We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini- holiday in Bournemouth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mini- holiday in Bournemouth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here with the other half for a short break at the end of July. The hotel itself was only a short walk from the pier and the beach...probably about a 10-15 minute walk...although be careful of the busy roads in Bournemouth! Room was comfortable and although there was a function on when we stayed we did not hear any noise. Breakfast good....plenty of selection, full english, pasties, cereal etc and the staff were particularly friendly at breakfast.
All in all would stay here again should we re-visit Bournemouth in the future.

Just a couple of tips about the town of Bournemouth....it's a lovely place but you will need to book in advance for most restaurants! We did not know this and constantly got turned away from places....not a problem for us... but could be a problem for families with small children!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carl j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    175
    93
    69
    46
See reviews for
112
369
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Reserved a room for middle of august but didn't realise when booking online that I had to pay for it there and then, after my card was declined I phoned a nice helpful lady who said there was no issue as long as I rang and paid for the room on the arranged day..the arranged day came and I phoned to pay and spoke to a different lady who was rude and unhelpful! Who then informed me the room was cancelled and there was nothing I could do about it!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have stayed at the Orchid hotel for 1 night with my 2 year old child and a friend. The location of the hotel is excellent, it has a good, secure car park. The staff is very friendly, been very kind and let me park my car in their car park till i was ready to go home even know it was hours after check out time. We have been given a room across the road, where refurbishment was still taken place. The room was ok for what i payed for ( £33/ a night ) however paint staines everywhere, an awful lot of spider webs around the room, no bins in bathroom and unfortunately no hot water in the morning. Have to note it that been offered a room in the old building till we have a shower if we wanted to. Breakfast is very basic but not bad at all. The new building looks like a construction site, builders/painters in-out all day and lift is not available, which was quiet awkward as we have been given a room on the 3rd floor with having to carry a pushchairs upstairs. I wouldn't pay more than the £30 for a night and would recommend it for short stays. Location is excellent tho 10minutes to high street shops and 5 minutes to the beach. I think it will be a lovely hotel once they have finished refurbishing it. As i have family down there, will definitely use the hotel for my short visits.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoraBurrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Having seen the Orchid Hotel website i was driving to Bournemouth imagining a room '50 metres away' to be across the lovely courtyard where i'd enjoy the amazing sounding cocktails once my 4 year old had gone to bed & we'd both wake up to a lovely full english with Quorn sausages before a great day on the beach....well, we had a great day on the beach!! ;-) for what i paid obviously i can't seriously complain about anything but it wasn't by any means what i'd imagined on the way down! We were directed across the road to where i will say we were met by Toni who was the friendliest person ever throughout, tried to help with everything & interacted fantastically with my son, the rest of our stay was 'interesting' to say the least. We would at that price stay again but as a dairy intolerant non lover of cold meat would not opt for breakfast as all that was enjoyed was my sons usual choice of Weetabix! It served its purpose though as it was closer to the beach - where we were going for the free fireworks & our room (although clearly a work in progress like the rest of the hotel) was cool, huge and the beds very comfy. Had i been asked a single thing when checking out other than can i put my pin in, i would have had a few things to comment on at the appropriate time but actually we had a great weekend & to be honest, apart from the breakfast, the amazing cocktails out of reach from across the road & a few 'hairy' moments i got what i paid for so really can't moan, i laugh about it instead and look forward to the new and improved hotel should we choose to visit again :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p3roxAtHotmailDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Paid £53 for 4 people to stay in family room for a night away, breakfast included. A lovely little hotel located a stones throw away from the beach. Room was stifling as others have mentioned but we asked reception for a fan and withing half hour one was located for us. Floor in room was crazy squeaky but room and bathroom was clean and up together. Wifi signal was fantastic had the choice of 2, our room was at the front of the hotel second floor overlooking the carpark. A full english breakfast although mushrooms were rubbery, also full continental (croissants are amazing) as well as orange, apple, grapefruit and cranberry juice. There was also a lovely little quaint garden which we didnt find until leaving unfortunatly. For a hotel this cheap you cant complain and expect a 5 star experience. And for those wondering they have ample parking as there are nice cool spots around the back to park your car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden or front carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sybiriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from a three night break staying in this hotel,boutique hotel I don't thing so!!!! Our room was big but needs updating like the rest of the hotel!!!there must have been wedding there on Saturday& the decoration are still all up!!!! The tables in court yard have not been wipe while we where there!!! as for Wi Fi that was only in reception don't expect it in your room.Having said all that the staff are very pleasant,breakfast was good as well. Will not be returning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

all Bournemouth hotels suffer from complacency and standards have slipped in the last 10 years. Do not stay here on a hot night the rooms are stifling and without air con. No disabled rail in bathroom . Good sized bed and adequate if dated room. good position,decent breakfast and plenty of parking in a nice area. Staff have no real local knowledge. it's ok for a quick budget break.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.6 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Property: The Orchid Hotel
Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has almost completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. 90% of the refurbishment has now been completed with the last phase being our new restaurant which we aim to have open by this Summer, offering informal elegant dining emphasising on simplicity with great food and service. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing