We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
Ranked #39 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2011

It's an old building so has it's little quirks but we liked it. Small and with personal attention . In a quiet location and an easy walk to central Bournemouth. Beds very comfortable and excellent food. We can heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

stayed at the cottage hotel for three nights. small family hotel, run by chris, the son, with help from mum and dad, agnes and alan. The room we stayed in was a junior suite which was a double bedroom, a twin room with a separate shower and toilet with it's own small hallway.The rooms were very clean. The beds were very comfortable with nice clean quilts. nice features include old fireplaces in the bedrooms with a few squeeky floorboards! tv with freeview, plenty of mirrors to do make up / hair but electric sockets could be better placed.
The food we had was consistantly great, Breakfast was plentyfull with a good choice of products including a full cooked breakfast. We had an evening meal one night which was cooked to perfection, to the delight of our two children too.
The east cliff cottage hotel has a famous history. being built in 1895, it was the home of stewart granger. This hotel has plenty of character with a lovely calm family atmosphere. well recomended, in a great location, only a 10 min walk to the town centre.
we picked this area to stay as we wanted to go to both the new forest and lulworth cove and picking this hotel was a nice bonus to our stay in devon.
may i wish this family all the best in the future, and when we come back to this beautifull part of england, this is where i would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

From the minute you step into this hotel you feel very welcome. We were shown to the lounge straight away and offered a pot of tea and juice for the children while our bags were taken to our room. I really felt like our family was treated as individual rather than a room number that you get with large chains.
This hotel is in a great location to explore the surrounding area. We have 2 children age 5 and 2 so this was very important to us. We took a lovely walk along the cliff into the town to explore the oceanarium. We also travelled further afield to Swanage, Corfe and Monkey World.
In a nutshell we enjoyed two lovely nights here. The breakfasts were lovely and freshly cooked to individual specifications and nothing was too much bother. The staff were all very polite and cheery. This really is a hidden gem of true English home run hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura197731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Stayed here the night of our wedding and were expecting quite a bit more to be honest. The hotel looked extremely run down on the outside and first impressions count. We thought we booked the superior room and were quite disappointed when we arrived. The guy on the phone seemed really nice and assured us that we would get the best room, I think his name was Alan.

The service was ok but to be honest we didn't see anyone. When leaving we were stood downstairs for ages waiting for someone to turn up and check us out. It's a shame as others seem to have had a good stay looking at the reviews but unfortunately we didn't!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busytraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Stayed one night with my small llasa apso puppy and was made to feel very welcome. Great breakfast and comfy, cosy room. Will be back as my daughet is at Bournemouth University and the location is perfect - so close to the beach and all of the Bournemouth amenities

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby77Newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

From the very moment of our arrival we could not have been made to feel more welcome. The hotel is a beautiful building and the owners have maintained the original features. Our room was lovely. Only slight quibble was that the water pressure was low and so the shower wasn't great but that inconvenience was more than compensated for by the rest of our experience there. The breakfasts are superb! Thank you to all who contributed to our brilliant weekend at the East Cliff Cottage Hotel.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Yardleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Friendly, helpful and obliging staff. Home from home. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent. Good choice of menu. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_hewson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.6 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 67 in Bournemouth
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ashleigh
The Ashleigh
#68 of 131 in Bournemouth
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Cliff Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Cliff Cottage Hotel

Address: 57 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £48 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — East Cliff Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Cliff Cottage Hotel is situated on the scenic East Cliff of Bournemouth just minutes from the beautiful beaches and vibrant town centre. Our combination of superior and standard rooms have been styled and characterised to provide you with every comfort possible with en-suite facilities complemented by hostess trays and flat screen TVs and wi-fi access. Our licensed restaurant offers quality home cooked food with an extensive menu to meet all tastes. The food is served by friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. The bar is fully stocked with a selection of lagers, ales, spirits and minerals. Our regularly maintained garden is the perfect place to relax when the sun is out and can also be used for receptions, BBQs and family gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your East Cliff Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing