We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for our Wedding reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for our Wedding reception”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My Wife and I were guests of the hotel on Saturday 31st May 2014. We hosted a wedding reception for 40 guests in the Ocean room, overlooking the bay which has its own private balcony. The food we ordered was delicious and of high quality. The staff could not do enough to help or make our day the best it could be.

Afterwards the evening reception moved downstairs, into the Garden Room with its access to the patio and pool area. The rooms, private bar and smaller function room were very good, and adequately accommodated our - odd guests.

Staying the night, the bed was extremely comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was included and was very nice, tastey and plentiful.

Room Tip: Excellent value and venue for a wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneynut1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    394
    169
    62
    42
See reviews for
248
484
35
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,016 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Went there for a wedding and the gig was good. Nibbles good at evening reception. A Clean place but oh goodness the price of the drinks. Twenty quid for a bottle of very average wine. You can do better in Bournemouth I am sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Menzies this week, and generally it was exactly what we needed. It's location is great for the beach and the city centre.
I would say that it does need a little tidying up in places. The bathrooms feel a little tired and the shower in our room certainly lacked power.
The bed was very comfortable, and the room was light and airy. All hotels like this, could easily improve the tea and coffee offerings, and the cooked breakfast, even at 9am felt like it had been standing around a bit.
However this said, the price was very acceptable, so I suppose you get what you pay for.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheSussexTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Have stayed in Bournemouth many times always choose Menzies East cliff when price compares well with other hotels in area.
Location close to town centre , lovely balcony area to sit overlooks outdoor pool area and the sea with views to Isle of Wight and old Harry rocks at swanage.
Hotel always found to be spotless beds really comfortable and hotel not too noisy.
all Food has been excellent , including the bar menu for teas , sandwiches and Scones.
Bar drinks can be pricey, however sadly this is usual for Bournemouth hotels.

Room Tip: See other room comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archiecambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Hello,
Me and my partner stayed here last Christmas 2013, and had a lovely stay. The weather wasn't great but we still had a brilliant time (being 8 months pregnant!)
We had a lovely sea view room, which was clean when entering, the staff were so friendly and quite often made small chat- which is nice.
The hotel did have alot of people staying there at the time for Xmas do's going on but that's separate from where we spent most evenings (at the bar- drinking diet coke!) partner enjoyed the beer, we also had a fantastic meal and the breakfasts are amazing, lots of choice and all tasty :)
We have already booked again to go in august!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ef1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at the East Cliff Court,The Hotel was very busy due to a wedding Reception and the powerboat events being held over last weekend, Even so all the staff were polite, helpful and friendly, Room excellent with a great sea view, Will be returning again later in the year.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It is a somewhat art deco building with lots of modern improvements inside, especially for the more mature guest. Our room was a good size, clean, comfortable and each shiny surface gleamed. Housekeeping was really good. The bathroom was equipped for people with disabilities, and although we don't need this ourselves, we could appreciate the thought that went into it. Bed was large and comfortable and we slept well here.
Whoever was in charge of the kitchen really knew their stuff and we had two evening meals impeccably cooked, beautifully presented, and a joy to eat - the best Eton Mess I've ever had! Waiting staff were attentive and professional. Breakfast was pretty good too, freshly cooked buffet and many other options .
Customer service is a priority here, everyone made us feel welcome, and nothing seemed too much trouble for them.
As you may gather, we really enjoyed our stay here and are already planning a return visit.
This hotel is very good value for money and we would definitely recommend a stay here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views, a bright, modern interior and four star facilities. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing