We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I booked a last minute break to this hotel. I had booked superior Double rooms which cost me fortune . What miserable tired rooms with worst looking carpet. TV was broken and was about to fall off and when I informed them they just put TV on the dressing table!! what a terible joke. No fridge and broken clock. I felt like i came to live in hell. They dont keep heating on and I had to come downstairs in the middle of night and asked them to turn the heating on. Hot water comes only in morning so there is no way you can have hot shower in day time. I could write whole book on my horrible experience but I'm stopping now and moving on..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Charu87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelRestLtd, General Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review and naturally we very disappointed that you felt only able to give us 1 star rating, especially as the majority of our guests score us at three stars and above.

Thank you also for bringing to our attention during your stay the maintenance issue with the TV. We would have ideally liked to have moved your room, but this was not possible and therefore the Duty Manager took the necessary action to secure the TV, whilst ensuring you continued to have a TV to watch. We are sorry if you felt this decision was not to your liking.

We do not have the central heating on during the Summer as most often guests do not require it. However as soon as you requested it to be put on we did so. We have a new heating and hot water system throughout the hotel and therefore the heating would have been available very quickly.

The hot water is on constant and available at anytime of the day and night.

We are a budget hotel and do not supply an in room fridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

I booked the hotel for one night as we were seeing a show at the BIC conveniently only 5 minutes walk away which is great. Paid a reasonable price considering it's the summer holidays.
Arrived at the hotel at 3pm roughly and we told there was plenty of free parking (one of the reasons we booked this particular hotel over others) however this wasn't the case, all the spaces were taken and the road was also full I went in to see the reception to ask about parking and a rude member of reception staff then told me I'd have to park a few streets away in a paying car park, considering there's meant to be free parking you don't budget for this. Luckily when I went back out one space became available but be aware if you arrive late afternoon you probably won't get a space.
When I checked in properly a different member of check in staff was very polite and a lot more helpful to me.
Room was small but clean, no complaints about the room at all, good tv service and didn't seem to be very noisy, however we were on the 2nd floor and couldn't pick up a wifi connection at all despite being told there was free wifi throughout hotel.
Overall it was a cheap and cheerful hotel, only thing that let it down was the parking situation and initial rude member of staff.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xkatyleannex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelRestLtd, Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I am sorry your stay was not entirely satisfactory, for which I apologise, not least the rude member of staff. We take pride in our customer friendly service and I am sorry we let you and ourselves down on your arrival.

As we state on all our information, we offer limited free car parking, like many hotels in Bournemouth, but generally there is plenty of on street, all day, free parking nearby.

Thank you again for your review and I hope that we can welcome you back again soon to demonstrate our usual high standards of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This small hotel is great value out of season with polite, helpful staff and a friendly atmosphere. The location places you within a short hop, skip and jump from the beach and a 20 minute stroll from the town and park. We had a refurbished family room which was small but beautifully designed with a view over the road which was unfortunately rather busy. However, the beds were supremely comfortable and we both slept very well.
The layout of the hotel was interesting and rather amused us, you get the feeling it was designed by someone with a wicked sense of the absurd!
The breakfast was excellent and extremely hearty, well worth paying extra for. All in all, I would be happy to come back here again and again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Littletruckerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelRestLtd, Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your review, which we really appreciate and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. As you discovered not only do TravelRest Hotels offer great value they are not just modern purpose built boxes, but located in interesting buildings with varying sizes of rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Writing during breakfast from hotel: really friendly and prompt service and unbeatable breakfast (both for taste & value)! Don't forget to try their chocolate & orange croissants! Comfy beds too. Better overall than the otherwise nice Travelodge Terminal 5 (Heathrow), where we stayed the night before.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieTsald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelRestLtd, Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, which we really appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just back from 2 night stay. 2 adults + 2 children. Lovely quad room and spacious bathroom. Wonderfully situated near beach and car not necessary. However they do have free parking if you arrive earlyish. Reception and restaurant staff very helpful. Just a suggestion. Why not offer a small cooked breakfast for children (& adults) for a cheaper price? The cooked breakfasts are huge but gorgeous. Will certainly return. M. Owen

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WelcomeGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelRestLtd, Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your review which we really appreciate. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your suggestions. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Came here for may bank holiday weekend for a family break and the wheels festival, we paid a lot less than the other hotels were and had a lovely big room with huge windows!! The bathroom could have done with updating but was fine for our one night stay, We felt the receptionist was very friendly and every one was child friendly' breakfast was lovely and hot even though they were busy, there was a hen party staying but they did not disturb us. The hotel was very central and we were able to park our car early and go off and enjoy our day. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend, a lot cheaper than other hotels, very clean, friendly and central to all amenities thankyou x lovely room with huge windows!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holsssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelRestLtd, General Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you so much for your generous review, which we very much appreciate.

Our aim is always to offer great value and as you know we are in a fantastic location.

Did you know that by booking through the official TravelRest website you can download a voucher to spend at the hotel during your stay? So now even more value from TravelRest!

Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to make a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here as part of a hen party of 11, good sized rooms and bathroom for what we needed it for! (to get ready to go out and sleep). Beds we're very comfortable and staff friendly. Would stay again! Nearby to nice restaurants & also a few minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracyd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelRestLtd, Manager at TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for your very generous review, which we really appreciate. We very much enjoy welcoming groups to TravelRest, especially at weekends where the Bournemouth Party atmosphere really enlivens the town.
Of course we also enjoy the quieter, family days during the week when we can offer even better value and with our great location we are ideally placed to welcome all.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 67 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#37 of 67 in Bournemouth
969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 67 in Bournemouth
750 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
#50 of 67 in Bournemouth
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 135 West Hill Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £27 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This TravelRest has 25 of the 45 bedrooms fully refurbished to the smart, clean and comfortable TravelRest bedroom standard. The remaining 20 bedrooms are traditionally furnished family and standard rooms, offering great value and some with views towards the sea and Bournemouth bay. TravelRest bedrooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod docking stations (on request), toiletries and the TravelRest hospitality tray. Key features at a glance: Situated in one of Bournemouth's prime locations, with easy access to beach, town centre as well as the key business locations within the region, via Wessex Way. Just 100 metres from the seafront and within a few hundred metres of BIC. Easy walking distance of the town centre and main entertainment attractions, bars and shops. Two styles of guest bedroom - contemporary TravelRest Rooms featuring designer fabrics, toiletries, hospitality tray and IPod docking station. Traditional budget rooms - classically furnished rooms, some family sized and other with views towards the sea and bay. All rooms feature flatscreen TV and DVD player. Free parking on site (limited) with alternative on road free parking within the immediate area. Bar and cafe open throughout the day. 24 hour reception. Free wi-fi. Group friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing