We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money! Friendly stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tower House Hotel
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value for money! Friendly stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I have recently stayed at this hotel with my husband and was pleasantly surprised by the experience. The rooms are large and comfortable and have a real charm about them, they were perfect for what we needed as a base to explore Bournemouth town. Breakfast was a great standard and the staff can't do enough for you! It's a family run hotel and this gives it a real edge in my opinion! Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others! Will be returning at Christmas for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emzil0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    64
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
82
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Main problem of this hotel is management that do not keep to their word on Quote on prices of arranged price on their rooms- We were quoted on per person per day and agreed by the daughter of the owner of the hotel- MaTT and the daughters name Magdelina that we would pay 42 pound per person per night for bed and breakfast- We notified management that some days that one of the guests would not be having accomodation and would be out of the hotel but the other guest would remain at the hotel (married couple) this happened to be 4 days that would be deducted from the bill all other days for the 2 week stay for the couple would be billed
This did not happen and the couple were charged as Room per day at 80 pounds per room even though that this was not mentioned in their Tarriff but should have been Per person per day . But management denied this even though they charged full rate of per room!! when asked ro see the owner MaTT he was not available for comment when paying the Account
To this day no contact from the owner!! Matt
Totally unprofessional of the management of this hotel. and then the poor service in the diningroom manned only by 2 staff for a full dining room at breakfast and dinner and staff that had a problem with taking orders!- No Yogurt on breakfast menu and open breakfast ingedients that had flies around this area.
The owner was seen often sat down in the dining area instead of assisting his staff that were rushing around the dining area- The rooms were tired in looks and the shower water was slow
The lift for the floors were so small and so slow it was quicker to walk up the stairs but for the elderly would be a problem
Even the on duty manager Chris was poorly trained as he was agreeing with the owners daughter on the account of ours even though he did not know the agreement initially with Magdelina . Also the whole management did not treat guests all the same especially new guests but management paid preference to local and regulars and bypassed the new guests while staying their.
Be prepared to argue with your account at the end of your stay and the poor showers and slow lift
and if your young then be also be prepared to sit around a dining area of elderly guests that look more like a retirement home
Food was mediocre
Management are not to be trusted at the hotet called TRUST TOWERS HOTEL IN BOURNEMOUTH

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towerhousehotel, General Manager at Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
This review is rude, spiteful, childish and wildly inaccurate. These guests badly need lessons in life skills because they are very unhappy people. They seemed to think they could book a room for a specific period, use it intermittently during that period, but only be charged for the days they were in it.. Of course we charged them for the full period they had reseved the room for. They forget that we could have let the room when they were away, if only they'd let us know. Its called common sense.

The service in the dining room is first class as is the food, and Matt, the owner does go round each table to have a friendly chat - a gesture that most guests appreciate very much. It gives a chance for guests and owner to get to know each other better.

The lift takes 4 people comfortably and is totally reliable.

It is a shame that these reviewers don't like the age of some of our guests. We pride ourselves on running a quiet family hotel with a happy atmosphere. We are not judgemental about anyone's age although we do not take gangs of young people.

I must say in conclusion that these guests were the most miserable couple we have ever had here. I would advise them to get a firmer grip on reality, to grow up and next time they use a hotel to smile a little - they would be appreciated more and they would not find the need to manufacture the sort of sad nonsense they put in their review. The amazing thing about their bizarre list of our supposed failings is that they twice extended their stay with us - we couldn't have been that bad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Having been let down terrible by our 1st Hotel in Bournemouth they found us this as a replacement - the staff were good considering we arrived last minute as our booked Hotel had not taken our booking. What I do not understand is the rooms that are grand and spacious are £95.00 per night thats good I think - but we were put in an attice room with very small single beds broken head boards and dismal bathroom and decor as the last room I did appreciate them helping us out, but please do not insult us by charging us £95.00 plus we were that far in the attic that chambermaids even forgot about us...the first night and day they hadn't done our room, having booked for 3 nights we sadly cut our much looked forward break short as we could no longer be the FLOWERS IN THE ATTIC any longer

Room Tip: Dont be a flower in their attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thevaudins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towerhousehotel, Manager at Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
You wouldn't think so but believe it or not we actually helped these guests out, and this is how they say thankyou! They had been let down by another hotel on one of the busiest days of the year and at the last minute we let them have our last available room. They should be grateful for getting them out of a difficult situation. The specific points they mention are wrong too - the room is beautifully decorated and the bathroom suite was installed just two years ago. They only paid £145.00 for 2 nights accommodation, far lower than the tariff they mention and they also had dinner one evening. I am pleased that they like our "grand and spacious rooms" but after the unpleasant scene they caused in our reception they will not be welcome back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Normally I give very good reviews of places where we have stayed, but this is the first time I can say that we were not very satisfied with the accommodation at this Hotel. Positive points the staff were very friendly, and the breakfast was quite good, although no fresh fruit was provided which was a pity, we noticed that a couple of people brought their own fruit down for breakfast, and you only had a one hour window in which to have your breakfast, 8.15am to 9.15am. We booked a room with a sea view, the sea view was a glimpse of the sea between other buildings facing the Hotel, not a very nice outlook and one of the buildings had scaffolding up. The mattress on the bed was very hard and uncomfortable, and the bed creaked every time you moved, we were also woken up a 5.30 each morning by a noisy builder who was staying at the Hotel, we thought it was a cleaner the amount of noise he made. This was supposed to have been a much needed rest for my husband and I and unfortunately it wasn’t. The shower cubicle was tiny you could hardly move in it, and no place to put soap/shower gel etc. The Shower was not working very well the day we arrived, and I nearly got scalded as the water was boiling hot and you could not adjust the temperature. A chap did try to fix it so that the water did not come out quite as hot, but if you were not quick the water got much to hot again. The Hotel is very old fashioned and tired looking, the bar area is so full of chairs you can hardly move, and not a comfortable place to sit, this Hotel is in desperate need of a complete refurbishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towerhousehotel, Manager at Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
I’m, afraid I don’t recognise the hotel or the room from this guest’s rather biased review. It seems as if they have come away with the purpose of looking for negatives and ignoring the positives!
The room they were in has a beautiful sea view – it is the ‘Tower Room’ of the Tower House Hotel, with magnificent south facing sea views and is specifically requested by many customers. I just don’t agree with their comments.
There was a problem with the shower thermostat which we fixed as soon as it was pointed out. It now works perfectly.
All our rooms have brand new, high quality mattresses and have recently been redecorated with new carpets, curtains and bedspreads.
We do provide fresh fruit as one of the breakfast choices – the guest’s statement is factually incorrect.
We understand the annoyance of noise from an adjoining room and if the guest had advised us of it we would have done something about it. Unfortunately we knew nothing of it.
The bar area does have lots of chairs in – it is because we have lots of guests and they prefer to sit whilst having a drink – and there is still plenty of room in the bar and lounge.
In short, we spend a great deal of time (and money) on maintaining and improving our lovely hotel. We are delighted when we get good reviews and we just have to accept that we can’t please everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

Thisbhas been our fourth trip to this hotel. The reason why we keep coming back is simple: the staff, the food, the atmosphere, the location and the rooms.
You just cannot go wrong with this hotel. We have spoken to so many guests that return year after year, that has to tell you something about the owners and staff.
Thank you Matt and staff, see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We struck lucky with the weather, but even if it had been dreadful we would still have had an excellent holiday thanks to the Tower House Hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. When we had a minor problem with the thermostat on the shower that couldn't immediately be repaired, the room next door was put out of action so that we could use the bathroom: what service! The breakfasts were substantial, with plenty of choice and well cooked. The location of the hotel is superb. We shall most certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This family run small hotel is conveniently located for the great Bournemouth beaches and the town centre. The beaches are just 5 mins walk away and the town centre just a 15 min stroll. The hotel has a "quite" policy, so no noise after 11am. This will put off stag and hen weekend groups! The rooms are good size and well equipped. Our only problem was locating the tv in a place where we could watch it in bed! Breakfast was great, freshly cooked to order. All the staff are friendly and helpful, even when sorting out double parking problems in the limited car park. The bar is comfortable with games and music, if required. However, during our stay there was a problem with draft beer availability. Over the two days 2 of the 3 beers ran out! Overall good place to stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGP_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#22 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ullswater Hotel
Ullswater Hotel
#49 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#36 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#37 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House Hotel

Property: Tower House Hotel
Address: West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tower House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run, comfortable AA 2-star hotel is probably the town's friendliest.The Tower House Hotel is superbly located on the West Cliff, within easy reach of the town centre, only a 2 minute walk from the 7 miles of sandy beaches and close to the conference centre.Bedrooms are acclaimed for their high level of décor and comfort. All rooms have an en suite bath/shower. The hotel does not have wheelchair access. Tower House is a family hotel and is not suitable for stag/hen parties or single sex groups. Please note the hotel has a strict no smoking policy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing