We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preet good for the money, but appearences can be deceptive!”
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Myself and a group of 7 others recently booked this hotel, as part of a kind of last min seaside trip away. The mid-week break deal offered a room and breakfast for £35 a night, which in peak season is’nt that bad. Upon arrival we were allowed to park our cars in the car park, so we could explore Bournemouth in the morning and then check in at 2. The first impressions are very nice, outside is well presented and the little bar and reception area is well styled. There is also a very nice garden in the middle.

As a group, we had four rooms, 3 doubles and a twin. The rooms have been styled in a modern and contemporary way, if maybe on a slight budget. You got the impression that they were trying to do luxury and modern, but cutting corners where possible. One of my friends had a very wet bathroom floor on arrival, due to a broken radiator pipe. We reported it, and it was soon fixed. The single beds were fairly comfey, and the doubles were very large and I would say more like king size. The bathroom was nice and modern, and it was the only area that had the full ‘stylish’ feel to it, without any cost cutting. Many of the walls in the bedrooms had slight cracks and some of the paint had been scratched away with some worn areas. That’s only being a tad ‘picky’ though, as for the price it was good. Just don’t fully fall for the glam perfect impression you get off the website.

I didn’t have breakfast myself, but all the others told me that the full English was ok, but nothing special. In terms of location, it was great. About 5min walk to the beach, or about a 5-10min walk into the centre of town.
Because we were all students, we were looking for a hotel with good value for money. When compared to something like the Travelodge, the Orchid provides this. Say £70 a room at the Travelodge, which when divided by 3 comes to just below £25. You may as well pay the extra £10 for the much better room, breakfast and location. Overall a really nice and pleasant stay, but some finishing touches to the hotel wouldn’t go a miss.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyletay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2009

I have just stayed at this hotel and thought it was very good value.
The rooms are quite small byt very adequate with a good bathroom.

The location is ideal for access to town centre and the beach and there are some good local bars, restaurants and shops within five minutes walk.

The hotel itself is small, friendly and quiet, with a lovely rear terrace for a relaxing drink.

At £60.00 per room per night including full English Breakfast breakfast, it is very good value. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HERSHAMBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I booked to go here with my other half over the may half term. What can i say...it delivered everything we wanted for a short break away. On arrival we thought the hotel looked beautiful, the staff welcomed us and were so polite telling us about what to do and where to go, also offering us a map to get us to the main street with lots of excellent restaurnts ( a short walk away). we went up to room 304 which was everything we wanted. It was clean, tidy and extremely spacious. The room has mordern decor and is nicely decorated.
The people that have said this is a bad hotel i cant really get my mind round. I check every holiday that i have ever been to on trip advisor and the comments that people leave really put me off. I read the few bad reviews on this webpage but as it was a last minute holiday my partner told me not to be so silly and we booked it. So glad we did, DONT LET THE BAD REVIEWS PUT YOU OFF. The staff are brilliant and the location couldnt really be any better (a five minute walk from a beautiful beach) and we got eveything we could possibly want from this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franchesca89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We have just got back from a 3 night break (Thursday-Sunday) at the Orchid and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

The hotel benefits from a fantastic location in a relatively quiet road that is just 5 mins walk from both the town's main restaurants and the lift down to the beach.

We stayed in the Aspasia Suite which at £90 per night, including full breakfast, is incredible value for money. The suite has a tastefully decorated, separate lounge with two large, comfortable sofas and an LCD TV. There is also a small fridge, DVD player and Mini HiFi.

The bathroom, although not as extravagant as the rest of the suite, was clean, new and had a very powerful shower.

There is also a large patio area where you can sit and enjoy a drink from the bar.

The breakfast is waitress service rather than the usual buffet. The standard was good and there was a reasonable choice although it would have benefited from some fresh fruit being available.

We tried a couple of local restaurants: The Alcatraz - a high quality Italian (c.£50 for two people for 3 courses) and The Little India - again high quality. Indian food at around £35 for two people. We also had a lovely chinese takeaway from the Mandarin.

In short, this hotel is an absolute gem and I would recommend it without hesitation.....but do try the Aspasia Suite as this really is the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyBoy'H'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

As previous reviews have stated, this is not a true boutique hotel. But let's face it at £60 per room B&B in peak season (without discounts), it is hardly priced to be. The Orchid is located on road of hotels and stands out immediately from the outside as being a cut above the rest. We arrived in the glorious sunshine and we greetled warmly at reception and shown to an enormous (superior room) that was clean, nicely furnished , well equipped and spacious. For three time the price I have stayed in smaller hotel rooms.

We then headed downstaris to the bar area for a drink where we soon discovered there was a wedding on. Beware this is a popular wedding venue and there is a good chance there will be a wedding on at the weekend. That said, we were allowed to roam freely througout the hotel and din't feel in any way excluded because of it.

As it was a sunny day we didn't spend long in the hotel (though it has a nice garden to the rear) and returned very late (1am ish) after a night out where the bar reamined fairly lively with a handful of wedding guests and others. The barman seemed happy to setrv eof into teh small hours and even rustled up a plate of bacon sandwiches, which was arguably above and beyond the call of duty.

As we'd had a late night of it, we slept in fairly late on teh Sunday. no attempt wa made to hurry us out of the room and no mention of it was made out check out.

All in all, this hotel is a fantatsic base for vistors to Bournemouth - centrally located, nicely decorated and well staffed. A luxury romantic destination it is not, but neither does it claim to be. For a buiness or leiaure traveller seeking a convenient base, with nice and spacious rooms and a bit of character, it cannot be faulted and at £60 a night represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hambon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Don't go expecting the chic boutique hotel on the website. This has more of a chain hotel feel to it. Rooms could do with some tlc and the bar area suffers from terrible, terrible music. But breakfasts are good and the location is handy for the beach, town and train station. And at the £30 pp pn rate currently on it's a good deal.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NW5er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

I have read the reviews since our stay and have to say that our experience was totally different. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we could not fault it. Our room was very big and comfortable, the staff went out off their way to help us.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plymouthmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £78 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. Our New Restaurant, No 34 opened its doors just a few months ago, offering informal elegant dining emphasizing on simplicity using locally sourced ingredients. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing