We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The PERFECT Base for Our Stag Party”
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel
Ranked #107 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The PERFECT Base for Our Stag Party”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you are planning a stag or hen party in Bournemouth... I can not recommend this hotel enough! The land lady (and her family) were attentive and welcoming. The bedrooms, although a little cramped, were clean, well decorated and had their own en suite. A cut above your usual stag-party bunk houses! It is in a great location too - 5 mins from the train station, 8 minutes from stag-friendly bars and clubs.

We were grateful that we didn't have to walk far to the nearest bar... as we were dressed as wrestlers. Dutch courage very much required!

But the best thing about the Chelsea Hotel is the amazing value it represents. £30 per person, per night... with breakfast! What a bargain!

I noticed a few reviewers bemoaning this place - but you have to wonder what they were expecting for £30!? Seriously. For that price, this place is extraordinary value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinylittlefella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, but you were a great bunch of guys, and I enjoyed the weekend and much as you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    30
    16
    9
    64
See reviews for
11
5
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Having looked high and low for an inexpensive room for just one night, I found the Chelsea Hotel.
For the price asked I wasn't expecting to much, just hoping for a clean bed,etc.

I was more than pleasantly surprised. The room, bathroom, bed etc. were quite pristine and the welcome from the Chelsea's owner Chrissy was professional and very welcoming.

Room Tip: I like top floors. I had one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeinhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
My staff and I are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Chelsea Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the family room with 2 children. For the Easter weekend.
We had a fantastic time received a warm welcome upon arrival and all staff were more than happy to help and they were all polite.
The hotel is clean and modern and the dining / bar area has everything you need including a juke box.

The town centre is only a short 10 minute walk away which is an added bonus

We would recommend this hotel to friends and family and will be returning again. Thanks to the landlady Chrissy for making our stay in Bournemouth so enjoyable :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you Danielle, I'm please you and your family enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I spent a few nights here and had a really good time! Chrissy and staff were very welcoming and friendly my en suit room was very clean and bright..the location was great for visiting town center only 10 min walk with train station only 5 mins away,would definitely recommend this hotel great value for price.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weblou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Very comfortable stay at the Chelsea hotel!! Very clean and close to the town centre and beach. Chrissy and the staff were very helpful and made our stay very pleasant indeed!! Would definitely recommend this hotel and we shall be very happy to stay again in the the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I had a great stay at Chelsea Hotel, located close to the Bournemouth Rail and Coach Station. At first I only booked for 2 nights, to look around in Bournemouth. But I quickly extended to 3 weeks: I had a very quiet and clean en-suite room with a comfortable bed, so I slept like a log. Overall you will get a good value for your money and if you ask the staff for help, you will be surprised by an outstanding helpfulness which is clearly a surplus for foreigners! And within a 15 minutes’ walk one reach the town centre and had appreciated the Gervis Road(!) or the beach .Thanks Chrissey for a wonderful time in Bournemouth!
Christian from Germany

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianAlemao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you Christian, we are so please that you enjoyed your nice stay with us at the Chelsea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I see that the reviews of this place vary widely! I've been coming to Chelsea Hotel on and off for three years and think it's a great wee place and offers wonderful value! The place has really smartened up: the rooms are well-appointed and the bathrooms are absolutely fantastic. All is very clean and I've never found Sue and Chrissy to be anything but friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knnuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stays with us. It make it all worth it when our guests enjoy there stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lea Hurst Hotel
Lea Hurst Hotel
#21 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kantara Guest House
Kantara Guest House
#71 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ingledene House
Ingledene House
#104 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#96 of 132 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel

Property: Chelsea Hotel
Address: 32 St. Swithuns Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea Hotel is ideally situated only a three minute walk from the Bournemouth train & coach station, and the bus stop, and eleven minutes to the cliff top with its fabulous views across the bay, the cliff lift and Zig Zag path to the famous nine miles of sandy beaches.All rooms are fresh and clean, and constantly upgrading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chelsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing