We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly tired older seafront hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this hotel many months in advance as we were attending a function in Bournemouth. Since I did not receive a booking confirmation, I emailed again requesting one. No reply. Once I called up I was promised one, but again, nothing arrived. On my second call someone finally sent the booking confirmation through.

The hotel does not have any grounds to speak of, but parking is available. The seafront location makes for great views, although you have to walk for a few minutes to find the access to the beach below.

Check-in was quick and no problem, and the rate was actually cheaper than we had booked. We were given a room on the mezanine floor. The room was pokey (although with a side view of the sea), no aircon (altough there was a fan), no fridge, and the bathroom door opened near the bed (and was made of non-clear glass), overall giving little privacy. The bathroom was tiny, definitly a one-person room. The toilet is so near the wall that you touch the toilet roll holder with your shoulder. There was only space for one person to stand between bath, toilet and sink. The bath was old with some mould (would not have a bath in there, barely alright for a shower). The shower had good pressure, but I could not turn it off - my husband had to help me. Little space for toiletries, especially around the sink. Towels were big and fluffy though.
I was disappointed as I would have expected more from a four star hotel, especially in the bathroom.
Breakfast is only served until 10 o'clock, which is a bit early for the weekend, when people may want to have a lie-in. We were told breakfast was served until 9.30, probably so that we would be out of there by 10. On the first morning we beat the rush, and had a pleasant service. Typical hot breakfast, with some cereal, toast, rolls and crosaints. On the second day we were part of the rush, and staff seemed to struggle. Things ran out, we had to ask several times for coffee and tea, and it took a long time to replensih those things that had run out.

Overall, neither breakfast nor room was four star, altough all the staff were lovely. We did not get to use the pool, which only had a few sun beds scattered around.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1X2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest many thanks for taking the time to put feedback on trip advisor, im sorry to you had to chase the confirmation for your stay.Referring to your room we have varying types of style and size and I would always recommend that guests speak to the hotel by phone or email me in person at paul.clarke@menzies-hotels.co.uk so i can deal with your reservation personally.Looking at our records there was no comment made when we did a courtesy check to your room otherwise we would of moved you.Breakfast is served until 10am each day of the summer holidays to ensure our guests can have a lie in and not rush.Around the pool we have twenty sun beds along with chairs that have proved adequate for our guests.

Thankyou for the feedback, Paul Clarke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Fantastic weather somewhat marred by our experience.
We booked through Booking.com, when we arrived the hotel had no knowledge of us and was full, which was a good start, although the receptionist promised to find us something at another 4 star hotel, which was fair enough, and fortunately or otherwise depending on your viewpoint they did dig up a room for us within the hotel. This room 2011 was pokey, and with an adjoining door to access next door which was obviously occupied, I say obviously because most of what the occupants said was clearly audible. They weren't overly noisy it was just the paper thin walls. There was no aircon although we did have a fan. The room was very warm indeed. The door into the bathroom fouled the wall inside and wouldn't open fully, bad news if you are horizontally challenged as you will not be getting into the bathroom. When sitting on the bog the toilet roll holder is so near you're rubbing shoulders with it. The bath had black mould at the joining of tile and bath, not a lot but clearly visible.
Due to these inconveniences we requested a room change the next morning and had two to choose from, so we picked the one we thought would suit to find that in the interim between inspection and collecting the key that someone had smoked in there! The room was deodorised while we were out for a few hours so we overcame that hurdle. I got the impression these rooms were reserved for punters who used the on line booking sites as they were all small and difficult to move around in without bumping into something. We paid £152 per night which we didn't object to on the assumption we would be staying in a 4* establishment and we kind of got the impression we weren't.
So for that money we did not get
Aircon
decent sized room
fridge
clean bathroom
wifi.
There is actually free wifi but I couldn't access it wherever I went.
On the positive side the staff I met are very friendly and helpful. Parking is free which seems unusual these days. Dinner was very good though the breakfast was a bit on the cool side and a typical help yourself scenario which I wouldn't expect from 4 star.
I don't normally write negative reviews, this is probably the second in over 140 so I don't do it lightly.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms facing the rear car park unless you are very small people.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bertthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for putting your feedback on trip advisor, firstly I would like to make it quite clear that we do not allocate rooms based on what channel a guest has booked, we do it based on the rate they are paying and the type of room required. I was sorry that we did not have your reservation but pleased that the team gave you a room which you describe as pokey room 2011, I would disagree yes the bathroom is small but the bedroom is newly refurbished with pleasant views. As with all hotels when there is humid weather it is hot unless there is air conditioning in rooms, we do not advertise that we have Air conditioning so as not to disappoint guests, we do though provide fans on request. You suggest you were expecting a fridge as well, we do provide these on request but not as standard and do not advertise that we do again to avoid disappointment. I am pleased however to advise that we are in the process of upgrading our WIFI as it is not perfect so future guests will benefit from this.Thankyou for the feedback Paul Clarke General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent 3 days in family room with sea view, 2 kids. Staff were helpful and really nice. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was clean and spacious with a balcony. The outdoor pool was heated which was brilliant! Really didn't have huge expectations when we booked but our expectations were certainly exceeded. Thank you east cliff staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ramtirath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a shirt break there and couldn't fault it at all, the rooms were big and modern Location is brilliant the views look like something from Portugal and all round we couldn't fault the hotel even the pool were warm! Only negative point was we had breakfast delivered to our room and they made a pigs ear out of it but was rectified will be going back next year

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamilton1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed in the ground floor pier family suite which was lovely and spacious . Lovely clean linen , comfy beds and well appointed bathroom. Downside was in very hot weather no a/c or room fridge though a fan was provided. The pool though dated and a little tired was wonderfully warm , and the hotel itself is just across from the beach . Free parking and free ice cream and juice for under 12s was an added bonus. We paid £304 for 2 nights B and B for 2 adults and a child which for August in Central Bournemouth in a 4star hotel was great value. Breakfast lovely and evening meal good value at £22 for 3 courses. Evening food service was a little haphazard ...ie on the first night our first choice of wine was unavailable and the replacement finally arrived as we finished our main courses, and the next night there was a shortage of menus so they were whisked away before ordering and we had to remember what we wanted when the waiter finally came to take the order. .....plus we were told dishes were unavailable to then find they weren't when ordering with a different waiter. Small inconveniences and overall a great value stay , we will need to return to the area and will have no hesitation in rebooking.

Room Tip: Ground floor pier suite lovely with partial sea view .
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed in the East Cliff for the 5th time in the last 18 months and we are very fussy people. Its become our second home. The reception always greet you with a warm smile. Our room on this occasion was 1105 a sea view with balcony. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. There was a small problem with the shower knob but that was rectified within the hour.
All the staff are courteous and friendly. Compliments to the assistant managers David, Roberts and of course Natasha. The General Manager Paul is very hands on and when he is in the lounge and sees a coffee cup or glass out of place, he will move it himself and not instruct someone else to do it. Its nice to see a Manger take such pride in his hotel. The restaurant staff are also very friendly and nothing is to much trouble. Can't wait to go again in September. Oh by the way. The weather was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Got here on an urgent business trip and so the hotel was better than my expectation. The room is nice and clean, lovely decoration and comfortable bedding. Only some minor points: no A/C and the windows are locked i.e. quite hot in summer, no toothpaste/brush, the single bed is a bit small even though the room is spacious. Not sure if this is because I had the dinner quite late and they had run out of ingredients, but the burger in the downstairs restaurant was quite terrible with only steak and cheese (no vegetables!) inside. Somehow it reminded me of McDonald's. Overall, I would have given a 4/5 star had the staff not looked so puzzled when I asked for an invoice. As stated above, I was on a business trip so this was fairly important.

Overall I would still recommend this hotel to those looking for a holiday nearby the Bournemouth sea. Despite all these problems, this is still a lovely hotel with very helpful and friendly staffs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.9 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AW, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £52 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views and a bright and modern interior. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing