We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed her for a long weekend and the beginning of August. When I checked in I was offered an upgrade to a suite at about £20.00 a night which I accepted and what a treat it was. Very compact but had great spaces and excellent views. Its about a 20 minute walk to the town but you'll be glad of it at night when your trying to sleep as there location is nice and quiet. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was very clean.

Room Tip: Ask about upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked the sea view superior room with balcony and although was a bit pricey, was worth every penny for the beautiful views and spacious room. We were situated in the middle of the flying line for the air show and when comparing our location to that of other hotels i looked at, we both agreed this is the best located hotel for the airshow. Room was very big, very clean and modern. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast full of choice (had cooked English breakfast one morning and then maple waffles next day) Room service food not too impressed with, very standard. Big bonus is the free parking and free wifi they offer as well as the sweeties in the room. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: go for one with a seaview and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cherly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Ok, firstly let me say that I don't usually write hotel reviews, however in this instance i feel that I must make an exception. 

I booked This hotel late last Wed for 3 nights,  in order for myself, wife and 16 year old son to see the Bournemouth Air Show. Check in was quick, easy and totally hassle free. Our room, a recently refurbished double with an additional bed, was clean, tidy and well stocked with little touches such as complementary water (still and sparkling) bath robes, sweets and the usual other toiletries. 

Being lucky in having a front facing sea view room with opening patio doors, we had a grandstand view of all the activities on show, whilst relaxing away from the crowds down below.  Top this with the fact that by chance, the Red Arrows display team were also staying at the hotel my son was in his element!

The staff at the hotel were in my opinion beyond helpful. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. You only had to ask once and they were there to help. In fact one member of the dining room team who had carried our coffee all the way up to our room asked if she could collect my shirt, which had gotten dirty during dinner, so it could be laundered.

Food. This is where the 4 star rating really showed. The evening dinner was of a high quality, was very well prepared well presented and obviously used fresh ingredients. Very very much above average in my view. The buffet breakfast was the same. Only enough food was brought out at any one time so as to keep it fresh but we didn't have to wait. There was plenty of choice (even two types of bacon and sausage!) as well as kippers and others that could be ordered direct from the kitchen.

Apart from all the above is the fact that the hotel seems to include lots of little touches that just seem to make all the difference in making you feel a bid special. I wish other hotels would follow this lead.

So finally our congratulations go to General Manager Paul Clarke and his whole team for giving us a few days away that we will remember for a long time. We will certainly be returning again and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others

S Weston, Rugby

Room Tip: Choose a sea view if possible and always ask for a price deal. If possible the hotel will always try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband booked two rooms in this hotel for a two day stay over the bank holiday weekend for ourselves and my son ans his girlfriend. He booked a seaview room for us and a standard double room for my son through Easytobook.com. I was a little worried after reading the reviews that the booking would not have been recieved, so I telephoned the hotel direct a few days prior to our stay. I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel did have our booking, although they did not have the fact the one of the rooms should have been a seaview. Luckily that was rectified immediately and we were able to book in promptly on our arrival.
The rooms were adequate although the standard double was very small, you really could not swing a cat in it. The seaview room was much bigger with a balcony looking out to sea. I did expect the balcony to be one that you can sit out on enjoying a glass of red, but it was very small with two plastic chairs that just about fit.
The overall look of the hotel was fine, although the bar area could do with a bit of TLC. The paint work and floor was a bit scuffed and the side of the bar had drink stains down it that had clearly been there for a while. The chairs in the bar and the bedroom also had stains on them.
I must say all of the staff were very polite and attentive, particularly the girl who checked us in on arrival. I would return to East Cliff Court - but definately recommend a seaview room. Oh and free wifi and parking is a nice touch...

Room Tip: Definitely a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank payre001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Room very clean, good size. Breakfast choice very good and lovely atmosphere. No complaints. Overlooks the sea. A good place for a getaway to Bournemouth. Only one comment to make though not a negative is that it is not right on the sea, so no beach, and not right by the pier. Need to walk or get a cable car down.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

With a great view over Bournemouth Bay from our third floor room, we were able to see the August Bank holiday storms approaching over the distant Purbeck Hills. The room itself was light and airy, with a good size bathroom. And pleasingly quiet, with a comfortable bed just made for good nights sleep - something not always associated with central Bournemouth hotels. Very high housekeeping standards reflect this pride in a well established hotel.

Being situated on the East Cliff, this hotel is near to the facilities, and yet just removed enough to have a peaceful location. Even through the storms, the view from the hotel was fascinating, and the fireworks just below in the bay, added to this.
Great for couples and children, the East Cliff court hotel is a real find; its Art deco frontage belies the modern interior, although the restaurant has a very pleasing Edwardian feel to it . The dining room & drinks staff were excellent and well managed; the menu is not extensive but all the better for that. The food was fresh ,well prepared and presented & so good we invited some friends in to join us. A lovely mellow night - just friends / excellent food & wine and time / atmosphere enabling us to take our time and talk - at least until the fireworks started.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherriesfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed here with high hopes but found the room to be very, very average. No air conditioning. Stayed on bed and breakfast basis and unfortunately on the first day breakfast was traumatic as everything seemed to be running out and people were left looking at each other, some just left. It was really a poor show. The second day was much better and the lady in charge of breakfast had the team working well, even found all items well stocked and she was really attentive and warm with all the guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yogi247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AW, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £35 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views and a bright and modern interior. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing