We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend away with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked for a weekend away with friends, Friday-Sunday. The price we secured was with breakfast and one evening meal.

The breakfast was a buffet, cooked, continental as well as being able to order omelette and poached eggs as cook to order items.

The breakfast could not be faulted, plentiful, tasty, all in a relaxed atmosphere. The room we had was lovely and spacious, a comfortable bed, and although the view was not of the sea it did not spoil it for us.

The friends we went with had a slightly smaller room, but again very comfortable with all you needed.

The meal was a 3 course was excellent, there was a selection of approx. 5 items for each starter, main and pudding. The only niggling thing was only one veggie selection, which could be a problem for some dinners.

The only real negative thing was the Wifi, they said it was included throughout the hotel, but the signal more often than not dropped out. 3G was a far faster bet, in peak season I can imagine this would be even worse.

Great location for both Boscombe and Bournemouth. There are also plenty of bars and eateries about a 10 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Visiting our son we came back to East Cliff. It is in a great location easy to walk to town, and back. We enjoyed a sea view from our room.Nice bar area to sit in during the evening. Breakfast enjoyable as ever.
Staff helpful and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Sea view definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaz038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed Sunday 9th Feb for one night dinner bed and breakfast offer for a treat for my mums birthday. We experienced an excellent reception service, free upgrade to balcony /sea views. Dinner was superb and breakfast was served with attention to detail. They all pulled out all stops to give my Mum a good start to her birthday. They allowed us to decorate the table, cared for flowers that had arrived a day before to be placed on her table at breakfast. Even the reception guy looked out for me to ask if the room was acceptable. The room was spacious clean a bathroom perfect. We had a quiet Sunday evening perfect for what we needed. ( aware busy hotel the evening before). In all a great offer, great food, lovely hotel guests very friendly. As well as staff that were warm and welcoming,I would return and I certainly would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room make a difference to the overall holiday break experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nightnursekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We, 94 of us, just spent the weekend at this hotel and it was excellent. The food was very good, the hotel was very clean, there is ample free parking.
The manager, Paul Clarke was extremely professional, all of the staff were excellent and very attentive, in particular David, Lorena, Victoria and Natasha were outstanding.
We will definitely go there again.
Thanks very much, it was a very nice experience.
Steve Lee

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Eastcliff Court hotel mid week with our 7 month old baby. I'd called then directly when trying to book as I was unsure whether we needed a family room or not as this was our first trip with our daughter. The nice lady advised me I could get a sea view double for about the same price as a family room as I was bringing a travel cot anyway. Room was great- big and with a brilliant view and balcony- I was well pleased I called them! Staff were really friendly and didn't mind us feeding our very greedy baby from their breakfast buffet at no extra cost! Also got a lovely back massage at the Carlton next door with 10% off. Will definitely stay there again when we hopefully go back to Bournemouth one summer

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Rachelsmith84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel has been recently renovated and the rooms are spotless. Staff is friendly and will look after you. The restaurant food is average but ideal if you don't want to face the stormy weather outside. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: 2209 - good size room. However, this is not seaside view. Not that you need it in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyBB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

As a toastmaster I work at many hotels and venues around Bournemouth and I have to say that this hotel is one of the hotels I recommend if asked to do so by a potential client. Paul the manager and all the staff do all they can to make the guests stay as enjoyable as possible.if you are looking for a venue in Bournemouth for a function do include this one on your list. Contact Amy the functions manager or any of the management to get more information.

Room Tip: Book early to get the dates you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keyboardbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AW, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £36 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views and a bright and modern interior. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing