We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect break”
Review of Alexander Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Lodge
Ranked #13 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect break”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Karen welcomed us all personally when we arrived, made us very much at home. The rooms were spacious clean and comfortable. Breakfast was 1st class and very enjoyable. We were a party of 8, 3 of whom had birthdays and Karen played her part in ensuring they all had a happy birthday. We will come back again. Richard

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi there
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your weekend, it really was such a pleasure and such good fun. It would be great to see you all again in the future. Hoping you had a good competition on your way home.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
50
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is our only choice in Bournemouth. We tried other B&B before but only Alexander Lodge gave us what we need. Clean, nice, tide and very comfy rooms, delicious breakfast and what is really nice - 5 minutes walk to seaside. Owner are really lovely. This year (2014) we start again visit Alexander Lodge from April. Recommended to families (in our example is 2 + 3).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArturUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Artur and everyone

Thank you for your great review. What a lovely surprise. It is always such a pleasure having yourself and your family to stay. Really looking forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Best Wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamsphire, England
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have stayed at Alexander Lodge a number of times whilst looking for a house to buy. Karen and Andy made you feel so welcome, nothing was too much trouble - from local knowledge of the area and making us a flask of tea everyday on our rounds of looking at houses!! We have now found a house and the kids still keep asking if they can stay at 'Karen's Hotel', they loved it so much. There was a highchair for our little one, which he sat and ate Karen's hearty breakfast everyday with relish! There were plenty of choices for cereals, fruit etc. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless. Location wise, it could not be better - a minute one way to the beach and a minute the other way to shops and cafes/bars etc. Its on a very quite road, so soundless sleep had by all. We miss staying at 'Karen's Hotel' as the kids call it and seeing Karen and Andy for their lovely warm personalities. I'm sure we will be keeping in touch with them once we move to our new home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hi everyone
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was really great having you all to stay and hearing about your house hunting on your visits with us. It is lovely that you have found a house down here now and it will be fun seeing the children and yourselves again in your new home. It was a pleasure having you stay at Alexander Lodge. Glad your flasks of tea were of help!!
Best wishes
Andy and Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I am sure there are not many people who stay here who only live up the road, unfortuantely when our house in Southbourne caught fire last May, we stayed here for a few nights, Karen was so welcoming to us given our situation and made us feel so at home.. the Breakfast was really good and the rooms of high standard. Everything is spotless and it was lovely to stay here despite the circumstances.

If you are thinking of a holiday in Bmth or you too have similar unusual ciircumstances and need a place to stay. You cannot go wrong with Alexander Lodge

thanks from P&A

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJBBournemouth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi there
Thank you so much to both of you for such a really lovely review. It was very thoughtful of you. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we are pleased to of been able to help you at what must have been a very difficult time. We hope you are now back in your own home again. Thank you.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have family near Bournemouth so I stay regularly with Karen and Andy and they are every bit as kind and welcoming as the previous owners, Nicky and Matt. Over the years, I've tried lots of hotels, guest houses and B&Bs in Bournemouth and this has to be one of the best. For me personally, it is the best.
Not only is its location superb, being only a few minutes walk to the sandy beaches and a few minutes walk in the opposite direction to the main shopping centre in Southbourne, but it seems to stand out from the rest of the many places in which I have stayed as being particularly fresh, well cared-for and thoughtfully presented. All the rooms are bright and cheerful. The large rooms at the front of the house get the early morning rising and midday sun and beautiful skies in the evenings. The rooms on the sides of the building get the sun and brightness too and every room has an uplifting spirit about it.
Everything in the rooms and showers is spotless. The beds are comfortable and the bedding always immaculate. Even when I've had a pretty intensive day, I go back to Alexander Lodge and relax as soon as I get there. There is a light feeling about it as soon as you walk in.
Karen and her family genuinely welcome you and will, throughout your time there, offer whatever they can to make things just right for you.
I have been intending to write to Trip Advisor for a long time but seeing that somewhere in Dorset has been voted the best, a feeling of indignation gripped me. My immediate thoughts were, "What about Alexander Lodge?" Of course, I'm pleased for the winners and Alexander Lodge is quite different but it is wonderful too. It is un-ostentatious, honestly bright, cheerful and welcoming.
If you're thinking about a short break, winter, spring or autumn, it's well worth going there. The coast can be amazingly dynamic at those times or as calm as a mill pond. Summer is obviously good too but last summer, Alexander Lodge suddenly became fully booked and I hadn't been quick enough to book ahead. Then, even being forced to stay in the very expensive end of the market, I didn't find anywhere that compared with the genuine hospitality of Karen and her family. It's just lovely being there.

Room Tip: I 've stayed in most of the rooms and they are all well presented and have a warm welcoming feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi Jennifer
Wow, thankyou for taking the time to write such a great review. It has been lovely having you to stay with us and we are so pleased you really enjoyed your time here at Alexander Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thankyou.
Best Wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

From the minute you arrive you are made to feel at home and you can't help but relax in the pleasant and friendly environment. All the rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. We have just spent a lovely weekend with Karen and her family and would definitely recommend the Alexander Lodge to anyone visiting the area, whether a couple or large family. Breakfast is excellent and all tastes catered for...if you want double egg, you get double egg.

With our eldest looking to attend Bournemouth University we know we have superb accommodation waiting at the end of the 3 hour drive when we go to visit.

Thank you Karen...and don't forget the building alterations we suggested ;)

Nick, Kate and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hi There Everyone
Firstly, thank-you for such a great review. It was good fun having you all here and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt at home here. That is very important to us. Good luck with the University and it would be really good to see you all again in the future.
Best wishes
Karen and Andy
Ps How could we forget the building alterations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Having stayed in the alexander lodge 4 times now we can highly recommend it. The rooms are very nice and clean. The breakfast is also very good, you always get everything you wish. The hosts, Karen and Andy, are very lovely - always with a smile on their face. We always feel very welcome and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina_4665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderLodge, Owner at Alexander Lodge, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi Tina
It has been lovely having you all to stay and really look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future. We hope you had a good trip home and thankyou for taking the time to write such a great review for Alexander Lodge
Best wishes
Karen and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#6 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cransley
Cransley
#8 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Lodge

Property: Alexander Lodge
Address: 21 Southern Road, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, family run Guest House in Southbourne. We are located in a peaceful area of Bournemouth, just a few minutes level walk to the beautiful, award winning Sandy Beach, Cliff Lift, Clifftop, local shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing