We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yates family North Wales.”
Review of Alexander Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Lodge
Ranked #12 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yates family North Wales.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have been home a week now and wish we were still on holiday, Karen and Andy of Alexander Lodge, Southbourne are perfect hosts. The hotel is homely, with an exceptional standard of cleanliness. We also enjoyed the delicious food. Hope to return next year and can highly recommend a stay at Alexander Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Hello David and family
Thankyou so much for our great review, it was very kind of you to take the time to write it.
It was lovely having you all to stay and glad you enjoyed your holiday. Hope to see you again next year.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
52
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A great place to stay. Karen and Andy are very friendly and welcoming. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfasts are excellent with a good selection. Alexander Lodge is an exceptionally nice place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpy67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Hi
Thankyou for staying at Alexander Lodge and for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. It was a pleasure having you both to stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have just returned from a marvelous holiday which was made perfect by the hosts Karen and Andy. The cleanliness, service and food were exceptional. We would highly recommend a stay at Alexander Lodge Southbourne Bournemouth. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Hi there everyone

It was really lovely having you all here to stay and we are so pleased you had the sunshine to enjoy the beach and beach hut. Thankyou for taking the time to write such a great review for us and we hope to see you again next year.
Best wishes
Andy and Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just returned from our 2nd visit to Alexander Lodge in Southbourne.When we went last year Karen was still relatively new to being a landlady, but she has certainly settled in very well.
Warm greeting -drinks offered and a warm smile was a great start again.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable and nothing is too much trouble for Karen.
At our first breakfast time,she was asked for an iron and ironing board and what time the band played in the park.All requests were dealt with immediately.
We have no hesitation in recommending Alexander Lodge which we will return to in 2014.
Whatever you are doing Karen- you are doing it well to have people returning to you after only one season.Well done -hope to see you for a longer time next year-3 nights was not enough.
Thank you to you Andy and Jodie.
Linda and David

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavlinLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hi Linda and David
Thankyou so much for your very kind words and for taking the time to write them.
We are very gald you enjoyed your visit, it was lovely having you to stay again and look forward to seeing you both again next year.
Best wishes Andy, Karen and Jodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I am pleased to say Karen was able to accommodate my wife and i with a very late booking, tried 10 other Guest houses in the area and understandably all were fully booked, how pleased we were to find a vacancy at the Alexandra Guest House, what can we say, our visit started with a wonderful welcome by Karen who met us at the door even before we got out the car, that led to her showing us to our lovely twin king room plus a lovely offer of water and coffee that we gladly accepted after our journey, it was my wife,s birthday and it was lovely to find a card and gift from Karen, Andy and Jodie, a lovely unexpected touch, after Karen had explained everything to us we were left in private which we appreciate, Met Karen again at breakfast which cannot be faulted, actually nothing at this guest house can be faulted in our opinion, we will definatley return the the Alexandra whenever we plan to stay a night or two in Southbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunKimT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Hello

We were so glad we could offer you accommodation and thankyou for taking the time to write your great review, It was lovely having you to stay and pleased you enjoyed your special birthday weekend with your family and your stay at Alexander Lodge. Hope to see you both again in the future. Many thanks
Best wishes Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This review is on behalf of my stepdaughter. She advised us that the hotel was lovely, well furnished, very clean, with a great host and her and her daughter enjoyed a good breakfast. Certainly when speaking to Karen on the phone she was very helpful and sounded like a lovely lady.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertsaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Hi there
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. It was great to have your family to stay with us and kind of your your step-daughter to let you know that they enjoyed their stay at Alexander Lodge. We hope you also enjoyed your break with family.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Have just spent a night at the Alexander Lodge Hotel and wish it could have been more. Room (double with kingsize bed on the first floor) was roomy, clean with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good and I especially liked the fresh strawberries and blueberries to start followed by the full english. Karen and Andy were perfect hosts and Karen kindly made us a cup of tea as soon as we arrived which after our journey was most welcome. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 6 suited us perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Hi Jane, Thank you for such a great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the fresh strawberries and blueberries...they are proving to be very popular! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#6 of 132 in Bournemouth
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 132 in Bournemouth
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#52 of 132 in Bournemouth
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Lodge

Property: Alexander Lodge
Address: 21 Southern Road, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, family run Guest House in Southbourne. We are located in a peaceful area of Bournemouth, just a few minutes level walk to the beautiful, award winning Sandy Beach, Cliff Lift, Clifftop, local shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing