We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

this hotel lives up to its four star rating ,the room we were given was a standard double and we had a sea view ,the room was large and the bed was huge every thing was in excellent order and very clean ,the bathroom was complete with a bath and a shower over soft white towels and lovely toiletries ,breakfast was very very good everything was fresh and well cooked .staff were very friendly and quick ,considering we paid £115.00 for b&b this hotel represents outstanding value for money,we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for completing a review on trip advisor, the team and I were delighted to read the feedback.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon

Yours Sincerely

Paul Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    403
    175
    66
    46
See reviews for
257
501
37
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I visited this hotel with my daughter to celebrate her birthday. We stayed in a standard bedroom, the bathroom was tiny and in need of refurbishment, the shower curtain hanging off the rail and the tiles in need of regrouting. The bedroom window had condensation running down it. The beds were comfortable and the room clean. My main issue with this hotel was the dinner offered on our second night. It was virtually inedible. David the assistant manager did refund the bottle of wine we had ordered but as it was supposed to be a birthday dinner this in no way compensated for the evening being spoilt. The decor in the dining room hotel felt like a return to the 50's, gloomy. The room number was 1111.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddmLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for completing feedback on your recent visit to the East Cliff Court.I was sorry to read that you felt your room was tired and your meal was not to your expectations, given that it was a birthday celebration.

Your feedback will be taken on board and discussed with the team.

If you do choose to return which we all very much hope you do please contact me personally when I will ensure you are given a nicer room at a reduced rate.

Yours Sincerely

Paul Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Decided to take the kids down to the sea for one night at very short notice. One of only hotels to still have space and they waived their minimum two night stay rule - both of which led me to worry that it wouldn't be good...

..but it was!

Public areas are very smart, staff friendly and helpful. Everything worked! Rooms a little bit "tired" but still clean, spacious and pleasant.

The breakfast was exceptionally good including a very fresh and attractively presented fruit selection. Cooked was good too.

Kids enjoyed the outdoor pool. You are entitled to use the indoor pool and other leisure facilities at their sister hotel next door. I didn't do this but it is literally just across the car park so I'm sure it's not an issue.

Location fine - high on a cliff - moments to the beach and a 10 minute walk to town centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting feedback on Trip Advisor, the team and I were delighted that you and your family had a great stay, especially as you booked last minute.

We will always try to be as flexible as possible with length of stays it is always good for guests to call us direct so that we can ensure you get the right rate based on your requirements, and in the right part of the hotel, we also have many different types of family rooms that are not available on most of the thrid party websites.

Yours Sincerely

Paul Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2010

excellent hotel, very friendly staff, good value for money, good english breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badcock6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for posting feedback on trip advisor, the team and I were delighted that you had a great stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future,

Yours Sincerely

Paul Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed at Menzies East Cliff Court in June and August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay on both occasions. The location is perfect with access to the beach via the cliff lifts just a stones throw away. The staff were very frienndly, especially with our 16 month old son and were only too accommodating with any issues we had. The food and room were excellent and we will stay there on our next visit to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the feedback the team and I were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay.We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant furture.

Yours Sincerely

Paul Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed for 10 nights and found the hotel to be of a good standard with friendly staff and great meals, there is obviously a brilliant chef here. It has excellant views of the sea and is just across the road from the beach reached via a steep zig zag path. It has a lovely pool and even had a life gaurd on duty however it was very cold water and maybe they could spend the money they are paying the life gaurds on having a more heated pool. Overall the public areas are well laid out with a nice big restaurant and a very pleasent terrace to sit out on and plenty of parking and is in a good location. Over the course of ten days there were some minor issues like we ran out of hand soap which was not replaced the following day and this happened on three occasions where I had to request for some more and also on more than one day the white bath towels had some big brown marks on them which we had to request for new ones, so whoever is contracted to clean them needs some checks doing. Some of the cushions in the bedroom had visible stains on them as did a bed cover at the bottom end of the bed so we did not use them. These small things should really be picked up before we see them, it's alright telling us we only have to tell reception but it should not have to get to that if checks are done in the first place, but maybe they are deemed acceptable by the staff responsible . Back on a positive note there were bottles of water in our room every day and some little rock sweets and the hot chocolate went down very well with my daughter. The staff were always friendly with lots of different nationallitys working there, on a couple of occasions in the restaurant we had to wait half an hour for service between main course and sweet and on the odd occasion at breakfast they ran out of bread for the toaster or ran out of plates so we had to wait a while, looked like they could have done with extra staff on those occasions, also on the menu it said Muller light yogurt which I only saw twice so instead we had to have a differnt make, not sure here but it looks like put a few out to start and then plenty of the cheaper make, so if you came in later to breakfast you missed out, however the other make was very nice. In conclusion we would recommend this hotel, it left us with a very good impression of Menzies and hope the minor issues can be sorted for the future.
The Hutton Family from Derbyshire.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Belated thanks for taking the time to inform future guests of your holiday at the East Cliff Court Hotel.

Given that you stayed with us for ten days it was a very constructive review which summarises all elements of your stay with us, for which I appreciate.

We will take your feedback on board and do our utmost to improve on the points you have made.

We all look forward to welcoming you back before summer next year.

yours sincerely

Paul Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We have just returned from a 6 day stay in the East Cliff Menzies and had a lovely week. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious and very clean and everything that should work did work. The food was lovely, excellent breakfasts and evening meals were well prepared, well presented and a joy to eat. We looked forward to seeing what delights were in store for us each evening. We had a lovely sea view and the weather too was good to us. Having stayed in many hotels both home and abroad I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family alike. GT&CL

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GXT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MenziesECC, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for taking the time to complete feedback on tripadvisor, I was delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable six days with us, and please be assured that I will inform the team of your very kind feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future,

My sincere thanks once again,

Yours Sincerely

Paul

General Manager
East CLiff Court hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,968 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AN, England (Formerly Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff is the perfect Bournemouth beach hotel, offering spectacular sea views, a bright, modern interior and four star facilities. The hotel is pleased to have been highly recommended at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards in 2012 and again in 2013. Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is just a few minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches in Bournemouth and only a ten minute walk from the town centre, BIC (Bournemouth International Centre), and Pavilion. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff, stands adjacent to its sister hotel, the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton and just 2 miles away from the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, and collectively, our Bournemouth beach hotels offer a truly extensive range of facilities including onsite car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff also offers family rooms and direct sea facing rooms with balconies for a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Menzies East Cliff Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing