We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience!”
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Having seen the Orchid Hotel website i was driving to Bournemouth imagining a room '50 metres away' to be across the lovely courtyard where i'd enjoy the amazing sounding cocktails once my 4 year old had gone to bed & we'd both wake up to a lovely full english with Quorn sausages before a great day on the beach....well, we had a great day on the beach!! ;-) for what i paid obviously i can't seriously complain about anything but it wasn't by any means what i'd imagined on the way down! We were directed across the road to where i will say we were met by Toni who was the friendliest person ever throughout, tried to help with everything & interacted fantastically with my son, the rest of our stay was 'interesting' to say the least. We would at that price stay again but as a dairy intolerant non lover of cold meat would not opt for breakfast as all that was enjoyed was my sons usual choice of Weetabix! It served its purpose though as it was closer to the beach - where we were going for the free fireworks & our room (although clearly a work in progress like the rest of the hotel) was cool, huge and the beds very comfy. Had i been asked a single thing when checking out other than can i put my pin in, i would have had a few things to comment on at the appropriate time but actually we had a great weekend & to be honest, apart from the breakfast, the amazing cocktails out of reach from across the road & a few 'hairy' moments i got what i paid for so really can't moan, i laugh about it instead and look forward to the new and improved hotel should we choose to visit again :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p3roxAtHotmailDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for The Orchid Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Paid £53 for 4 people to stay in family room for a night away, breakfast included. A lovely little hotel located a stones throw away from the beach. Room was stifling as others have mentioned but we asked reception for a fan and withing half hour one was located for us. Floor in room was crazy squeaky but room and bathroom was clean and up together. Wifi signal was fantastic had the choice of 2, our room was at the front of the hotel second floor overlooking the carpark. A full english breakfast although mushrooms were rubbery, also full continental (croissants are amazing) as well as orange, apple, grapefruit and cranberry juice. There was also a lovely little quaint garden which we didnt find until leaving unfortunatly. For a hotel this cheap you cant complain and expect a 5 star experience. And for those wondering they have ample parking as there are nice cool spots around the back to park your car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden or front carpark.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sybiriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned home from a three night break staying in this hotel,boutique hotel I don't thing so!!!! Our room was big but needs updating like the rest of the hotel!!!there must have been wedding there on Saturday& the decoration are still all up!!!! The tables in court yard have not been wipe while we where there!!! as for Wi Fi that was only in reception don't expect it in your room.Having said all that the staff are very pleasant,breakfast was good as well. Will not be returning.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

all Bournemouth hotels suffer from complacency and standards have slipped in the last 10 years. Do not stay here on a hot night the rooms are stifling and without air con. No disabled rail in bathroom . Good sized bed and adequate if dated room. good position,decent breakfast and plenty of parking in a nice area. Staff have no real local knowledge. it's ok for a quick budget break.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary. The hotel looked drab from the outside however the lobby, reception and bar areas were all clean and modern, the room was average but clean and comfy. The shower on the last morning was cold. Having said that the staff were all pleasant and cheerful. Breakfast was hot and quiet patio area to sit in the evening, although could do with a clean up, perhaps a sweep and someone to just go out and tidy up in general would not go a miss. If viewing the hotels web site think the photos were taken a few years back !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel for two nights as we were attending a wedding (and all the rooms in the wedding hotel had sold out!). We booked The Orchid as it was described as a 'boutique' hotel. Let me tell you, it was quite an experience. The check-in experience was great; lovely staff and easy, quick hand over of keys. However, we were a little concerned by her casual comment, 'we are having a function tomorrow night, we hope it won't be too noisy'. Now, after reading a few reviews for this hotel, I have seen many complaints about noise and the management replying by saying 'we do give you warning!'. Yes, we were given warning. But that was AS WE WERE CHECKING IN and about to rush off for a family meal. Most nice hotels in the area were sold out and we did not want to spend our night complaining. It was less of an opportunity to change our minds and more of a premonition of our awful night to come.

Next, we entered our room. It was dated, tiny, dirty and boiling hot. The radiator was hanging off the wall. The shower door was stuck to the bath which meant you couldn't turn the taps on without standing in the bath. We struggled to get ready for the evening because we were roasting in there. At this point, we realised that we had a decision to make. We could either go and complain and be moved or go and spend as much time as possible with my family who we rarely get the chance to spend time with. We went with the latter. After a wonderful day in Bournemouth (I would really recommend a visit!) and a very special wedding, we arrived back to our room exhausted at about 11.30. Well, this is when the party really did start. The music was so loud we could feel the wall vibrating. We lay in bed laughing at how awful it was.' IF YOU LIKE PINA COLADA.' My boyfriend actually said, 'it's so funny that we are paying to put ourselves through, what feels like, torture'. AND GETTING CAUGHT IN THE RAIN. It was so hot and when we opened the window it got louder. To be fair, when we asked reception for a fan, they brought it up fairly quickly but it didn't do much to drown out the sound of party classics and middle-aged women screaming.

We had imagined a quiet romantic stay at The Orchid and it turned out to be more like a Carry On Film. I can imagine management reading this and getting ready to state, 'if you had let us know you were unhappy with your room/experience, you should have come and complained. That way, we could have changed your room/fixed the dangerous radiator fixture/hoovered the dust balls'. Well, don't bother. We gave you the chance to ensure we had a good stay when we paid you £180. We didn't want to spend our precious time caught up complaining to the lovely secretary. It wasn't her fault. It shouldn't just be people who can 'complain well' that have a good time. This hotel is bad. We now fondly look back at the experience nicknaming the place 'The Awful'. However, I probably wouldn't recommend it for this reason.

Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel was lovely clean and tidy through out breakfast was to a high standard rooms are in process of been updated but still was happy with the room staff were helpful and very pleasant lobby and bar area has just been updated and is very welcoming overall would recommend this hotel to anyone and we have booked again for next year

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordangibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear jordangibbo,

Thank you for your positive review. I will pass on the compliments to the staff.

See you again next year,

Kind regards

The Orchid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 67 in Bournemouth
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 67 in Bournemouth
917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Manor
Derby Manor
#1 of 67 in Bournemouth
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £77 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. Our New Restaurant, No 34 opened its doors just a few months ago, offering informal elegant dining emphasizing on simplicity using locally sourced ingredients. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing