We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel in ideal location. Restaurant experience disappointing.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel in ideal location. Restaurant experience disappointing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Menzies East Cliff Court in the middle of May.

The room, number 3305, was large, comfortable and well-appointed. It offered views over the beach and the pier. The bar/lounge area, overlooking the swimming pool, was elegant and relaxing. The reception staff were helpful and efficient. The hotel is situated very near a path to the beach and at an easy 10 minutes'walk to the pier.

We had booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast was buffet-style and included a full range of the usual hot dishes as well as cereals, fruit, yoghourts, etc.

For the first 2 nights, we ate in the dining-room. We found the food of a generally unsatisfactory quality (especially the tough roast beef with dry yorkshire pudding). A number of waiters were present but there seemed to be a lack of organisation. Part of the problem stemmed from the fact that most of the staff had only a limited command of English and some seemed unfamiliar with the requirements of service in a dining-room of a four star hotel.

We spoke with the Manager and asked for our 3rd night to be changed to bed and breakfast only. The Manager was helpful and accepted our criticisms.

We would be happy to stay at the Menzies East Cliff Court again, but ONLY on a Bed and Breakfast basis.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    367
    154
    57
    37
See reviews for
223
444
33
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We parked in the car park round the back of the hotel, slightly annoyed about the car park payment signs, and walked round to reception. Up a few steps and into reception, where amongst other things we found the car park was free for residents. Phew! The receptionist was very friendly and soon had us checked in.

Then up more steps down some steps, up some steps, down some steps (I lost track!) till we got to our room at the back of the hotel. The room looked like it had been recently refurbished with everything bright and shiny. On a round table there was a sweet little pot of miniature seaside rocks. Sadly I had to move it to put our suitcase on the table as there simply was nowhere else for it.

The bathroom wasn’t as nice and shiny while yet remaining clean. The light switches were curiously upside down, like the electrician was an American? The real issue though was the fixed low-pressure shower over the bath which went down to a dribble next morning, presumably during peak water use.

Back to the room, the TV was good, bright, clear with loads of channels. The bed very comfortable too’ helping towards a good night’s sleep.

The corridor with its ups and downs looks in need or renovation, particularly new carpets and moving the hand rails to the same consistent side as you go up and down the multitude of steps.

Breakfast was in the restaurant down a few (yet more) steps from reception and was a clear indication of this being a holiday hotel rather than a business hotel. The buffet wasn’t stocked quickly enough and was more limited over the range than expected. None-the-less it remained very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We came here as a seaside base for our elder son's 30th birthday party. The hotel's location is excellent with panoramic sea views from high up on the cliffs. It is a 10 minute walk to the centre of Bournemouth and about 5 minutes down the cliff path to the huge sandy beach. We booked three double sea view rooms with balconies, all of which were large, clean and comfortable. En suite facilities were very good. The hotel has a heated outdoor pool but the indoor facilities are in the neighbouring Carlton Hotel (2 minute walk). The indoor pool is quite small but very warm (as is the jacuzzi). Our only real niggle was the quality of the food which ranged from very good to mediocre. Breakfast was lacklustre with limited choice of fresh fruit and over greasy cooked offerings. Some aspects of dinner were great but chef certainly struggled when cooking steaks to order. Staff were generally friendly and professional. Overall we enjoyed our weekend break and would be happy to visit again in future.

Room Tip: Sea view balcony rooms are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just had food and coffee here- lovely and peaceful. Great views of the sea. Helpful staff. Lovely biscuits. Spacious sitting areas which allow privacy. Great location on cliff top. Restaurant looks very appealing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have been coming to Bournemouth since I was little girl and for the last 12 years we have stayed in this truly lovely hotel! During our recent stay, once again, we found the staff really helpful and as always, they cannot do enough for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our few days. The food is always good but was excellent during this stay. We always try to ask for the same few rooms, which are all wonderful, large, airy and with fabulous sea views and balconies. Our sincere thanks again go to Paul Clarke and all his team.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-SP-Imagery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our bank-holiday break was spoilt by the surly and unhelpful staff, a late 3pm check-in and not being informed of the late 8am breakfast. Whilst the room was pleasant with a comfy bed and tranquil seaview, the lack of interest staff showed in their guest was disappointing and not what I expect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sonia, I am sorry that you did not have a great experience, on our website and booking confirmation we advise the latest check in time is 3pm.We had a request asking for an early check in of 12.30 which if we are able to will always help with access, this is always dependant on the guests checking out doing so by 11am.When guests arrive they are given a key card which summarises breakfast times, during the weekend you stayed we put additional signs up as we actually extended the opening times until 10.45 all weekend. Referring to the staff I’m amazed that everyone you encountered over your three night stay was not showing you great service. As you will see by other reviews from guests who stayed over the weekend generally everyone was very happy. I am sorry that you did not experience the same service and that you were unable to tell either myself or any of the management team who were here that weekend so we could do something about it.. Paul Clarke General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Arrived early evening and was greeted by friendly receptionist. On recommendation by someone on this site, requested no intercommunicating door when booking. Given room 3304 and there was an intercommunicating door. Receptionist changed room for us to 3306. Excellent room, larger than 3304 and outside door to give room 3306 and 3307 privacy. First night wonderfully quiet. Second night, unfortunately guests from a wedding at hotel decided at 11.30p.m. to have a party of their own to continue wedding. This went on till about 1a.m., by which time I was deciding whether to contact reception or not to ask them to keep it down. Luckily, the other people in the room decided to leave, so leaving us to sleep peacefully. However, the guest in the room was an early riser and obviously liked slamming doors. Maybe we would have been better off with room 3304 after all! Ironic. Hotel itself was clean, and well maintained. Our room was fine, although shower not perfect for O.H. but fine for me. No pleasing everyone. Breakfast was passable. Thought coffee could have been hotter, but food itself very pleasing. I would use this hotel again, as good position for all amenities, and far enough away from main centre not to be noisy. At night, walking to and from centre of town for restaurants, felt safe walking.

Room Tip: Would have said no intercommunicating doors, but not sure after our trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views, a bright, modern interior and four star facilities. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark East Cliff hotel, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including free car parking for all residents is the ideal location for business or relaxing getaways and offers. The hotel offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing