We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
leicester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warm welcome.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

A warm welcome from staff with a free upgrade to a sea view room. Clean, warm and with all the extras you need. Very good breakfast with a vast selection of fruit, cereals, breads etc. a male stag party also at the hotel, although not a problem I am not sure appropriate for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaineLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    378
    158
    59
    37
See reviews for
232
457
33
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at the above hotel form the 14th May for 2 nights. Our room was newly refurbished , very clean and overlooking the sea.
The staff and the service of this hotel are excellent.
The breakfast and dinner which we had there were brilliant.
We are usually very critical when we stay in hotels but with this hotel, we cannot fault anything.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshua37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Was fortunate to stay at the Hotel for the Police Federation Conference after the initial hotel we were supposed to be at went into administration! Excellent hotel and very nice room. Again fortunate to get an upgrade which added to the enjoyment and was a nice surprise. The bedroom was clean and spotless. Very nice. Staff were good and friendly and good ambassadors for Menzies . Breakfast was good, as were the evning meals. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcplod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here recently and really impressed with the general feel of the hotel as soon as you walk in. The staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful - not to be taken for granted and the downfall of many hotels! We had a fab sea view and on a day when it poured, shone, poured then shone the sunset was not to be missed! Great location, we had a lovely walk along the seafront and into town another day. Breakfast was plentiful, good quality and delicious - again, the staff were exemplary. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyELodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire, uk
Level Contributor
132 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed here as my usual hotels were full because of the police conference.

The location is OK, a bit out of town but not too bad. The view from my superior room was good and when you entered the hotel the reception area was fine and efficient. The staff in bar, particularly the Spanish girl, were really helpful and cheerful. Good WiFi was free.

However the restaurant had terrible food, a pretentious menu and truly abysmal service. My room (a superior) was small with poor quality furniture and no reasonable working space. The bathroom was very basic and had limited amenities and was definitely inferior to a rent a room chain. I dread to think what a standard room was like.

In summary good bar with a dreadful restaurant and poor rooms attached. Certainly won't be back.

It was also astonishingly expensive- presumably because the conference made rooms scarce

Room Tip: Another hotel- otherwise make sure it is at least a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
507 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed here on business for one night. A £100 per night it's pricey but my room was okay. The bath robe, trouser press and iron & board were very welcome features. The room was clean and contemporary but bedside lamps would have been good. I slept well but the bathroom was basic and needed refurbishment. The main public areas were nicely decorated and reception good but dinner in the restaurant was a disaster. The maitre'd is so unfriendly and treated the charming and excellent, mainly Spanish, staff atrociously. The curtains were closed even though it was light outside and the music dreadful. The food was okay.

I would stay in this hotel but would strongly suggest eating elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for the feedback, I do know who you are and that you stayed in room 2202 which in my opinion is a very nice side sea facing room and i have to say i disagree with your comment that the bathroom needs decorating, i have double checked today and it is fine.I have spoken to the employee concerned about your dining experience and they have indicated the main issue with your experience was you wanted to mix and match the menus which was misunderstood, but resolved for you.Refering to the comments about the way the manager treated the staff again i have spoken to the individual and he was shocked at your comments, given that he was taking to you all evening.He is and always has been a very well respected long serving manager which staff enjoy working with and generally has great feedback from all guests.If you wish to discuss further then please contact me at the hotel.Please let me know when you return and I would be delighted to meet you in person.Kind regards, Paul Clarke General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We booked via a web based deal, for 2 nights, B&B and thought it sounded luxurious.
It wasn't, unfortunately for us, we got a small room, side window, with a chair that had a nasty looking stain on it...........
The bathroom was dated & in need of updating, apart from that the staff were helpful. We did ask to change rooms, but were told they were full, strange as breakfast was very quiet, but we did enjoy this!
Parking is available if you get there early.
Great views onto the sea, from the front.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views, a bright, modern interior and four star facilities. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing