We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family holiday”
Review of Tower House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tower House Hotel
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“family holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Had an excellent stay here, breakfast v good, staff extremely helpful and location was great. Would definitely recommend this hotel for the staff and great service. Plenty parking available and beach within walking distance

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towerhousehotel, General Manager at Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday found the hotel fitted your requirements. Our staff love hearing of such positive reviews so thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    66
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
35
84
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed with my Grandchildren aged 7 & 4. We were made welcome from the minute we arrived with a desperate for the loo 4 year old. Our room was beautifully appointed with an en suite with full bath and shower which with 2 children was ideal. Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room and was beautifully cooked and served to each persons request. There was a bar where you could relax with a drink in the evening or as we did just before we left glasses of juice and a pot of coffee. When this was served the children were offered a selection of biscuits which was a very nice gesture. This hotel
Provides great value for money and I can recommend it to families or couples looking for a relaxing short break or a longer holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna71155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towerhousehotel, General Manager at Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Hello and thank you for the lovely review. You and your beautiful granddaughters were a pleasure to have stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again if you return to Bournemouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I have stayed here twice - I was on my own and they couldn't have made me feel more welcome. The rooms were immaculately clean, and on one visit I was able to have one overlooking the sea. The hotel is ideally situated in a quiet road with not much through-traffic - not too close to the noisy town centre but just a short walk away (especially nice walking aong the sea-front). The staff are super-nice and couldn't have been more helpful. The full English breakfast, which was included, is absolutely first-class. Couldn't have asked for a better stay and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view if you can !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towerhousehotel, General Manager at Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
A big thank you for such a kind review. We always give guests a warm welcome and try to ensure everyone, whether they are a family, couple or single holiday maker are as comfortable as possible, so I am glad this came across. We are lucky to have such beautiful sea views and I am glad you enjoyed one throughout your stay. Thanks again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

stayed there on a friday and Saturday night.
We LIKED:
-the welcome from the daughter of the owner (the young lady, on friday night shift, yes we are the 2 guys you checked in!!!). very helpful, very engaging, very charming, went out of her way to tell us about restaurats and what's happening in the area!!! WELL DONE, so nice!!
-the young lady and young guys that run the restaurant (waiters) VERY engaging, very helpful!!! well done guys
-the breakfast!!! surprisingly good!!! well done chef!!! really enjoyed it!! very simple BUT very tasty and nicely done

WE DIDNT LIKE:
-the morning shift lady (the other daughter i suppose) on Saturday morning 27th JUL. very cold, really above all this hotel etc, really busy updating her facebook while she was having her fruit at 10.00' with her chef friend, while we all ahd to listen to her conversation about her Dad having a blast/dance the night before!!
-the older guy, on the Sunday morning shift (the owner?) SOOOO arrogant, so unapproachable
-the smelly blanket and duvet in room 4.
-the curtains on room 4, that on the top are covered in dust and cob-webs and made me sneeze all night

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAZAROS_DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towerhousehotel, Manager at Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. It is always nice to hear positive comments about the quality of our staff and restaurant, without which we would not be as sucessful as we have become.

Having said that, I do feel that you have made some unnecessarily personal comments in the second part of your review. It seems that you expect a level of attention that is frankly impossible. You obviously don't understand that as a successful and popular hotel at the peak time of year we are dealing with a huge number of guests at check in and check out. We do make a massive effort to be friendly to everyone - hopefully you can see that by the comments we normally get. When you arrived you paid your bill, as is normal. So when you left all you did was leave. You made no attempt to engage us in conversation, so how can we be accused of arrogance and indifference?

I would suggest that next time you have breakfast in a hotel you don't listen in to other people's private conversations! Our young lady was perfectly at liberty to have breakfast and talk to the chef if she so wished and it is none of your business what her conversation was about.

We feel your comments about the room are completely unwarranted and unnecessarily nasty. You don't mention the fact that you had a lovely double room with a beautiful sea view. The bedspeads and blankets in all our rooms are washed and drycleaned regularly, but had you felt there was an issue with yours, why would you have slept in it for two nights without bringing it to our attention? Also, our chambermaids are thorough and very hard working, had they by chance missed a cobweb at the top of the curtains, could you not have mentioned it to her or us rather then sneezing all night for two nights running? I find these comments far fetched and rather imaginative.

The next time you go away, give the hotel a chance. Tell the owners about any problems you may have so they can put them right before you write another spiteful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I booked the Tower because it was much less costly than similar hotels at the time of booking. It felt to me like a typical B&B or small hotel, typical meaning a little old-fashioned and in need of refurbishment. The positives of my stay included a friendly owner, good service at breakfast, plenty of off-road parking, and a lovely view of the sea from my top-floor room.

Location is very good. The Tower is within a 2-minute walk of Westcliff, the beach and the path that takes you into the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towerhousehotel, General Manager at Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us. It is great that you enjoyed so much about our hotel and staff, especially the owner who goes out of his way to ensure all guests are as comfortable and relaxed as possible.
We would like to take the opportunity to say that we have in recent years replaced all our bedroom curtains and bedspreads, fitted all new bathrooms, had most carpet replaced as well as knocking down our bar and having it rebuilt from scratch, we have also got a delivery of bedroom furniture due to arrive next week and are hoping to have all new bedroom furniture by the end of this year. We appreciate your comments and hope you understand that refurbishment is a timely and costly business and can realistically only take place bit by bit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

First time in Bournemouth loved tower house hotel room good very clean food excellent service the same staff marvellous only had one problem someone kept leaving the extracter fan on at night this was eventually solved would definitely stay again well done everyone at the tower house mrs s.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csansome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towerhousehotel, Manager at Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Many thanks for the kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I am unusually writing this review during my actual stay but am very impressed with this hotel.

Don't get me wrong, this is definitely (and it doesn't pretend to me) a 5 star joint but for its money, location and room facilities I am most impressed.

The rooms can do with a revamp but at £43 a night bed and breakfast you can't complain as they are very clean and have everything you could expect such as tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, TV and a very nice bathroom.

The receptionist was very pleasant on check in and breakfast was cooked and served very well.

This hotel has a nice bar too for evening drinks before heading out.

We have another night here and so far so good.

Well down Tower House Hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clearview99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towerhousehotel, Manager at Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice comment. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ullswater Hotel
Ullswater Hotel
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.8 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#10 of 66 in Bournemouth
741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House Hotel

Property: Tower House Hotel
Address: West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Tower House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run, comfortable AA 2-star hotel is probably the town's friendliest.The Tower House Hotel is superbly located on the West Cliff, within easy reach of the town centre, only a 2 minute walk from the 7 miles of sandy beaches and close to the conference centre.Bedrooms are acclaimed for their high level of décor and comfort. All rooms have an en suite bath/shower. The hotel does not have wheelchair access. Tower House is a family hotel and is not suitable for stag/hen parties or single sex groups. Please note the hotel has a strict no smoking policy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing