We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We took our two young children here for two nights in the run up to Easter. I found it through a comparison website for £45 for two nights for a family of four people. It was too cheap an offer to pass by, but so cheap that we were a bit worried about what we'd get!

We needn't have worried - the hotel, although showing its age in the as yet un-refurbished part of the building that we were in, was nice and clean. Our beds, a double and a pair of bunks, were dressed in nice, crisp, clean white bed linnen. I found this to be quite reassuring as so many cheap hotels use horrible multicoloured bed linnen that makes it almost impossible to tell whether or not it's clean.

The staff were all very polite and helpful - a simple query made at the reception desk, which was fully answered by the receptionist, was followed-up by a knock on the door by the maintenance manager five minutes later who just wanted to make sure everything was OK.

We had breakfast at the hotel on the first morning which I thought was good value at £6.50 per adult for a continental and english breakfast. I recommend the scrambled eggs too - probably the best I've had anywhere.

So while I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a luxury break, it was a very clean, reliable and great value hotel for a short break with the family.

Room Tip: Our very acceptable room was in the un-refurbished wing - ask for a room in the refurbished wing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyslowrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Our 2 night stay was comfortable, we were in room 16, the room was clean and tidy with a single and double bed. The ensuite was tiny!! This is not luxury accommodation however perfectly adequate for us and good price. Breakfast was ok, cereal, fruit, toast and full English on offer however sausages were vile! Wifi connection was patchy in fact most of time was not strong enough signal for browsing. There was some noise from water pipes either in walls, floor or ceiling but nothing major.

Room Tip: Room 16 has been refurbished and a good clean basic room for overnight or short stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

very reasonable price very close to sea and city very nice and helpful staff including managers very homely place if u not piking every thing this place is very good. you can save some money to spend bit scabby but clean sheets towels very clean will come back

Room Tip: if have problem with steps ask ground floor no lift didn't bother me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anuruddhaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Staff are friendly and the rooms are clean.
The curtains that I had in my room didn't close and it was pretty basic, but if you want somewhere cheap this is fine. It is well located. I stayed here for one night, when I was going out and it was adequate for this - don't think I'd want to have a family holiday here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_CWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Room 32, grusome, loads of dark brown stains on the ceiling, wall had not been refreshed for years and looked dirty and unkempt, furniture looked like seconds that were battered and very worn, asked to be moved as could not have slept in there, I really don't know how they could have shown it to paying customers?
the second room, no 6. brighter due to lots of windows, better state of repair, one side lamp only and that did not work, one kettle that had to be plugged into the bedside table, next to an electric clock, and the bed, bif safety hazzard there. no loo roll, one of the mirrored wardrobe doors was missing, the traffic noise and 'happy people' very evident untill 2 -3 in the morning, needs double glazing. The staff were lovely and could not do enough, breakfast very disorganised on the first morning. better the second morning as WE had learnt the ropes, would we go there again. definately not, and as they want their payment up front when you book in, please insist on seeing your room first.

Room Tip: insist on seeing it before you pay anything,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbest-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear, Kbest-13,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate all customer feedback. I apologise if the hotel did not meet your standards on this occasion. Unfortunately the room you were originally given had water damage on the ceiling which we were unaware of, this has now been re-painted so thank you for bringing this to our attention. The room which you had reserved was one of our budget rooms which is going to be refurbished later on this year. I am glad that you felt that room 6 was of a better standard as this is one of our new TravelRest rooms and I am happy that the reception team dealt swiftly with your issue. I appreciate you bringing certain issues with the room to our attention which have now been rectified. We have many positive reviews on our Tripadvisor page about the breakfast that we offer at the hotel and the service provided. I will be feeding back these comments to our restaurant team to help improve the service we offer to our guests.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Wouldnt stay again. Noisy, poor reception staff,
mouldy shower, cold shower, leaky room above so marks on the ceiling. Yes its budget so you get what you pay for. Not for me! Could do with a major refurb!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear TZ4,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all customer feedback. I apologise that the hotel did not meet your standards on this occasion. We pride ourselves on the friendliness and professionalism of all our staff so was dismayed to see your comments regarding our reception team. Our team work very hard to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay. If you would like to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact us here at the hotel via e-mail at reservations@kiwihotel.co.uk. We would be happy to discuss any problems with you. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Cheap room for the night. Big room bit basic. staff helpful. 5 minutes walk into town. Couldn't park car on day were departed otherwise no faults for the price we paid. Would stay again with friends not sure it's a family hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear swrighty,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on our Tripadvisor page. We really appreciate customers taking the time to comment on their stay. I am glad that the hotel was to your liking and that you would return again. Apologies that you had problems parking, we do advertise online that we do have limited parking, hence the reason we do not charge for parking, unlike many other hotels in the Bournemouth area who can charge upwards of £12 per day.
We are a family friendly hotel however we do occasionally have group parties staying with us during busy weekends, we do however manage these groups well and ensure that no disruption is caused to other guests in the hotel.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#45 of 66 in Bournemouth
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
#47 of 66 in Bournemouth
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 66 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £25 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This TravelRest has 25 of the 45 bedrooms fully refurbished to the smart, clean and comfortable TravelRest bedroom standard. The remaining 20 bedrooms are traditionally furnished family and standard rooms, offering great value and some with views towards the sea and Bournemouth bay. TravelRest bedrooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod docking stations (on request), toiletries and the TravelRest hospitality tray. Key features at a glance: Situated in one of Bournemouth's prime locations, with easy access to beach, town centre as well as the key business locations within the region, via Wessex Way. Just 100 metres from the seafront and within a few hundred metres of BIC. Easy walking distance of the town centre and main entertainment attractions, bars and shops. Two styles of guest bedroom - contemporary TravelRest Rooms featuring designer fabrics, toiletries, hospitality tray and IPod docking station. Traditional budget rooms - classically furnished rooms, some family sized and other with views towards the sea and bay. All rooms feature flatscreen TV and DVD player. Free parking on site (limited) with alternative on road free parking within the immediate area. Bar and cafe open throughout the day. 24 hour reception. Free wi-fi. Group friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing