We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best British hotel we've stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best British hotel we've stayed in.”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at the East Cliff. My wife had recently come out of a lengthy stay in hospital, so it was to be a recuperation break for her and myself. My Wife was still on crutches so getting around was a little bit difficult.

The staff could not have been more helpful from the receptionists(Alex and Robert) to the restaurant staff (Virginia ,Maria, Miriam, Ya Ya, Charlotte, Lorena, juan Carlos and Isa) to Malcom the maintenance man. All had a smile and a chat.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the room was always made up upon our return.

Our bedroom was large and airy with sea view and balcony. A king sized bed, tea and coffee making facilities and also an iron and ironing board.Views were spectacular in all directions.

The restaurant was run very well with a good choice of dishes. We did not experience the breakfast buffet as we had a cooked breakfast in the room but other guests were very happy with it.

We would like to thank Paul the General Manager together with Natasha and David for making us feel so welcome.
We have already made a booking for a break in November.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    394
    169
    62
    42
See reviews for
249
484
35
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

just come back from a memorable two night break with extended family to celebrate cousin's 40th birthday. The hotel location is great and the rooms were clean, spacious and tidy.

Dinner in particular deserves a mention. We were allocated a function room over looking the sea which was ideal as there was plenty of room for the children to move around and not get bored which was particularly important to us given that my son has autism and can not sit still for too long a period. The staff were patient, freindly and understanding and the serive was prompt and food excellent. We all enjoyed ourselves very much and are already planning a return trip the following year!

Room Tip: worth paying the extra to get a sea view rooms with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for one night as we were attending concert at the BIC. Therefore did not see/use much of the facilities. Very happy with what we did see, we only booked a standard room, which was of a good size. The only problem I had was with the bath.shower taps, they were so stiff I had to get my husband to switch them on and off, I can see older people having a real problem with this. The public rooms and the bedroom were very clean and modern, maybe the bathroom could have done with a refit.
The breakfast was yummy, they were very good at replenishing the breakfast buffet, so it was always fresh and hot. We must have stayed on the most humid night so far this year, as we were on a high floor on the side of the hotel, the windows do not open very far, it was very hot and uncomfortable because of the heat, had we been staying more than 1 night I would have to have asked if they had fans available. I can see this being a problem on hot nights. I would recommend this hotel and would use it again myself when we return to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just returned from a 5 day stay here with a group. Good location, comfortable lounges, refurbished bedrooms and excellent service. The food was excellent especially the breakfast. If you are looking for a first class hotel in Bournemouth then look no further than the East Cliff Court

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWestTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Just had the pleasure of staying in the Menzies East Cliff.

The sea view room was fantastic offering great views over the coastline. Really great to wake up and have a coffee on the balcony.

All the staff were extremely helpful,polite and friendly.

Also the breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel. The selection, choice and quality was second to none. I would recommend that guests venture down to the restaurant for breakfast as having it in your room really doesn't do it justice.

The location is also great, very close to town and to the beach. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staines251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Hotel was clean and tidy, a very comfortable large bed. View from bar and bedroom was amazing, bar a bit expensive but free bowl of nibbles, staff friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was very nice but cooked breakfast was cold. Good car park, pool looked dirty.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one with sea view and balcony to make your stay perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here as part of a walking holiday, arrived dripping wet and decidedly dishevelled to find friendly and welcoming staff - huge room with enormous luxuriously comfy bed (although after walking 16 miles in the rain anywhere dry would have been luxury). this hotel has fantastic views of the sea and only a 10 minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth. Breakfast was excellent, good choice of kippers etc. as well as the usual bacon and eggs. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzybythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,417 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views, a bright, modern interior and four star facilities. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing