We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming English Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed here for one night on a business trip and found it comfortable although some of the bathroom fixtures and fittings do need updating. My room, the Oak Suite, was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent although some black pudding with my friend breakfast would have enhanced it. Will stay here again as the location was superb for the conference centre. Do walk along the road to see the Red Arrow memorial to a pilot tragically killed a few years ago. It is amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

me and my wife had a short break at the menzies and had a very time there the hotel is only about 5 to 10 mins walk from the bars and restaurants , and only 5to 10 mins from the pier , the bar in the hotel is a bit expensive compare to the bars about £11.50 for 2 drinks but saying that ok for the last drink of the night , our room was very clean ,it had tea and coffee, satellite TV and a very nice bathroom ,breakfast was good staff very helpful would go there again, all in all would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammertime952019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is good, rooms are nice, breakfast is good but could start earlier for business use. Staff really friendly, I've stayed 3 weeks in a row, sad I can't get in next week! Will definitely stay again. It's overlooking beach and close enough to walk into town to find somewhere to eat.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank PeteCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We arrived very early, as the weather was splendid, and we wanted to get our bearings. The receptionist, a young man was very bright and helpful, but the hotel had been full the day before, and so our room would not be ready before 3pm. Whilst I was not expecting a 10am check in I like others was surprised that a hotel of this size was offering 3pm.
However, it was a nice day so we walked into Bournemouth via the beach promenade - The hotel is quite close to the zig-zag path down to the beach level, and in season and if operating would have been handy for the funicular. After killing a suitable amount of time exploring in both directions and having lunch - we returned to be checked in. Our room on the 2nd floor towards the back of the hotel, did have an angle that looked towards the sea, so that was nice - the room was small but functional, and the addition of the bowl of small rock sweets was cool. The bathroom at first glance was clean and spacious, although a closer inspection revealed it was ageing, and the shower was not as refreshing as it once would have been. We didn't have the breakfast option as we thought it expensive, so cannot rate the restaurant at all.
Overall, it was okay, and I would stay there again for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Our room at the back was at the end of the corridor, and so we had no footfall or doors slaming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannafp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest, thankyou for taking the time to complete feedback for future guests to read.There are every few hotels that offer check in earlier than 3pm.We find that a lot of guests arrive early especially if the sun is shining and we will gladly store luggage so they can get to the beach!.Many thanks for the feedback Paul Clarke, General Manager.Remember to get the exact room you require at the best price I always recommend to phone us direct on 01202 554545 or email me at paul.clarke@menzieshotels.co.uk. so we can ensure you have a great experience of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Uniformly excellent staff and a very spacious room with a stunniing sea view made this a most enjoyable overnight stay. Although the decor in parts was a little tired, everywhere appeared clean. The spacious dining room and lounge gave a relaxed atmosphere. Dinner was good with a small but well balanced menu. Service and the food was good. The breakfast buffet was adequate without being lavish, the coffee excellent. Although perhaps not the Grand hotel it once was it represents good value for money, particularly if on a deal. The indoor pool. jacuzzi and sauna were fine if on the compact side. The weather was a bit chilly to make use of the outdoor pool with its pretty surrounds.

Room Tip: Sea view worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We arrived at 12.30 pm ,very pleasant and welcoming young lady on reception,we were told the room would not be ready till 3pm,which I felt was a bit late, one would expect from 2pm at least,but it was a gorgeous day so we went off and had a picnic then enjoyed a sit on the lovely terrace at the front of the hotel,lovely seaview.We were pleased with the room ,large with a seaview ,only downside it had a communicating door so it was not exactly soundproof so heard the next door occupants come in and chat at 1am in the morning.Three course dinner was quite good ,hot and nicely presented.You could have coffee served in the lounge afterwards.all the staff were very friendly and efficient,we would return again.

Room Tip: Worth having a seaview ,ask for room with no communicating door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdevans08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback. The team and I were pleased to read that you had a great time. We always guarantee rooms from 3pm but generally they are ready much earlier than that when allowing guests check in earlier than expected. There are a few rooms that are interconnecting which are great for families but on occasion do allow noise to travel. We all look forward to welcoming you back, kind regards Paul Clarke, General Manager.

We always recommend guests contact us directly on 01202 554545 or email me paul.clarke@menzieshotels.co.uk to guarantee the best price and always ensure they get the room that best suits their requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

On arrival, we were met by a very friendly receptionist, however, it was clear that we were not booked in, when he looked at our conformation info he then only booked us in for one night not two. For which he apologised. The room was very small and cramped. After unpacking and getting settled, the loo would not flush, (no water in the system). We were told it had been repaired on our return from a walk, however, after testing it, it was not to be. We were then told how to flush the loo , after explaining, we were moved to another room. A family room and a big improvement. The evening meal was very nice, staff friendly and helpful. A good choice and hearty breakfast was ad and set us up for the day.
The hotel was right on the beach front and stunning views. Would stay again and love to go back soon

Room Tip: Family room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasvegas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback. I am sorry for what happened initially but I was delighted that the team listened to your feedback during your stay and rectified the issues and also moved you to another room which you were happy with. Hotels on occasion do get it wrong and its important that they put their hands up (which we always will), what’s more important is how they deal with the issue resulting in a happy customer which will return, which i am pleased you will be. Many thanks for the feedback and we all look forward to your return visit. Paul Clarke, General Manager

We always recommend guests contact us directly on 01202 554545 or email me on paul.clarke@menzieshotels.co.uk to guarantee the best price and always ensure they get the room that best suits their requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.9 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AW, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £47 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views and a bright and modern interior. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing