We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #48 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Similarly to some of the most recent reviewers, I am astounded by some of the negative reviews on here and feel they spoil the integrity and accuracy of Trip Advisor. I paid £25 to stay here and this is at the very least the a top of the range budget hotel and probably could be described as well beyond that. Reception was bright and welcoming the hotel seemed to have been recently refurbished (maybe within the last year or two) and my room was immaculately clean.
My only negative was the receptionist. Upon arrival, he was engaged in a long phone call, but did not even look at me to acknowledge I was waiting or apologise for keeping me waiting one the call was finished. Upon arrival in my room, there was no heating. I went to tell the same receptionist who without telling me what he was doing, left reception and then came back t tell me it was fixed. Some basic staff training needed really but I was extremely happy with my stay and the hotel. in general and decided not to let this affect my overall rating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MG100_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear MG100_10,
Thank You for your recent feedback.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at TravelRest Bournemouth.
As previous comments state - we have a excellent team working at our hotel and can only apologize for what must of been a lapse in Customer Service. We pride ourselves on the delivering the best to all our customers and will see to this immediately, so we can improve from now on.
Kind Regards,
Ross Goode
Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I find some of the recent negative reviews baffaling and pendantic. This hotel is fine. Its not the ritz, but it is clean tidy, service is efficient, and its cheap.what more do you want? Agree with the positive reviews, the negative ones make a joke out of tripadvisor. Especially the review of someones hair! Tip for fellow reviewers, if you want to keep this site relevant and not be seen as a bitter old fool, keep reviews objective. Bear in mind what you are paying for. This is a budget hotel, I think its standards surpass this. If I have to carry on reading crap inaccurate reviews from angry bitter reviewers, I will simply stop using this site. Fellow reviewers need to be able to rate each others feedback.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrmib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear MrMib,
Thank You for your kind comments.
We are a very proud and well run hotel, that hopes each guest leaves with the same experience you had, whilst staying with us.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to TravelRest Bournemouth.
Kind Regards,
Ross Goode
Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

When I needed to book an overnight stay in Bournemouth there was to many choices for me lol, but after opting for the Travelrest I wasn't disappointed. Free parking, great location (lovely pub only one door down at The Hop Inn) beach & BIC only five min walk away town around 10 mins, we had a lovely room on first floor was on main road but traffic wasn't a prob, or late night party goers on there way home. Staff were friendly, brekkie was great,price was spot on, we have booked to go back in Feb to watch the darts at the BIC, would recommend :) See in Feb Travelrest.

Room Tip: Fab location for beach, town & BIC, great place to stay & a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciderarmy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank You for your positive feedback.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with TravelRest Bournemouth.
It would be great to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Ross Goode
Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the TravelRest in Bournemouth for 1 night on 31 October 2013 and booked for 2 adults and 2 children in the same room. Upon arrival we were able to park on the hotel car park with places still available for other guests. The receptionist was very helpful and she booked us in straight away with no problems into room 33. We had been warned not to expect too much of the room and reading other reviews were a little apprehensive as to what we would find there, well what a pleasant surprise. The room was clean and a good size enough for our needs and the bathroom was very clean and again a good size with a shower. There was a small wardrobe with a sliding mirror front which was ample for our needs, coffee and tea facilities supplied and flat screen tv if you need it. All in all a very pleasant stay and we shall certainly use again. Thank you TravelRest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Daniel,
Thank You for your recent feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, more so with the fact that you were able to see for yourself that some reviews we have had previously, are wide of the mark.
We are proud that for our excellent rates, we are able to offer far more than the price paid by our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Ross Goode
Sales & Marketing Executive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have recently had a break in Bournemouth and we saw this hotel so booked it. What a bargin! The location was fantastic,150 yards from the beach. The staff were great ,very helpful & easy to get on with. Breakfast was great,better than any big chain hotel. The rooms were comfortable & clean. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Richie,
Thank You for your positive feedback.
As you have stated, we are in one of the best locations Bournemouth can offer - being in short walking distances from all tourist attractions.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Ross Goode
Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

just got back from The Travel Rest the room was clean and comfortable, recently refurbished I think. No problem parking, WIFI was available on the first floor. If anything the stair carpet could have done with replacing but I think this might be due to be done with the on going refurbishments
We were surprised that there was no food available in the evening, so had to go to the Travel Lodge up the Road for food, where we were made welcome. Other guests were also expecting food in the evening as your website quotes. They were advised to go round the corner to the bar or go into Town, as the weather was bad this was not an option.a. It was extremely quite in the Hotel, so I presume not fully booked, we sat in the lounge/breakfast room just two on our own, which seemed strange. The guy on reception was also looking after the bar, I felt he was the only staff on duty. He did seem a bit fed up, and embarrassed when asked about the food situation.

Room Tip: I had a room on the main road and it was quite noisy late at night. With traffic and groups waking p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Barbara,
Thank You for your recent feedback.
We are all glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay with us.
As we are now out of 'High Season', we do now only offer Breakfast - and not Lunch or Dinner - If you are able to tell us where this is stated, I will get this edited promptly. We therefore apologize, if this is the case. Although, due to location - there are many local restaurants and eatery's in close proximity of TravelRest, even in poor weather conditions - we have a Fish & Chip restaurant directly next door, along with a Pub and Italian Restaurant - within seconds of our Main Entrance.
We do look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind Regards,
Ross Goode
Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Came here on the 21st and left on the 25th. It said on their original website when i booked the hotel there was free wi-fi .... ABSOLUTE LIES!!!!! no wi-fi. wi-fi only works for their workers on the ground floor and people in the bar. but in the bedrooms where you really need it it doesn't work...
Complained to the guy at the front who has a hairstyle similar to that of a crazy party goer rather than a smart hotel person. Carpet was about a 20 years old with traces of dog hair. The doors of each room were very thin, old and brown. Looks like it could be kicked down with a single kick. Water pipes make a lot of noise. Bathroom so tiny. Clumsy and weak furniture in all rooms. I understand I paid for a crappy room but it doesn't mean it has to be that bad!! Old crappy kettle in the corner of the room, with a pot stuffed with sachets of coffee and tea with poor quality of milk. Every time some one walked past my door i could hear it. The floor boards were incredibly creaky!!! All in all the hotel looks like a poorly refurbished Victorian orphanage but in a reasonable location. Then again who cares about location when you can't get a decent nights sleep. When I stayed at the hotel, the whole hotel had been invaded by old men who had probably divorced their wives over the week end to come over and play insolent childish war games!!!!! There was one particular guy parading around the whole hotel in his long pony tail, skinny jeans and socks on a crusade, determined to round up as many gamers as possible!! NOT HAPPY!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J, Director of Sales at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Martin,
Thank You for your feedback.
It is unfortunate, that you didnt seem to enjoy your experience - whilst staying at TravelRest.
We can only apologise for how you personally found our hotel and subjects within it.
We do offer FREE wi-fi, throughout the hotel and have recently upgraded also, to give our guests - as quicker access as possible.
It is with regret that you have stated issues with our staff members, although from the majority of comments we have had - our staff recieve excellent feedback for professionalism in both manner and appearance.
During your stay, we did indeed have a group staying at the same time also - they are regular visitors, who add to the happy, upbeat atmosphere of the hotel and have already booked again to stay at TravelRest, next year.
TravelRest offers great value from just £25 per night, always aiming to please our guests on each arrival. We are sorry that we didnt seem to meet your standards on this occassion but would like to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Ross Goode
Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
#44 of 66 in Bournemouth
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#55 of 66 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £28 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This TravelRest has 25 of the 45 bedrooms fully refurbished to the smart, clean and comfortable TravelRest bedroom standard. The remaining 20 bedrooms are traditionally furnished family and standard rooms, offering great value and some with views towards the sea and Bournemouth bay. TravelRest bedrooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod docking stations (on request), toiletries and the TravelRest hospitality tray. Key features at a glance: Situated in one of Bournemouth's prime locations, with easy access to beach, town centre as well as the key business locations within the region, via Wessex Way. Just 100 metres from the seafront and within a few hundred metres of BIC. Easy walking distance of the town centre and main entertainment attractions, bars and shops. Two styles of guest bedroom - contemporary TravelRest Rooms featuring designer fabrics, toiletries, hospitality tray and IPod docking station. Traditional budget rooms - classically furnished rooms, some family sized and other with views towards the sea and bay. All rooms feature flatscreen TV and DVD player. Free parking on site (limited) with alternative on road free parking within the immediate area. Bar and cafe open throughout the day. 24 hour reception. Free wi-fi. Group friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing