECKING IN and about to rush off for a family meal. Most nice hotels in the area were sold out and we did not want to spend our night complaining. It was less of an opportunity to change our minds and more of a premonition of our awful night to come.

Next, we entered our room. It was dated, tiny, dirty and boiling hot. The radiator was hanging off the wall. The shower door was stuck to the bath which meant you couldn't turn the taps on without standing in the bath. We struggled to get ready for the evening because we were roasting in there. At this point, we realised that we had a decision to make. We could either go and complain and be moved or go and spend as much time as possible with my family who we rarely get the chance to spend time with. We went with the latter. After a wonderful day in Bournemouth (I would really recommend a visit!) and a very special wedding, we arrived back to our room exhausted at about 11.30. Well, this is when the party really did start. The music was so loud we could feel the wall vibrating. We lay in bed laughing at how awful it was.' IF YOU LIKE PINA COLADA.' My boyfriend actually said, 'it's so funny that we are paying to put ourselves through, what feels like, torture'. AND GETTING CAUGHT IN THE RAIN. It was so hot and when we opened the window it got louder. To be fair, when we asked reception for a fan, they brought it up fairly quickly but it didn't do much to drown out the sound of party classics and middle-aged women screaming.

We had imagined a quiet romantic stay at The Orchid and it turned out to be more like a Carry On Film. I can imagine management reading this and getting ready to state, 'if you had let us know you were unhappy with your room/experience, you should have come and complained. That way, we could have changed your room/fixed the dangerous radiator fixture/hoovered the dust balls'. Well, don't bother. We gave you the chance to ensure we had a good stay when we paid you £180. We didn't want to spend our precious time caught up complaining to the lovely secretary. It wasn't her fault. It shouldn't just be people who can 'complain well' that have a good time. This hotel is bad. We now fondly look back at the experience nicknaming the place 'The Awful'. However, I probably wouldn't recommend it for this reason.

Do not stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel was lovely clean and tidy through out breakfast was to a high standard rooms are in process of been updated but still was happy with the room staff were helpful and very pleasant lobby and bar area has just been updated and is very welcoming overall would recommend this hotel to anyone and we have booked again for next year

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordangibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear jordangibbo,

Thank you for your positive review. I will pass on the compliments to the staff.

See you again next year,

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northolt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I booked this hotel for my husband 50th birthday,on the second day while sitting in the badly maintained garden my husband was attacked by two very vicious and protective sea gales, who chicks were also in the garden, while protecting himself from them injuryed his back and meant he had to have bed rest and was unable to celebrate with our friends that had also came down for his occasion.
If the garden was properly maintained and had health and safety checks this never had to happen. A letter should had been put on the door to pre warn us that chicks are nesting in the garden. What would of happened if this was a child?
After complaining to the reception we were told that we couldn't speak to the manager for several hours.When we did final speak to him he offered no form of apology but took our number and told us he would get onto head office and call us back that was over a week ago and he still has not been in contact. I would advise anyone staying there to reconsider the manager has no customer service at all.
I normally stay in the celebrity which is opposite this hotel and I would highly recommend staying there instead, the stay and management are fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank claudette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear claudette K,

I am sorry you have been attacked by a bird in our courtyard. Staff had actually explained you about the seagull in the courtyard you decided to go in anyway. And there was only one.

This has absolutely nothing to do with the maintenance of the garden. Birds are around the hotel the largest part of the year. This is part of being a hotel in a seaside town.

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
884 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Property: The Orchid Hotel
Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. Our New Restaurant, No 34 opened its doors just a few months ago, offering informal elegant dining emphasizing on simplicity using locally sourced ingredients. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing