We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be deceived by the website - not a boutique hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Don't be deceived by the website - not a boutique hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

The money spent on this hotel has been used to make the public areas trendy with a boutique, Asian feel, however the rooms leave a lot to be desired. A few trendy pictures, don't make a boutique hotel, room very tired, old fashioned patterned carpet, unusable shower, poor bathroom amenities, plastic cups, dirty and unappealing.
Cheap fittings and furniture, no drawers, rickety wardrobe. 12" old style TV, no satellite channels - however FREE wireless.
Beware before booking, check reviews and customer photos.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanBTotteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    175
    93
    69
    46
See reviews for
112
368
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

Website and reality miles apart. We had a gound floor room which wasn't clean and looked very tired.
Continental breakfast was poorly presented and not very appertising. Coffee,tea and toast was a diy affair.
Overall we were very disappointed in this supposedly boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

As it was Bournemouth Air Festival and they had a wedding on we drew the short straw and got what appeared to be the last rooms. We were promised on the phone two rooms away from the noise of the wedding but received rooms right next to the noise.
Our room was dark, dirty and noisy.
The dining room for breakfast was very nice and the bar and courtyard are lovely.
The location is great and I think there are probably nicer rooms so for the price it would be worth another try. (£75 for a twin)
PS. Website isn't really representative

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a short mid-week break, first impressions was that this hotel is in need of refurbishment generally and in the rooms too. We found the staff to be very friendly, pleasant and helpful but felt our twin room was rather small. I went by the website when choosing this hotel-do not go by it! It needs to hugely be updated! This is not a boutique hotel as we discovered as it has recently been bought by the chain hotel across the road-Quality Hotel and there is no restaurant(even though there is one specified on their website for lunch and evening meals). The breakfasts were very nice but as the week went on and as the hotel filled up more we seemed to get less and less food for the cooked breakfast and some mornings they didn't even have the continental option to choose from. Also there was a party on the thursday night which we were not warned about, it was very loud and meant you couldn't use the hotel bar as it was over run with the party guests which I thought was slightly unfair to the hotel guests. Overall I must say I was disappointed with this hotel as I specifically chose it because it was supposedly a small, quiet, boutique hotel with a restaurant, only to find this was not the case .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Myself and a group of 7 others recently booked this hotel, as part of a kind of last min seaside trip away. The mid-week break deal offered a room and breakfast for £35 a night, which in peak season is’nt that bad. Upon arrival we were allowed to park our cars in the car park, so we could explore Bournemouth in the morning and then check in at 2. The first impressions are very nice, outside is well presented and the little bar and reception area is well styled. There is also a very nice garden in the middle.

As a group, we had four rooms, 3 doubles and a twin. The rooms have been styled in a modern and contemporary way, if maybe on a slight budget. You got the impression that they were trying to do luxury and modern, but cutting corners where possible. One of my friends had a very wet bathroom floor on arrival, due to a broken radiator pipe. We reported it, and it was soon fixed. The single beds were fairly comfey, and the doubles were very large and I would say more like king size. The bathroom was nice and modern, and it was the only area that had the full ‘stylish’ feel to it, without any cost cutting. Many of the walls in the bedrooms had slight cracks and some of the paint had been scratched away with some worn areas. That’s only being a tad ‘picky’ though, as for the price it was good. Just don’t fully fall for the glam perfect impression you get off the website.

I didn’t have breakfast myself, but all the others told me that the full English was ok, but nothing special. In terms of location, it was great. About 5min walk to the beach, or about a 5-10min walk into the centre of town.
Because we were all students, we were looking for a hotel with good value for money. When compared to something like the Travelodge, the Orchid provides this. Say £70 a room at the Travelodge, which when divided by 3 comes to just below £25. You may as well pay the extra £10 for the much better room, breakfast and location. Overall a really nice and pleasant stay, but some finishing touches to the hotel wouldn’t go a miss.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyletay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
Level Contributor
143 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

I have just stayed at this hotel and thought it was very good value.
The rooms are quite small byt very adequate with a good bathroom.

The location is ideal for access to town centre and the beach and there are some good local bars, restaurants and shops within five minutes walk.

The hotel itself is small, friendly and quiet, with a lovely rear terrace for a relaxing drink.

At £60.00 per room per night including full English Breakfast breakfast, it is very good value. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HERSHAMBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

I booked to go here with my other half over the may half term. What can i say...it delivered everything we wanted for a short break away. On arrival we thought the hotel looked beautiful, the staff welcomed us and were so polite telling us about what to do and where to go, also offering us a map to get us to the main street with lots of excellent restaurnts ( a short walk away). we went up to room 304 which was everything we wanted. It was clean, tidy and extremely spacious. The room has mordern decor and is nicely decorated.
The people that have said this is a bad hotel i cant really get my mind round. I check every holiday that i have ever been to on trip advisor and the comments that people leave really put me off. I read the few bad reviews on this webpage but as it was a last minute holiday my partner told me not to be so silly and we booked it. So glad we did, DONT LET THE BAD REVIEWS PUT YOU OFF. The staff are brilliant and the location couldnt really be any better (a five minute walk from a beautiful beach) and we got eveything we could possibly want from this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franchesca89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Property: The Orchid Hotel
Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has almost completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. 90% of the refurbishment has now been completed with the last phase being our new restaurant which we aim to have open by this Summer, offering informal elegant dining emphasising on simplicity with great food and service. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing