We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They close at 5pm”
Review of The Parlour Company - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Parlour Company
Restaurant details
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
906 reviews
520 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“They close at 5pm”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We parked in Holdenhurst Road in order to go to the shops but fancied a coffee so called into The Parlour and wish we hadn't bothered.

It was around 4.30pm and there were three other people in the place so it looked deserted as it is a large space with a mix of tables and modern decor.

The girl on the till seemed less than pleased at our arrival and took our order which was an Americano coffee an Earl Grey tea and a cookie. She had some trouble with the till but eventually it got sorted.

Another girl brought our drinks and said that they closed at 5pm.

The tea they brought was not Earl Grey but ordinary tea which was pretty useless service considering the simple order.

They do offer a selection of food from panini's to burgers but they mainly seem to sell ice cream.

About ten minutes to five the waitress came back again to tell us that they closed at 5pm, clearly she thought that we were slow learners and had not got her message the first time. We felt really cross as clearly they just wanted us to leave and given a couple more minutes we would have left when we were ready.

Leave we did and never to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I work just around the corner and The Parlour is great for lunchtimes (either with friends, colleagues or to meet clients). Their pizza breads are fantastic! The service is a little slow at times and sometimes the counter staff seem to struggle to understand what you're asking for. They're all very friendly though so can easily be forgiven! I do fear the arrival of Sprinkles up the road may cause problems here - whilst you cannot get much savoury at Sprinkles, their selections of ice creams and toppings are better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“RIP OFF”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

POPPED IN LAST WEEK FOR A SARNIE & PKT OF CRISPS. SARNIE WAS FINE BUT THE CRISPS WHICH I WAS CHARGED 80P FOR were part of a multipack, (not to be sold seperately ) its places like this that give bournemouth a bad name.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kellyscute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better up the road”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Sprinkles far too busy so thought would give this place a go, desperate for ice cream. Ordered 2 sundaes for around the £7 mark - they arrived quickly and were gone just as quick as they were TINY and nothing but ice cream and sauce - no bits of chocolate, brownies etc here. considering you have the mega popular but much maligned Sprinkles up the road they could cash in here and make it just as good, as the quality of ice cream was on par with the other place. Were greeted when entered and thanked on departure but unfortunately didn't do enough to make us return...disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomav84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing Thai food & Ice Cream”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Had gone for a meal with friends last week. We enjoy the ambiance & Thai cuisine. They also serve nice Italian Ice cream and coffee. Great place to hangout, eat and unwind.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parlour Company also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing