We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grantham family, Stoke-On-Trent”
Review of Alexander Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Lodge
Ranked #15 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grantham family, Stoke-On-Trent”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Having stayed here before we knew we were in for a lovely relaxing stay! Our room was more than spacious as was the girls at the top of the house ,immaculately clean and the beds were so comfy non of us had any trouble sleeping! Breakfast was fantastic compliments to Andy for that and the service Karen provided was next to non she was very attentive to all our needs and sent us all on our way with full bellies! We were here visiting family in Christchurch for an engagement party so the hotel was ideally located for us as was the short walk to the beach. We will most definitely be staying here again its like our home from home now and would like to keep this little gem of a place to ourselves but would most definitely highly recommend it! Well done Karen and Andy keep up all your hard work we love your place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Hi everyone
Thankyou so much for such a really great review. It was very kind of you. We are so glad you enjoy staying with us and look forward to seeing you again. It is a pleasure having you all to stay. Hope you had a comfortable trip home.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
53
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Having searched the Internet for a rather late one night booking, we found the Alexander Lodge Hotel, which is an absolute gem. Karen and Andy from the moment we arrived were the perfect hosts. Tea and coffee on arrival was a lovely and thoughtful touch, especially as there are tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The room was lovely, a great deal of thought had been put into the decor, and we had a great nights sleep. The hotel has a really friendly and warm atmosphere and was exceptionally clean. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day. It was a shame we only were staying one night as the Hotel is close to the seafront, but as we expect to be visiting Bournemouth quite often, we really hope that Karen and Andy have a room available. Definitely would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digbyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hi There
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write and submit such a great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely meeting you both and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just spent a few days at this wonderful guest house.
It's a short walk to the beach, bars and shops and yet still in a tranquil location.
Our room was bright, spacious and impeccably clean.
The breakfast was lovely and served on hot plates.
Karen and Andy made everyone feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
We cannot praise this venue high enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveller090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hi There

Thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the breakfasts. It would be great to see you both agin in the future.
Best wishes
Andy and Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have been home a week now and wish we were still on holiday, Karen and Andy of Alexander Lodge, Southbourne are perfect hosts. The hotel is homely, with an exceptional standard of cleanliness. We also enjoyed the delicious food. Hope to return next year and can highly recommend a stay at Alexander Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Hello David and family
Thankyou so much for our great review, it was very kind of you to take the time to write it.
It was lovely having you all to stay and glad you enjoyed your holiday. Hope to see you again next year.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A great place to stay. Karen and Andy are very friendly and welcoming. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfasts are excellent with a good selection. Alexander Lodge is an exceptionally nice place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpy67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Hi
Thankyou for staying at Alexander Lodge and for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. It was a pleasure having you both to stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have just returned from a marvelous holiday which was made perfect by the hosts Karen and Andy. The cleanliness, service and food were exceptional. We would highly recommend a stay at Alexander Lodge Southbourne Bournemouth. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Hi there everyone

It was really lovely having you all here to stay and we are so pleased you had the sunshine to enjoy the beach and beach hut. Thankyou for taking the time to write such a great review for us and we hope to see you again next year.
Best wishes
Andy and Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just returned from our 2nd visit to Alexander Lodge in Southbourne.When we went last year Karen was still relatively new to being a landlady, but she has certainly settled in very well.
Warm greeting -drinks offered and a warm smile was a great start again.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable and nothing is too much trouble for Karen.
At our first breakfast time,she was asked for an iron and ironing board and what time the band played in the park.All requests were dealt with immediately.
We have no hesitation in recommending Alexander Lodge which we will return to in 2014.
Whatever you are doing Karen- you are doing it well to have people returning to you after only one season.Well done -hope to see you for a longer time next year-3 nights was not enough.
Thank you to you Andy and Jodie.
Linda and David

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavlinLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hi Linda and David
Thankyou so much for your very kind words and for taking the time to write them.
We are very gald you enjoyed your visit, it was lovely having you to stay again and look forward to seeing you both again next year.
Best wishes Andy, Karen and Jodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#7 of 132 in Bournemouth
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Lodge

Property: Alexander Lodge
Address: 21 Southern Road, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, family run Guest House in Southbourne. We are located in a peaceful area of Bournemouth, just a few minutes level walk to the beautiful, award winning Sandy Beach, Cliff Lift, Clifftop, local shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing