We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Group Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Group Visit”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I recently took a group of 46 people to the two Menzies hotels in B'mouth.I found the staff to be the friendliest I've ever met ,so many of my group made a point of telling me how great the staff were,nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were excellent and the facilities at the Carlton left nothing to be desired. This has to be the best value for money break that we've ever enjoyed!
Suffice to say that many of my group are pressing me to re-book another break at these hotels.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room , if you go out of high season youll probably get a good rate and its wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    394
    169
    62
    42
See reviews for
248
484
35
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights over the Easter holidays. Our family room was large and spacious and we had been upgraded to a sea view room which meant we were able to enjoy sweeping views across the bay and to have the sound of crashing waves lulling us to sleep! This upgrade was a nice gesture which was very much appreciated. Our room was clean and generous provisions of hot chocolate, biscuits, sweets and fresh soft towels were provided. One of the children's beds was a large double sofa bed (more than we expected) and the other a z bed.
Breakfasts were good.. with ample choice provided. All staff were very sweet and helpful.

Our only quibble was that the only available standard sized sockets were behind a heavy chest of drawers on which the television stood....and one of these had the tv plugged into it. It was therefore a bit of a palava trying to boil the kettle or to charge our various mobility phones.

Be careful not to confuse this hotel with the Menzies Carlton. Names are very similar and the hotels are right next to each other. We were able to enjoy the facilities (swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi) of the sister hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlustgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My boyfriend took me here as a surprise weekend away, this hotel was amazing, he got the room on a deal, otherwise would have been very expensive but our room was amazing with stunning sea views from both of our balcony's! Service was great, rooms and communal areas were exceptionally clean! Location was brilliant, right on the sea front and a short walk to the shops, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel, we couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Got a great deal to stay here so can't complain too much.
However, it was not what i'd expect from a 4 star hotel.
Our room had obviously been upgraded but nothing quite worked - doors clashed with furniture, the bathroom door stop meant you almost had to go in sideways and where it had been modified the light when on is straight onto the bed - a little inconvenient at night.
Disappointed with dinner but breakfast (other than awful juice except from the bottles) was great, so maybe we were unlucky.
Nothing drastic, but nothing great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimboTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, I was delighted that you felt the general hospitality and food was great but disappointed to read that you felt the room needed upgrading.I do know the room you are refering to and I can confirm that all the paint work has been done this week, and we have upgraded the cushions and given the room a general spruce up, when the weather is consistenlty better we will also be painting the balcony.We all look forward to welcoming you back, when you do please contact me direclty on paul.clarke@menzieshotels.com , kind regards Paul Clarke, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel and really friendly staff which makes a real difference. We booked a family room and unlike many hotels actually had a large suite that easil slept 4. Yes you could say hotel is a little tired, but then what do you expect from a seaside hotel. Food was very good and great value. Staff seem to be really focused on service and it makes a massive difference. Good location for exploring Bournemouth. All in all well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leenealem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I'm a little surprised by some of the rave reviews of this hotel. We stayed here over the Easter weekend on Friday and Saturday nights, we chose it for the sea views really and because the Menzies chain is usually pretty good. The hotel is a little tired and the 'superior' double with sea view and balcony we stayed in definitely needs refurbishing. The curtains, carpets and bedding were all a bit shabby. The walls are pretty thin, we could easily hear conversations in the next room along with the sound of peeing! The balcony was in need of a paint job and not inviting at all, the view was stunning though.

On a positive note the service was great, the hotel is staffed with young, friendly and helpful people and the food is surprising good. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on the Friday night, lovely service, good food and a great piano player. Breakfast was equally as good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Many thanks for putting feedback on trip advisor, I was sorry that you had challenges with the room which was one of 38 we refubished last year, there are some smaller double rooms which you may of had, I am unable to determine which one you stayed in so if you are able too advise that would be very helpful.I was also sorry to read that you had a bad dining experience as well, apologies for this.If you do have time spare please email me at paul.clarke@menzieshotels.co.uk your contact details so that i can call you at a convenient time to discuss further.Kind regards Paul CLarke, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Booked a BIG O Party for 33 here, lunch and afternoon tea. Compared 4 similar hotels, most impressed with Event Manager Amy's approach. The party was really well organised, the head waiter actually suggested he switch off the backround music before speeches rather than having to be told. Food first class. Pool for bored kids plus the beach.

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank edhighnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views, a bright, modern interior and four star facilities. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Lastminute, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing