We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living up to its stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have often found 4-star hotels to be lacking in quality of food, service or just basic friendliness. We stayed during what must be one of the busiest times for the hotel (the Air Festival) but this did not appear to affect service in any way. All the staff were helpful and food was of a high quality (especially the scrambled egg!). I am a wheelchair user but the entrance lift was perfectly adequate (see a previous review) and we were allocated a very spacious sea-view room, with plenty of room for manoevre. All in all, a delightful stay and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WheelchairUser527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to put feedback on the forum, I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay, as you have righlty pointed out we have stunning views of the sea and the purbecks which enable you to sit outside and relax.

Please be assured the team will be given your feedback, Thank you once again for taking the time to place your feedback

Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Staff- Very friendly and helpful, both night and day
Room- I did a research on all beachfront hotels, and concluded the rooms and lounge areas were second to none, very clean, exceptional deco and lighting.
Service- Exceptional, especially the fresh coffee, I loved the double expresso, it was prepared on standard to Cafe Nero.
Views- the terrace was amazing both for the airshow and tea area with exceptional views.e extent did not require lunch, their standard coffee was in contest with starbucks.!!
Food- Had breakfast, very good to the extent did not have lunch coz I was so full up, to their standard coffee was in contest to Starbucks!!
Convinience- To get to the beach it just took a bear walk to the lift to the beach!! amazing and we went to the Pier kids had a rides..back for sitting in the relaxing lounge area, very convinient, Free Internet use
Access- as was using pram often, acess was convinient.
Lounge Areas- amazing with newspapers and two huge TVS.

Room Tip: Room- I did a research on all beachfront hotels, and concluded the rooms at Menzies E Cliff, lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabojuttla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear Guest,
My sincere thanks for taking the time to complete a review on trip advisor. The team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Yours Sincerely
Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I took our respective parents and son to this wonderful Hotel to view the airshow and enjoyed the buffet and afternoon tea package - it was fantastic, the views from the Eastcliff Terrace are second to none and all the staff were exceptional, food and presentation was superb, we will definitely go back again and hope to take accommodation as well next time as its well worth staying over for the evening entertainment provided by the airshow.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear Guest,
My sincere thanks for taking the time to complete a review on trip advisor. The team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Yours Sincerely
Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor prior to our stay, we were initially concerned as we were booked in for a week. However, upon arrival we realised we had nothing to be concerned about. All staff were friendly, including reception, bar staff and restaurant staff especially Marriana who couldn't do enough for us. Food was excellent - obviously an excellent chef running the kitchen! We were lucky enough to be there for the air show and there were lots of chairs put out on the terrace in anticipation of this. Our bedroom was on the second floor and it was fresh, airy, modern, clean and very comfortable. We were also given fresh water and clean glasses everyday. Again, reading previous reviews we thought this would be where we may find fault, but everything was brilliant. All staff were very approachable and friendly causing a great atmosphere in the hotel. We will definitely be visiting again!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soot_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear Guest,
My sincere thanks for taking the time to complete a review on trip advisor. The team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Yours Sincerely
Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

A traditional English sea-side hotel in an excellent location; panoramic cliff top sea views and close to the cliffside lift down to the beach and promenade. I came with my parents to give them a break - my father is a wheelchair user and my mother acts as carer. My father's disability means he is occasionally cranky and difficult.

The staff here are outstanding; the restaurant staff were unfailing polite and charming - the team that cleans the rooms does a great job. The food was excellent. I am writing this review because I think they deserve recognition. I guess the management of this hotel is exceptional because of the consistency of the service experience across all parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear Guest,
My sincere thanks for taking the time to complete a review on trip advisor. The team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Yours Sincerely
Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed for one night and it was ideal for us. Great location, friendly staff and fantastic views.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear Guest,
My sincere thanks for taking the time to complete a review on trip advisor. The team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Yours Sincerely
Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We found the reception staff friendly and helpful, yet slightly chaotic. We had to ask for someone to help us with the large amount of luggage we had. The front entrance to the hotel is not very easy for disabled people to manage, a ramp would be easier. The room with sea view and balcony was excellent, the room with sea view, 1107, was fine although the shower water took ages to heat up and then another age to leave the bath as there was no knob to work the plug hole. The location was fine with fantastic views over the bay. The staff were all very friendly,helpful and polite. Food was good especially the breakfast with lots of choice suitable for different diets and tastes. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would almost certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186403Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear Guest,
My sincere thanks for taking the time to complete a review on trip advisor. The team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Yours Sincerely
Paul Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
1.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AW, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £41 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views and a bright and modern interior. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing